Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Second Chances Wildlife Center is a quality organization that serves a vital role in this community. The rehabilitation of injured and orphaned animals is a great service to the community and gives animal lovers a caring and reliable place to call when they come across such animals. In addition, they provide many wonderful educational programs to school groups and other organizations.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Second Chances is a very well run organization that helps wildlife in need. The animals are well taken care for by the director of the organization and the volunteers. It is a professionally run nonprofit that rehabs wildlife and returns them to the wild for another go! The organization also provides many educational programs and gets involved in other community events.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I volunteer for Second Chances Wildlife Center to help support their wonderful education program. Education of the public is the best way to help wildlife. Caring for injured and orphaned wildlife and then safely returning them to their wild lives is a privilege. Most of these animals have been injured or orphaned because of human interference, so it feels like the right thing to do.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Second Chances specializes in expertly rehabilitating distressed wildlife that is native to Kentucky. The quantity of animals rehabilitated at Second Chances is amazing and only constrained by the size of the facility. The staff is talented and dedicated to the organizations mission. Second Chances is a true asset to the local environment.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

A few months ago, while on a run, I came across a small fur ball motionless in the middle of the road. The fur ball turned out to be an infant rabbit which had somehow been carried from its nest. The animal was in dire conditions and needed attention. Not knowing where to take mammals who had been injured, I did a quick Google search which led me to Second Chances. I was hesitant at first because I was unfamiliar with this rehabilitation center, and knew from past experiences that not all centers are created or managed equally. That day, however, I was able to meet with Brigette and transfer the rabbit to her passionate care. Her compassion for the animal and knowledge of the condition and processes needed to rehabilitate the rabbit was immediately evident. And her eagerness to get the infant rabbit to immediate care was more than enough to dissuade any notion that I may be doing the wrong thing or leaving him in the wrong hands. I am certain that the quality of care for the animals at Second Chances as well as their educational and community outreach efforts are well above the average in this particular field. From the people to the facility, this non-profit is a great example of what every non-profit should strive to become.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

This organization is very passionate and professional about what they do I am so glad I found them. They were wonderful to work with. Beth E.
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I have been working at the Louisville Zoo for 12 years. One of those years I was a docent and that is where I first met Bridgette. Well last year my cousin that lives in Irvington, KY. Was picking her kids up at the bus stop when they found 2 baby opossum's. Naturally their first thought is to call me and see if I will take them in. Well knowing that here at my house I couldn't provide the proper care they needed so I asked around the Zoo and Doug McCoy told me about Bridgette working here at Second Chances and so I made the call and she was more than happy to take them in. As I have to name everything.... Thelma and Louise were taken great care of and have since been released. I look forwards to supporting and helping in the future. Yes I am a very happy and satisfied client as well as donator. Thanks for all of y'all's hard work that y'all do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them or me closer and beg to work with them lol.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

When I began volunteering for Second Chances, I honestly had no idea how vitally important this work is. Second Chances is a small, grass roots organization. The founder and team of volunteers are passionately dedicated to the conservation of wildlife through rehabilitation and education. There are very few agencies whose services are as comprehensive as those offered by Second Chances. To have the opportunity to preserve a tiny beating heart....to care for an injured animal who would perish without intervention...that is making a difference. It is hard work....it can be emotionally uplifting, and at other times, emotionally exhausting, but we are making a difference for wildlife in Kentucky. I love and stand for everything Second Chances does to care for and protect our wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leverage technology to a greater extent in order to further funding and educational efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

I started volunteering at Second Chances Wildlife Center 2 years ago. I couldn't be prouder of the charity I volunteer for and our mission; helping wildlife through education and rehabilitation. I'm glad that there is such a great organization to help out these animals. There are tons of organizations that help with all sorts of causes, but wildlife is often overlooked. Help support this great cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help increase our fundraising and donations, so that Second Chances can continue to do great things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

What a wonderful opportunity to volunteer for this organization! I absolutely love caring for these precious ones who need us. Of course, cleaning out all of their cages is not as fun (ha-ha!) but keeps this center healthy for all of the animals and volunteers. I have only been volunteering for a short time but it has been so worthwhile. It is hard saying goodbye to the animals as we release them but we know that we are doing the right thing. I have participated in several of the educational opportunities at libraries and Farmington, and it is so rewarding to see the reactions of everyone to our little charges. We volunteers all adore the animals we have for educational purposes and spoil them! My favorite is the groundhog Major. You will see him on our website and Facebook page.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We hope to buy land and build a bigger center that is more available to the public. More people should consider volunteering to see how rewarding it is! Last but not least, we could always use more donations to buy everything we need for our little ones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help one day with our animals or be a part of our administrative team. Volunteer