Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.76195
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Volunteering here is very easy to do as the tasks are not difficult to complete. The staff and other volunteers are very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to do work that you know will benefit others and that's a really good feeling!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I had always wanted to volunteer at Second Harvest and finally got the opportunity to do so with current company I am contracting with. From the moment our small group entered their building to begin volunteering, we were greeted warmly and given instructions. We were then led to area to help sort and package food. The coordinator here was very friendly and informative. We all got busy and the time flew by! Afterwards we all felt a great feeling of accomplishment and hope to return again next quarter or sooner if possible! Thanks for allowing us to help out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

It was very easy to find a day to volunteer and fun to work with other volunteers sorting and packing apples. It was quick and yet so rewarding!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteer opportunities during the day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

They are a crucial safety net for those who are food insecure, most importantly in the summer months when schools are closed. As a donor they have been responsive to any questions and concerns. They do a good job with using social media to promote their purposes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2013

more

November 10, 2013

I was a high powered executive that always wanted to volunteer. When a break in my career allowed me to join the Second Harvest Brown Bag program, I seriously underestimated what it would mean to me personally. The professionalism of the Second Harvest staff is unmatched in Silicon Valley. The dedication and camaraderie of volunteers forms life-long friendships. Most important is the consistent, quality service provided to the members of the Brown Bag program. Our particular site provided approx. 20 lbs. of healthy food to over 100 low income seniors every week! Thank you Second Harvest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been volunteering for over 10 years as the Site Chair for the Brown Bag Program.
It has been very rewarding.
Second Harvest Food Bank staff provide the tools and support for the volunteers.
It is a great program for the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have had the pleasure of managing Second Harvest programs in our South Bay office for the last 8+ years. During this time, I have had the opportunity to work closely with their caring and dedicated staff to bring awareness and support to our ever expanding employee base. Due to their tireless efforts and creative thinking, our company’s giving and volunteering has multiplied by leaps and bounds to levels only imagined 8 years ago. Not only is Second Harvest an incredible organization to support, their staff is absolutely amazing!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Second Harvest Food Bank came to my attention a few years ago. I am continually in awe of their mission, how incredibly hard they work, and how effectively they produce results. Second Harvest feeds large numbers of people - adults and children - who have nowhere else to go, and those numbers are growing substantially every year. Second Harvest gives people more than food; they give them a leg up, hope, and a way to climb out of an impossible life situation- not enough to eat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been a volunteer for the past 3 years. I started out as a member, but when hearing that one of the volunteers had passed away, I jumped right in. Seeing the happy faces of the Senior Citizens that we help each week is amazing. They all know me and I spend half my time getting hugs. This is the greatest reward of all for being a member of Second Harvest Brown Bag Program. I never knew being retired could be so rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the warehouses make sure we are getting fresh produce.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

My wife and I have been volunteering for over 7 years, 5 of those as site chairs for the Brown Bag Program.

Our relationship with the staff at SHFB has been exceptional. They respond to our needs in a timely manner and are genuine in their appreciation of the work done by all the
volunteers.

The camaraderie we feel working with the volunteers and clients at our site make it a very worthwhile experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers