Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 15, 2013

more

February 15, 2013

I am a CPA and I help Seeds of Love with their bookkeeping and I prepare their annual tax return (990).

Seeds of Love is hard to explain in one paragraph but to understand Seeds of Love you must understand Nancy's passionate commitment to the Children of Semillas de Amor, which Seeds of
Love supports.

Nancy has committed her LIFE to raising these 24 children and she leads the organization from the heart! Her passion and compassion for these children is inspiring. She is not only saving these children with the help of donors, she is raising these children to become exemplary young people who are growing up having not just have survived and escaped poverty but are who are thriving, successful members of society.

Please help her raise these children! This organization is truly amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2012

more

July 6, 2012

We have been doing volunteer support in Guatemala since 2007. In 2008 we, sort of, randomly were led to Nancy Bailey and her outstanding work and life at Semilles de Amor Childrens Home. Nancy always welcomes persons who can partner with her in creating a better life and environment for the kids she is caring for while they wait and wait and wait for their families to be able to take them home. She has created a family for them at their home and they thrive under her care and attention. Our work has primarily been contruction and building/maintensance type of work. We always get to know the kids and our volunteers are forever changed by the wonderful little personalities Nancy has nurtured. Our volunteers always want to return to the work there and that says a lot!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Yo conocí a los niños de Semillas de Amor en diciembre de 2,009, me llegaron tanto al corazón que unos meses después decidimos visitarlos en su hogar junto con mi esposo y nuestro pequeño hijo. Quedamos maravillados con las instalaciones del hogar, tan bien adaptadas a las necesidades de los niños, el trato del personal hacia con ellos es muy hermoso, como una gran familia, tanto asi que nuestro pequeño ya no quería regresar con nosotros y se queria quedar alli con sus amiguitos. A todos nos gusta mucho pasar tiempo con ellos, es muy satisfactorio ver en este tiempo lo que han crecido, lo que han aprendido. En el hogar se nota la dedicación por poder darles todo lo necesario, la educación básica asi como inglés, música, natación, computación y todo lo que se pueda para que ellos crezcan siendo personas de bien. Semillas de Amor es una bendición para estos niños y un gran ejemplo para el Gobierno de cómo deberían de ser todos los hogares en Guatemala. Nos enorgullese ser parte de esta gran familia, cuando los pequeñitos me dicen Mamá Genia, se me estalla el corazón de amor y alegría.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Where do I start? Our connection with Semillas de Amor began over 13 years ago with the adoption of our son and a year later, our daughter. We chose to work with Nancy Bailey and Semillas de Amor because we understood the need for great foster care prior to our children coming to their new home in the United States. We wanted a home that provided proper nutrition, good medical care and lots of love! Our children came home very healthy and we are so thankful for that. As adoption law changed in Guatemala, it became clear that for some of the children, Semillas de Amor would become a permanent home. The home is providing a wonderful education for the kids, including art, music, pe as well as traditional classes! I have visited twice in 2012 and I found the kids happy and well adjusted! What a blessing Seeds of Love is to the kids! They have the opportunity to live in a loving home, earn an education and make plans for the future! Their bond might not be a traditional family, but it's family, just the same! Reminds me of a quote I love "Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family: Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one." – Jane Howard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

Semilles de Amor came into my life four years ago. I was lucky enough to travel with a group to help build fences and paint the new home built for 30 some amazing children. I was struck by the dedication of Mama Nancy and the staff to the children. I was most impressed with the foresight of Nancy to put together a learning environment for the children. Once I went there I fell in love with the children and have traveled back two more times with adult groups to build playsets, fences, arbors, yard lights and anything else needed for the home to be successful. What an amazing group of adults that care for, teach and instill values and manners in the children. Parents that adopt these children will be blessed with a forever family. I think about Semilles de Amor every day and look forward to my next trip there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I came to know Semillas De Amor several years ago. I have visited two times and volunteered. I helped feed children, train their dogs and play with the children. The children are open, loving and live a very good life with art lessons, horseback riding lessons, music lessons, and swimming lessons. They go to school on the premises, go on field trips and have many opportunities for self growth. I enjoyed playing soccer with the kids and reading books to them. Their meals looked delicious and the kids seemed to enjoy them as well. Their home is spacious, well organized and very clean! Their garden is spectacular! They have several avacado tress and the children enjoy picking them. They have chickens for fresh eggs too. I was very impressed with the overall efficiency of how the children's home was ran.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the children be adopted one by one and go to their waiting adoptive parents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest they build a home for the director next store to the property. Suggest they buy a mini- school bus for transporting the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Perhaps they should allow volunteers to camp in a designated area on the property.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, it made me want to learn how to speak Spanish.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great! I love to spend my time with kids and dogs!

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I've known the children of "Semillas de Amor" for many years. They are truly special little creatures. They are unique and have something to offer the world in their own individual way. I love what "Semillas de Amor" is doing and I believe it is an AWESOME place! What I have learned from the children, staff, and country. Is something that I shall never forget and never wish to forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have the most wonderful granddaughter who began her life at Semillas de Amor. As a way of giving back, I travelled to Guatemala and volunteered at the school for one month. It was a life changing experience. The children living there have so much love and opportunity. Of course, a loving home with parents is the ultimate goal, but they are truly blessed to be in such a wonderful place, for now. I adore these kids and cannot wait to go back. They are so smart, so inquisitive, so responsive to everything that broadens their thinking and skills. Environment is such an important factor in a child's development and Semillas de Amor has a very special founder and staff that provides a beautiful life. These children are going to go far and make a substantial contribution to our world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers