Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Where do I start? Our connection with Semillas de Amor began over 13 years ago with the adoption of our son and a year later, our daughter. We chose to work with Nancy Bailey and Semillas de Amor because we understood the need for great foster care prior to our children coming to their new home in the United States. We wanted a home that provided proper nutrition, good medical care and lots of love! Our children came home very healthy and we are so thankful for that. As adoption law changed in Guatemala, it became clear that for some of the children, Semillas de Amor would become a permanent home. The home is providing a wonderful education for the kids, including art, music, pe as well as traditional classes! I have visited twice in 2012 and I found the kids happy and well adjusted! What a blessing Seeds of Love is to the kids! They have the opportunity to live in a loving home, earn an education and make plans for the future! Their bond might not be a traditional family, but it's family, just the same! Reminds me of a quote I love "Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family: Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one." – Jane Howard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

I was honored by the request to join the board last year for this amazing children's home in Guatemala. Because the adoption laws in Guatemala have changed, this once orphanage has needed to turn into a permanent home for the 30 children that did not get adopted before the law was passed. Many private orphanages closed their doors when the law was enforced forcing the children they were taking care of to go to state facilities. But Nancy Bailey and the rest of the board members did and are doing, everything they can so that these children do not end up in a state facility. After hearing this story and the new need of raising funds to nurture, love, support, and take care of these children as they grow into young adults, I decided to join the team. The home is extraordinary, Nancy is extraordinary, the kids are extraordinary, and all the supporters are as well! Thank you for caring enough to read about us - we very much appreciate it! Please let us know if you would like to support us in any other way as well. Even $20/ month can make a huge impact on the home and the children's lives. Thank you!!!

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

Semilles de Amor came into my life four years ago. I was lucky enough to travel with a group to help build fences and paint the new home built for 30 some amazing children. I was struck by the dedication of Mama Nancy and the staff to the children. I was most impressed with the foresight of Nancy to put together a learning environment for the children. Once I went there I fell in love with the children and have traveled back two more times with adult groups to build playsets, fences, arbors, yard lights and anything else needed for the home to be successful. What an amazing group of adults that care for, teach and instill values and manners in the children. Parents that adopt these children will be blessed with a forever family. I think about Semilles de Amor every day and look forward to my next trip there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I came to know Semillas De Amor several years ago. I have visited two times and volunteered. I helped feed children, train their dogs and play with the children. The children are open, loving and live a very good life with art lessons, horseback riding lessons, music lessons, and swimming lessons. They go to school on the premises, go on field trips and have many opportunities for self growth. I enjoyed playing soccer with the kids and reading books to them. Their meals looked delicious and the kids seemed to enjoy them as well. Their home is spacious, well organized and very clean! Their garden is spectacular! They have several avacado tress and the children enjoy picking them. They have chickens for fresh eggs too. I was very impressed with the overall efficiency of how the children's home was ran.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the children be adopted one by one and go to their waiting adoptive parents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest they build a home for the director next store to the property. Suggest they buy a mini- school bus for transporting the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Perhaps they should allow volunteers to camp in a designated area on the property.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, it made me want to learn how to speak Spanish.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great! I love to spend my time with kids and dogs!

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I have visited with Semillas de Amor in Guatemala. I am an adoptive mother & know of many families who think very highly of Semillas and everyone involved with Semillas de Amor. I was incredibly impressed with the holistic and sustainable approach taken by the staff and founder - there is a profound commitment to the children in their care - even when it is not easy. I would have no hesitation in telling family and friends that this is a non profit very worth supporting. They really are planting seeds of love in the hearts of the children every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I've known the children of "Semillas de Amor" for many years. They are truly special little creatures. They are unique and have something to offer the world in their own individual way. I love what "Semillas de Amor" is doing and I believe it is an AWESOME place! What I have learned from the children, staff, and country. Is something that I shall never forget and never wish to forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have the most wonderful granddaughter who began her life at Semillas de Amor. As a way of giving back, I travelled to Guatemala and volunteered at the school for one month. It was a life changing experience. The children living there have so much love and opportunity. Of course, a loving home with parents is the ultimate goal, but they are truly blessed to be in such a wonderful place, for now. I adore these kids and cannot wait to go back. They are so smart, so inquisitive, so responsive to everything that broadens their thinking and skills. Environment is such an important factor in a child's development and Semillas de Amor has a very special founder and staff that provides a beautiful life. These children are going to go far and make a substantial contribution to our world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers