Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.785715
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

They are a crucial safety net for those who are food insecure, most importantly in the summer months when schools are closed. As a donor they have been responsive to any questions and concerns. They do a good job with using social media to promote their purposes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have had the pleasure of managing Second Harvest programs in our South Bay office for the last 8+ years. During this time, I have had the opportunity to work closely with their caring and dedicated staff to bring awareness and support to our ever expanding employee base. Due to their tireless efforts and creative thinking, our company’s giving and volunteering has multiplied by leaps and bounds to levels only imagined 8 years ago. Not only is Second Harvest an incredible organization to support, their staff is absolutely amazing!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

It amazes me how successful our Bay Area community is, and how at the same time, families in our same community, struggle to purchase groceries. I have been a supporter of Second Harvest for more than 10 years and I also communicate with them frequently. This organization is one of our best and well-run. Each time I participate in a Second Harvest event, they maintain the same level of excitement, love and enthusiasm for their supporters. They are organized, dedicated and their well-trained staff and volunteers are a pleasure to partner with. Thank you Second Harvest for taking care of our community!

Susana Meisenhelder
Maxim Integrated
Program Manager, HR

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Even though Silicon Valley is full of tech millionaires, we also have thousands of people who do not have enough to eat. Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties is effective, efficient and ever-focused on providing the best experience to their customers. There but for the grace of God go all of us, so I am so proud to support Second Harvest in good times and in bad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them leverage technology even more to increase their impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

This is the best run charity in our area. They are meeting a real need, and continue to serve the community well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds to feed more people who really are really benefit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Second Harvest Food Bank serves a very basic need in our community and one that is foundational to serving higher level needs such as education, training, and healthcare. SHFB is one of the most efficient non-profits in terms of how much of each donated dollar directly benefits the intended recipients. SHFB is also one of the most progressive non-profits in its use of technology and strategies to met the needs of tomorrow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...get them greater steady-state funding to address the enormous need for supplemental food in our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

When my husband and I donate to a charitable organization, the most decisive factor is how much of our donation goes directly to those in need. At Second Harvest, that criterion is met each and every day. And when the empty bins are delivered to my employer during food drives, it is a great feeling to know that when they are filled-up, all that food will be distributed promptly and efficiently to those people who need it most. This is an extremely well-run organization that can proudly state they truly make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

My family and organizations I work with have supported the Santa Clara Second Harvest Food for years. With youth groups, we’ve taken the tour which was an excellent experience and have hosted a drop-off site several times, including the lesser-known need for lunch supplies in summer. The process is so easy, the bins are dropped off and picked up, and then we got reports back about the amount of our donation.
With my own family, we’ve donated online, dropped off at stores and other local sites, and have done special grocery shopping and then driven to the main warehouse with frozen turkeys and canned goods. I appreciate that there are so many ways to help and it provided a great experience to share with my kids.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I have been donating to Second Harvest Food Bank for about three years now. I have great appreciation for what they are doing for the community through their various programs. It is a great non profit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 9, 2011

more

September 9, 2011

2nd Harvest is highly lauded within the SF Bay area community, and recognized as a very effective way to assist people in your community that are struggling to feed themselves, for whatever reason. Definitely worth our support; make it an annual or semiannual practice!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by reference and reputation

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't know. Pretty good!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers