Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.745765
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been volunteering with SHFB for over 10 years and continue to do so because of many reasons. First, the staff at SHFB really goes all out with the volunteers and genuinely cares about us and appreciates what we do. They bend over backwards to make sure we are happy there. I actually feel bad when I cannot get there on my days of volunteering. And I can honestly say some of the staff are now my friends. We have done things outside of SHFB. Second, I just believe wholeheartedly that SHFB is really helping our community. Their employees believe in the cause too. The employees are passionate about what they do and strive to make each person in need of food get a meal. My volunteering at SHFB has enriched my life and my children's life (they have volunteered there too). I would highly encourage anyone to volunteer at SHFB.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I continue to bring my team back to Second Harvest again and again, and have been doing so for over 10 years. It is fabulous to be able to work with an organization that helps people directly, in our own community. To be face-to-face with the fact that hunger is an issue in a community like Silicon Valley is eye-opening, and we are truly blessed to be able to give back in a meaningful way, in just one morning or afternoon! The staff is amazing, they keep us happy and motivated, and it never hurts that they spur on a little "internal competition" between the Cisco teams to see who can sort and box the most food! It is a very fun teambuilding experience which allows you to get to know your teammates outside of the traditional work environment, and I have appreciated that greatly over the years. And, we all leave very happy knowing that we've done the community a lot of good in the process!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make even more team-building opportunities available!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have coordinated food sorts for our company Maxim Inetegrated for years. I try to get our employees involved in 2 sorts each quarter and allow them and Maxim to help give back to the community and help Second Harvest great cause.

It is easy, fun, great to get to know others in your
company in a fun meaningful way, and do a small part to make a different in our part of the world.

The staff at Second Harvest is incredible and so easy to work with. They work around your schedule and make it a great experience that employees want to do again and again.

Keep up the great work and we will be back for all the years to come I work with Maxim.

Best regards,

Jeff Thomas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I can't tell you how much I enjoyed volunteering at the Food Bank. I am so happy to see that the Food Bank provides food to seniors who are in need week after week, year after year. And little me, who has the privilege to participated in helping people too. Not only does the Food Bank provide basic needs for seniors, they also give comfort to low income families and homeless people through out the community. Truly, the Food Bank makes those people feel that someone cares.

Thank you for all the good work you do to help make this a better society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been bringing faculty, staff and students from Santa Clara University to volunteer at the Second Harvest Food Bank for the past three years. We were looking for an opportunity to do something good for the community while doing some team-building outside of my research lab & the classroom. Usually, 5-10 of us pack fruits & veggies into boxes to be distributed to people in need. We started at the Curtner facility and have been volunteering more recently at the First Street facility. At both locations, the front office staff was always very cheerful and welcoming. Our volunteer coordinator, Colleen, was always there to greet us and help us get started. The Second Harvest Food Bank staff always took a few minutes in the beginning to remind us of the need for food for the hungry and how the Food Bank survives largely on the efforts of volunteers (like us!). We often get a chance to work alongside people from a diversity of places (local high school students, tech companies, college sports clubs, etc.). it's always a very positive vibe in the warehouse when we're packing food, but at the same time, everyone is motivated to work hard sorting the edible from the rotten fruits & veggies, building boxes, then weighing and stacking them. Colleen often comes down and takes a photo or two of our group and is always very quick to email them to me so I can share with my colleagues. Several of her photos are scrolling on the Department of Biology's website! As our 1.5-2hrs comes to an end, one of the warehouse staff announces how many pounds of food we prepared for distribution and we trade our paper name tags for a refreshing bottle of cold water. My lab has benefited greatly from the opportunity and we hope to continue to volunteer for several years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

It amazes me how successful our Bay Area community is, and how at the same time, families in our same community, struggle to purchase groceries. I have been a supporter of Second Harvest for more than 10 years and I also communicate with them frequently. This organization is one of our best and well-run. Each time I participate in a Second Harvest event, they maintain the same level of excitement, love and enthusiasm for their supporters. They are organized, dedicated and their well-trained staff and volunteers are a pleasure to partner with. Thank you Second Harvest for taking care of our community!

Susana Meisenhelder
Maxim Integrated
Program Manager, HR

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

For the past 14 years, I've been honored to be a nonprofit partner and now a board member for Second Harvest Food Bank. During that time, Second Harvest has always been a leading advocate for food and nutrition in our community, and they have scaled their mission to meet the rising needs in Silicon Valley. Kathy Jackson, Executive Director, and the dedicated staff are innovators in the nonprofit sector, engaging business leaders and community members to work to solve hunger issues and shed light on the policy issues affecting nutrition. They truly are thought leaders.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double their donations - every dollar is well spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Even though Silicon Valley is full of tech millionaires, we also have thousands of people who do not have enough to eat. Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties is effective, efficient and ever-focused on providing the best experience to their customers. There but for the grace of God go all of us, so I am so proud to support Second Harvest in good times and in bad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them leverage technology even more to increase their impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

This is the best run charity in our area. They are meeting a real need, and continue to serve the community well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds to feed more people who really are really benefit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Our group at Cisco volunteers at SHFB at least once every quarter and participates in a food drive every year. Second Harvest is one of the greatest non-profit orgzanizations in the Santa Clara Valley. Their focus and dedication to helping the hungry has had an astronomical and profound effect on me personally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers