Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.745765
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 10, 2013

more

November 10, 2013

I was a high powered executive that always wanted to volunteer. When a break in my career allowed me to join the Second Harvest Brown Bag program, I seriously underestimated what it would mean to me personally. The professionalism of the Second Harvest staff is unmatched in Silicon Valley. The dedication and camaraderie of volunteers forms life-long friendships. Most important is the consistent, quality service provided to the members of the Brown Bag program. Our particular site provided approx. 20 lbs. of healthy food to over 100 low income seniors every week! Thank you Second Harvest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been volunteering for over 10 years as the Site Chair for the Brown Bag Program.
It has been very rewarding.
Second Harvest Food Bank staff provide the tools and support for the volunteers.
It is a great program for the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been a volunteer for the past 3 years. I started out as a member, but when hearing that one of the volunteers had passed away, I jumped right in. Seeing the happy faces of the Senior Citizens that we help each week is amazing. They all know me and I spend half my time getting hugs. This is the greatest reward of all for being a member of Second Harvest Brown Bag Program. I never knew being retired could be so rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the warehouses make sure we are getting fresh produce.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

My wife and I have been volunteering for over 7 years, 5 of those as site chairs for the Brown Bag Program.

Our relationship with the staff at SHFB has been exceptional. They respond to our needs in a timely manner and are genuine in their appreciation of the work done by all the
volunteers.

The camaraderie we feel working with the volunteers and clients at our site make it a very worthwhile experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

As Onsite Coordinator of United American Banks' Community Food and Fund Drive since Janaury 2012, It's been my honor and pleasure to work with the fantiastic nonprofit, Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties. Jennie Nguyenly, SHFB Coordinator, and her staff are exceptionally committeed to serving needy families up an down the peninsula! I have no hesitation in recommedning SHFB of Santa Clara & San Mateo Counties to the fullest and look forward to working with them for years to come!

Sincerely,
Marcie Mitchell
Executive Administrative Assistant
United American Bank

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes and keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

My experience volunteering at Second Harvest Food Bank was nothing short of exceptional. Last summer, I worked at Second Harvest through the Haas Center for Public Service at Stanford University to help connect eligible residents to the CalFresh (food stamp) program from both a case management and marketing perspective. It was during my fellowship that I witnessed that the Food Bank certainly exceeds expectations when it comes to meeting the needs of hungry residents in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. But what intrigued me the most was the empathy and dedication to the community that each and every staff member exuded. Never have I seen a group of more hard-working individuals who are united by a common goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to donate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Second Harvest is, I believe, the biggest and possibly the only food bank on the peninsula. The amount of food they provide and the number of people they provide it to is/are phenomenal . I called the San Carlos location to see about volunteering 2 years ago, and was immediately welcomed and given things to do that I feel allow me to make a meaningful difference there. They are very flexible about having volunteers work in departments and on projects that feel like the best fit to them. And you don't feel like "just a volunteer"-- you feel like a part of the organization. The staff and the other regular volunteers are across the board nice, friendly, hard-working, smart and dedicated. Volunteers are essential to keeping things going at Second Harvest, because they are very lean in terms of employees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been volunteering with SHFB for over 10 years and continue to do so because of many reasons. First, the staff at SHFB really goes all out with the volunteers and genuinely cares about us and appreciates what we do. They bend over backwards to make sure we are happy there. I actually feel bad when I cannot get there on my days of volunteering. And I can honestly say some of the staff are now my friends. We have done things outside of SHFB. Second, I just believe wholeheartedly that SHFB is really helping our community. Their employees believe in the cause too. The employees are passionate about what they do and strive to make each person in need of food get a meal. My volunteering at SHFB has enriched my life and my children's life (they have volunteered there too). I would highly encourage anyone to volunteer at SHFB.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I continue to bring my team back to Second Harvest again and again, and have been doing so for over 10 years. It is fabulous to be able to work with an organization that helps people directly, in our own community. To be face-to-face with the fact that hunger is an issue in a community like Silicon Valley is eye-opening, and we are truly blessed to be able to give back in a meaningful way, in just one morning or afternoon! The staff is amazing, they keep us happy and motivated, and it never hurts that they spur on a little "internal competition" between the Cisco teams to see who can sort and box the most food! It is a very fun teambuilding experience which allows you to get to know your teammates outside of the traditional work environment, and I have appreciated that greatly over the years. And, we all leave very happy knowing that we've done the community a lot of good in the process!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make even more team-building opportunities available!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have coordinated food sorts for our company Maxim Inetegrated for years. I try to get our employees involved in 2 sorts each quarter and allow them and Maxim to help give back to the community and help Second Harvest great cause.

It is easy, fun, great to get to know others in your
company in a fun meaningful way, and do a small part to make a different in our part of the world.

The staff at Second Harvest is incredible and so easy to work with. They work around your schedule and make it a great experience that employees want to do again and again.

Keep up the great work and we will be back for all the years to come I work with Maxim.

Best regards,

Jeff Thomas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers