Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.76195
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

As Onsite Coordinator of United American Banks' Community Food and Fund Drive since Janaury 2012, It's been my honor and pleasure to work with the fantiastic nonprofit, Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties. Jennie Nguyenly, SHFB Coordinator, and her staff are exceptionally committeed to serving needy families up an down the peninsula! I have no hesitation in recommedning SHFB of Santa Clara & San Mateo Counties to the fullest and look forward to working with them for years to come!

Sincerely,
Marcie Mitchell
Executive Administrative Assistant
United American Bank

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes and keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Second Harvest Food Bank has a well-deserved reputation as one of the most effective organizations in feeding the hungry in Silicon Valley. Its operations are efficient, and one of my husband's and my criteria for donation involves the percentage of money donated that actually goes to HELP people, as opposed to being gobbled up by administrative costs.

I hope Second Harvest continues to be funded for a very long time. If it weren't here, many people who need assistance would not be able to get it.

--Barbara Saxton

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

My experience volunteering at Second Harvest Food Bank was nothing short of exceptional. Last summer, I worked at Second Harvest through the Haas Center for Public Service at Stanford University to help connect eligible residents to the CalFresh (food stamp) program from both a case management and marketing perspective. It was during my fellowship that I witnessed that the Food Bank certainly exceeds expectations when it comes to meeting the needs of hungry residents in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. But what intrigued me the most was the empathy and dedication to the community that each and every staff member exuded. Never have I seen a group of more hard-working individuals who are united by a common goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to donate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Second Harvest is, I believe, the biggest and possibly the only food bank on the peninsula. The amount of food they provide and the number of people they provide it to is/are phenomenal . I called the San Carlos location to see about volunteering 2 years ago, and was immediately welcomed and given things to do that I feel allow me to make a meaningful difference there. They are very flexible about having volunteers work in departments and on projects that feel like the best fit to them. And you don't feel like "just a volunteer"-- you feel like a part of the organization. The staff and the other regular volunteers are across the board nice, friendly, hard-working, smart and dedicated. Volunteers are essential to keeping things going at Second Harvest, because they are very lean in terms of employees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been volunteering with SHFB for over 10 years and continue to do so because of many reasons. First, the staff at SHFB really goes all out with the volunteers and genuinely cares about us and appreciates what we do. They bend over backwards to make sure we are happy there. I actually feel bad when I cannot get there on my days of volunteering. And I can honestly say some of the staff are now my friends. We have done things outside of SHFB. Second, I just believe wholeheartedly that SHFB is really helping our community. Their employees believe in the cause too. The employees are passionate about what they do and strive to make each person in need of food get a meal. My volunteering at SHFB has enriched my life and my children's life (they have volunteered there too). I would highly encourage anyone to volunteer at SHFB.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I continue to bring my team back to Second Harvest again and again, and have been doing so for over 10 years. It is fabulous to be able to work with an organization that helps people directly, in our own community. To be face-to-face with the fact that hunger is an issue in a community like Silicon Valley is eye-opening, and we are truly blessed to be able to give back in a meaningful way, in just one morning or afternoon! The staff is amazing, they keep us happy and motivated, and it never hurts that they spur on a little "internal competition" between the Cisco teams to see who can sort and box the most food! It is a very fun teambuilding experience which allows you to get to know your teammates outside of the traditional work environment, and I have appreciated that greatly over the years. And, we all leave very happy knowing that we've done the community a lot of good in the process!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make even more team-building opportunities available!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have coordinated food sorts for our company Maxim Inetegrated for years. I try to get our employees involved in 2 sorts each quarter and allow them and Maxim to help give back to the community and help Second Harvest great cause.

It is easy, fun, great to get to know others in your
company in a fun meaningful way, and do a small part to make a different in our part of the world.

The staff at Second Harvest is incredible and so easy to work with. They work around your schedule and make it a great experience that employees want to do again and again.

Keep up the great work and we will be back for all the years to come I work with Maxim.

Best regards,

Jeff Thomas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I can't tell you how much I enjoyed volunteering at the Food Bank. I am so happy to see that the Food Bank provides food to seniors who are in need week after week, year after year. And little me, who has the privilege to participated in helping people too. Not only does the Food Bank provide basic needs for seniors, they also give comfort to low income families and homeless people through out the community. Truly, the Food Bank makes those people feel that someone cares.

Thank you for all the good work you do to help make this a better society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been bringing faculty, staff and students from Santa Clara University to volunteer at the Second Harvest Food Bank for the past three years. We were looking for an opportunity to do something good for the community while doing some team-building outside of my research lab & the classroom. Usually, 5-10 of us pack fruits & veggies into boxes to be distributed to people in need. We started at the Curtner facility and have been volunteering more recently at the First Street facility. At both locations, the front office staff was always very cheerful and welcoming. Our volunteer coordinator, Colleen, was always there to greet us and help us get started. The Second Harvest Food Bank staff always took a few minutes in the beginning to remind us of the need for food for the hungry and how the Food Bank survives largely on the efforts of volunteers (like us!). We often get a chance to work alongside people from a diversity of places (local high school students, tech companies, college sports clubs, etc.). it's always a very positive vibe in the warehouse when we're packing food, but at the same time, everyone is motivated to work hard sorting the edible from the rotten fruits & veggies, building boxes, then weighing and stacking them. Colleen often comes down and takes a photo or two of our group and is always very quick to email them to me so I can share with my colleagues. Several of her photos are scrolling on the Department of Biology's website! As our 1.5-2hrs comes to an end, one of the warehouse staff announces how many pounds of food we prepared for distribution and we trade our paper name tags for a refreshing bottle of cold water. My lab has benefited greatly from the opportunity and we hope to continue to volunteer for several years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

It amazes me how successful our Bay Area community is, and how at the same time, families in our same community, struggle to purchase groceries. I have been a supporter of Second Harvest for more than 10 years and I also communicate with them frequently. This organization is one of our best and well-run. Each time I participate in a Second Harvest event, they maintain the same level of excitement, love and enthusiasm for their supporters. They are organized, dedicated and their well-trained staff and volunteers are a pleasure to partner with. Thank you Second Harvest for taking care of our community!

Susana Meisenhelder
Maxim Integrated
Program Manager, HR

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers