Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

Seeds of Love is a model operation that provides a place for Guatemalan children at risk to thrive and grow. Over the past 10 years, I have witnessed many children develop in to happy, healthy, productive, and loving citizens of the world. These children have a keen understanding and appreciation of their community, their country, and the world. Further, and most importantly, the children believe they are loved, are worthy, and belong. They have hope.

Seeds of Love provides this outstanding, nurturing environment and has a proven record of positive outcomes for children who may otherwise be lost to homelessness, poverty, malnutrition, and violence. Seeds of Love's staff, programs, and facility need your support to continue this much needed effort. Your generous donation can and will make a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 13, 2013

more

February 13, 2013

Seeds of Love have been planted over and over again at Semillas de Amor. Every child there is deemed a gift and every child there has an advocate they deserve with the director, Nancy Bailey. Each child deserves a future full of hope, and Semillas strives to offer them that future by giving them love, family, and an education. I have been most impressed by the level of care and opportunities the children receive which reflects their importance to the staff, board, and director. Every child matters at Semillas de Amor!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013

more

February 13, 2013

You can not find a worthier cause than Seeds of Love. In a country where there are virtually no resources for the orphaned children, they provide not only exceptional care but educational and support but unconditional love for each and every child. Nancy Bailey has dedicated her heart and soul to the children of Guatemala and often times is their only advocate in a system that is sadly broken. I have been a donor, volunteer, cheerleader, etc. for Seeds of Love for over 10 years and continue to be amazed at Nancy's devotion and enthusiasm even in the face of impossible odds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 30, 2012

My husband and I adopted our daughter from Seeds of Love. Nancy Bailey and her staff took wonderful care of her during what turned out to be an extended adoption process (we got caught in the 2007 adoption shut-down). I lived in Guatemala during our adoption and was at the children's home daily. I saw firsthand the excellent care and dedication shown to the children. Ms. Bailey considers the children under her care to be her family. In addition to great physical care, the children are being raised with love, loyalty, and high expectations for their future. We have stayed in touch with the Seeds of love community and we support their continuing mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012

more

July 6, 2012

I adopted my daughter from Semillas in 2001. It was funny because one of the reason I had chosen Guatemala was because of the reputation of their foster care system. It just turned out the agency I was working with, worked with Nancy and Semillas. I had nothing but positive experiences. I visited when my daughter was 6 weeks old and returned to bring her home at 4 months. She came home healthy and well adjusted with none of the bonding problems that are often associated with "institutionalized" care. I tribute this to the exacting standards that Nancy imposes for the care of the children. I always found Semillas to be clean, organized and cheerful. The older children were charming and the babies were clearly cared for with love and attention to the details rarely found in international adoptions. Because of my experiences, my friend and her husband decided to pursue and adoption from Semillas as well and sought out and agency that was working with Nancy. it's been a blessing to know these kids were loved and cared for and nurtured. I couldn't have asked for a better adoption experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2012

more

July 6, 2012

We have been doing volunteer support in Guatemala since 2007. In 2008 we, sort of, randomly were led to Nancy Bailey and her outstanding work and life at Semilles de Amor Childrens Home. Nancy always welcomes persons who can partner with her in creating a better life and environment for the kids she is caring for while they wait and wait and wait for their families to be able to take them home. She has created a family for them at their home and they thrive under her care and attention. Our work has primarily been contruction and building/maintensance type of work. We always get to know the kids and our volunteers are forever changed by the wonderful little personalities Nancy has nurtured. Our volunteers always want to return to the work there and that says a lot!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I have been involved with Seeds of Love since 2005. I have adopted two children from the Children's Home and have developed personal relationships with each of the Home's permanent residents. The amazing love, creativity and dedication that Nancy and her staff put into their work makes all the difference, everyday, for those precious young lives. At Seeds of Love they have a chance, against harrowing odds, to a healthy, happy and fullfilling childhood - not to mention the potential they have to become the kind of adults that change the world for the better. Seeds of Love is a unique organization, with a huge impact impact on these kids, Guatemala and the possibilities of a bright future!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the children grow and evolve as they learn to appreciate the world and their role in it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more resources for it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Adopted 2 children from it.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Provide nutrition, healthcare, education and love to its current residents to ensure they grow into caring, capable and productive adults.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Expand the education and nutrition program to include children from the poor community near the children's home.

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Seeds of Love provides life changing opportunities for a small, but special group of children in Guatemala through the teaching of values like honestly, respect, and self-advocacy. This is a fantastic grassroots program that truly is changing lives at the most basic, profound level.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Yo conocí a los niños de Semillas de Amor en diciembre de 2,009, me llegaron tanto al corazón que unos meses después decidimos visitarlos en su hogar junto con mi esposo y nuestro pequeño hijo. Quedamos maravillados con las instalaciones del hogar, tan bien adaptadas a las necesidades de los niños, el trato del personal hacia con ellos es muy hermoso, como una gran familia, tanto asi que nuestro pequeño ya no quería regresar con nosotros y se queria quedar alli con sus amiguitos. A todos nos gusta mucho pasar tiempo con ellos, es muy satisfactorio ver en este tiempo lo que han crecido, lo que han aprendido. En el hogar se nota la dedicación por poder darles todo lo necesario, la educación básica asi como inglés, música, natación, computación y todo lo que se pueda para que ellos crezcan siendo personas de bien. Semillas de Amor es una bendición para estos niños y un gran ejemplo para el Gobierno de cómo deberían de ser todos los hogares en Guatemala. Nos enorgullese ser parte de esta gran familia, cuando los pequeñitos me dicen Mamá Genia, se me estalla el corazón de amor y alegría.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Seeds of Love is such a perfect name for this organization because they actually grew my family into one. Through these walls, I was able to find my daughters. And most importantly, there they grew, nutured with love and kindness until I could bring them home. Today, International Adoption is no loger available to orphaned children in Guatemala. And without the ability to substain themselves, private childrens homes have all but disappeared. Sadly, what remains are state facilities which have well surpassed their ability to properly support and provide for the children they house. Yet thankfully, through the hard work and selfless dedication of Nancy Bailey, Semillas De Amor has continued to not just maintain in this environment but flourish. In a world where orphans don't seem to matter, Nancy and her team have created a beautiful home where children are the focus, love is the guiding principle, education is paramount, and fun is everywhere. Without the ability to be adopted and become apart of a family, Nancy has created one, and these children will grow up with the hope of a future and the ability to make a difference. And all the children whom were adopted through Semillas De Amor can be proud of their beginnings and a sense of honor to have been one Mama Nancy's seeds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers