Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I have been working at the Louisville Zoo for 12 years. One of those years I was a docent and that is where I first met Bridgette. Well last year my cousin that lives in Irvington, KY. Was picking her kids up at the bus stop when they found 2 baby opossum's. Naturally their first thought is to call me and see if I will take them in. Well knowing that here at my house I couldn't provide the proper care they needed so I asked around the Zoo and Doug McCoy told me about Bridgette working here at Second Chances and so I made the call and she was more than happy to take them in. As I have to name everything.... Thelma and Louise were taken great care of and have since been released. I look forwards to supporting and helping in the future. Yes I am a very happy and satisfied client as well as donator. Thanks for all of y'all's hard work that y'all do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them or me closer and beg to work with them lol.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

When I began volunteering for Second Chances, I honestly had no idea how vitally important this work is. Second Chances is a small, grass roots organization. The founder and team of volunteers are passionately dedicated to the conservation of wildlife through rehabilitation and education. There are very few agencies whose services are as comprehensive as those offered by Second Chances. To have the opportunity to preserve a tiny beating heart....to care for an injured animal who would perish without intervention...that is making a difference. It is hard work....it can be emotionally uplifting, and at other times, emotionally exhausting, but we are making a difference for wildlife in Kentucky. I love and stand for everything Second Chances does to care for and protect our wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leverage technology to a greater extent in order to further funding and educational efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

I started volunteering at Second Chances Wildlife Center 2 years ago. I couldn't be prouder of the charity I volunteer for and our mission; helping wildlife through education and rehabilitation. I'm glad that there is such a great organization to help out these animals. There are tons of organizations that help with all sorts of causes, but wildlife is often overlooked. Help support this great cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help increase our fundraising and donations, so that Second Chances can continue to do great things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

What a wonderful opportunity to volunteer for this organization! I absolutely love caring for these precious ones who need us. Of course, cleaning out all of their cages is not as fun (ha-ha!) but keeps this center healthy for all of the animals and volunteers. I have only been volunteering for a short time but it has been so worthwhile. It is hard saying goodbye to the animals as we release them but we know that we are doing the right thing. I have participated in several of the educational opportunities at libraries and Farmington, and it is so rewarding to see the reactions of everyone to our little charges. We volunteers all adore the animals we have for educational purposes and spoil them! My favorite is the groundhog Major. You will see him on our website and Facebook page.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We hope to buy land and build a bigger center that is more available to the public. More people should consider volunteering to see how rewarding it is! Last but not least, we could always use more donations to buy everything we need for our little ones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

Just absolutely wonderful!! Second Chances helped take a sweet little bat for us when it couldn't fly well enough to move out of the house it accidentally found itself inside. Lots of hearts and minds eased and one very lucky bat saved! Thank You!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I am so grateful for the help that Second Chances provided me earlier this year. I had become very attached to a possum who would visit me each night to eat some dinner when one night she showed up unable to use her back legs. I was frantic with worry as to what was going to happen to her and I had no idea what I could do to help her. A friend suggested I contact Second Chances and they immediately agreed to take her. Ultimately they were not able to save her but it was a huge relief to know that she had a humane ending with love and care. Even months later I still miss my possum friend.

Second Chances provides vital information and education on how humans can coexist with wildlife rather than destroy it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Organization is wonderful but they need more community support - particularly in the county where they are located

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

Second Chances will now forever hold a place in my heart. It is so wonderful to see so many animals get the help they need, and be released back into the wild. The countless hours that the volunteers put in to make sure these animals have a fighting chance is nothing short of amazing. Thanks Second Chances!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2011

more

August 2, 2011

This is my first year of volunteering and it has been wonderful. My attitude about racoons, opossums and squirrels has changed so much. This is nothing more rewarding that bottle feeding an orphan animal and watching it grow and be set free.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching our animals achieve adulthood and then be released

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish more people would realize the importance of Second Chances

August 1, 2011

more

August 1, 2011

It has been so wonderful and inspiring to see so many helpless animals thrive under our care and be able to be released back in the wild where they belong.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing many animals grow to be released in the wild

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more fundraising opportunities

August 1, 2011

more

August 1, 2011

Second Chances was created to help injured and abandoned wild animals that would otherwise suffer a slow and agonizing death if left in the wild. The facilities are very clean, well maintained, and safe for the animals as well as for the volunteer staff that works there. The care provider is accredited in animal rehabilitation and very knowledgeable about how to care for all types of wild animals, from raccoons to bats. Second Chances also offers educational programs about our state's wildlife to local public and private schools in Oldham and Jefferson Counties in KY.
Once they are healthy and/or old enough, the animals are slowly transitioned back into the wild through a process that helps them learn to forage for food and adjust to their natural habitat.
Both my 9 year old and my 7 year old have learned a lot from this organization and Brigette Williams, the director and rehab specialist who started Second Chances.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through participation in a camp at Second Chances, my 9 year old daughter learned not only the importance of bats to our backyard but a desire to attract them through the building of a bat house while at the camp. Both my children are inspired by Ms. Brigette's knowledge and love for wild animals and I enjoy hearing their desire to do what they can to help raise money for Second Chances and the animals in its care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Of course finding funding for the organization is a priority but getting the word out to educational groups about Second Chances and its application in classrooms is very important as well. The organization's director is not only a licensed animal rehab professional but is herself a teacher, and therefore knows first hand how useful it is for students to be able to see the science of nature in a real setting, not just in text books.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help one day with our animals or be a part of our administrative team. Volunteer