Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.785715
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

They are a crucial safety net for those who are food insecure, most importantly in the summer months when schools are closed. As a donor they have been responsive to any questions and concerns. They do a good job with using social media to promote their purposes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2013

more

November 10, 2013

I was a high powered executive that always wanted to volunteer. When a break in my career allowed me to join the Second Harvest Brown Bag program, I seriously underestimated what it would mean to me personally. The professionalism of the Second Harvest staff is unmatched in Silicon Valley. The dedication and camaraderie of volunteers forms life-long friendships. Most important is the consistent, quality service provided to the members of the Brown Bag program. Our particular site provided approx. 20 lbs. of healthy food to over 100 low income seniors every week! Thank you Second Harvest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been volunteering for over 10 years as the Site Chair for the Brown Bag Program.
It has been very rewarding.
Second Harvest Food Bank staff provide the tools and support for the volunteers.
It is a great program for the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have had the pleasure of managing Second Harvest programs in our South Bay office for the last 8+ years. During this time, I have had the opportunity to work closely with their caring and dedicated staff to bring awareness and support to our ever expanding employee base. Due to their tireless efforts and creative thinking, our company’s giving and volunteering has multiplied by leaps and bounds to levels only imagined 8 years ago. Not only is Second Harvest an incredible organization to support, their staff is absolutely amazing!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Second Harvest Food Bank came to my attention a few years ago. I am continually in awe of their mission, how incredibly hard they work, and how effectively they produce results. Second Harvest feeds large numbers of people - adults and children - who have nowhere else to go, and those numbers are growing substantially every year. Second Harvest gives people more than food; they give them a leg up, hope, and a way to climb out of an impossible life situation- not enough to eat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been a volunteer for the past 3 years. I started out as a member, but when hearing that one of the volunteers had passed away, I jumped right in. Seeing the happy faces of the Senior Citizens that we help each week is amazing. They all know me and I spend half my time getting hugs. This is the greatest reward of all for being a member of Second Harvest Brown Bag Program. I never knew being retired could be so rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the warehouses make sure we are getting fresh produce.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

My wife and I have been volunteering for over 7 years, 5 of those as site chairs for the Brown Bag Program.

Our relationship with the staff at SHFB has been exceptional. They respond to our needs in a timely manner and are genuine in their appreciation of the work done by all the
volunteers.

The camaraderie we feel working with the volunteers and clients at our site make it a very worthwhile experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

As Onsite Coordinator of United American Banks' Community Food and Fund Drive since Janaury 2012, It's been my honor and pleasure to work with the fantiastic nonprofit, Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties. Jennie Nguyenly, SHFB Coordinator, and her staff are exceptionally committeed to serving needy families up an down the peninsula! I have no hesitation in recommedning SHFB of Santa Clara & San Mateo Counties to the fullest and look forward to working with them for years to come!

Sincerely,
Marcie Mitchell
Executive Administrative Assistant
United American Bank

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes and keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Second Harvest Food Bank has a well-deserved reputation as one of the most effective organizations in feeding the hungry in Silicon Valley. Its operations are efficient, and one of my husband's and my criteria for donation involves the percentage of money donated that actually goes to HELP people, as opposed to being gobbled up by administrative costs.

I hope Second Harvest continues to be funded for a very long time. If it weren't here, many people who need assistance would not be able to get it.

--Barbara Saxton

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

My experience volunteering at Second Harvest Food Bank was nothing short of exceptional. Last summer, I worked at Second Harvest through the Haas Center for Public Service at Stanford University to help connect eligible residents to the CalFresh (food stamp) program from both a case management and marketing perspective. It was during my fellowship that I witnessed that the Food Bank certainly exceeds expectations when it comes to meeting the needs of hungry residents in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. But what intrigued me the most was the empathy and dedication to the community that each and every staff member exuded. Never have I seen a group of more hard-working individuals who are united by a common goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to donate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers