Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds is the absolute best. It's very professionally run and have a very kind and amazing staff that make everything run smoothly. They have a great eye for the nice horses but don't turn one away if it doesn't fit that perfect mold. They do a great job of retraining as well, all of the horses seem fat, healthy and happy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their facility larger to help more horses!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I volunteer with Finger Lakes Finest Thoroughbreds, Inc. and have for many years. Collette and Second Chance Thoroughbreds have worked hand in hand with our organization, often providing a soft landing spot for some of our most at-risk Thoroughbreds. She goes above and beyond when it comes to OTTB's and other horses in need in central New York. She works tirelessly to promote, foster, and find homes for horses in need. I am grateful not only for the wonderful, professional relationship that has developed between our two organizations, but also for her work at holding "Gelding Clinics" to reduce the number of unwanted horses. I have complete confidence in her organization, and I am not only a fan, I am a doner as well. I know my dollars will be used to further the cause of needy horses in our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have been involved with humane education and rescue work for many years, and as a horsewoman and the owner of a Thoroughbred (last raced in 1992!) I have a passionate interest in the ethical treatment of these incredible horses. Collette and her team are well respected in the horse community for the great work that they do, so I was thrilled when they decided to take their private efforts to the public and form Second Chance Thoroughbreds as a non-profit.

I have had the opportunity to not only see the impressive work they do rehabilitating and retraining the horses they bring into the program, but to offer support for their efforts through shared business experiences, networking and yes, donor support. Unlike many programs who stockpile horses, Collette and her team are out there each day working with the horses, training, networking and improving their chances for a fantastic second career. By bringing the horses to large local shows and fairs they are not only expanding the talents of the horse, but showcasing the horse in the best possible way. Ask yourself where you would expect to see an organization like this? That's right! At horse shows where advanced competitors, and prospective owners will be!

This is a quality organization full of passionately dedicated horsepeople who have one common goal...successful second careers and wonderful homes for some very special horses. I know that when the time comes for me to consider my next lifetime horse, it will be a retired Thoroughbred race horse from Second Chance Thoroughbreds!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to secure grants for their efforts. Especially for gelding clinics!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Collette, Shannon, Skye, and the rest of the volunteers at Second Chance Thoroughbreds truly believe in their work. They really would like to save every OTTB (and other horses) if they had enough resources. They stay on top of the local horse rescue activity, network with others to try to help as many as they can. Knowledgeable horse people with BIG, BIG hearts. The Second Chance crew do amazing work, stand behind their adoptions and are a valueable asset to local horses in need!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers