Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Our family has known Collette for more than 14 years, our son has taken lessons and attended many camps! It would be hard to find another non profit organization who takes in OTTB's and gives them the attention and care that is so desperately needed! After an adoption takes place you can always count on Collette for keeping in contact with the family and horse! Keep up the Great work SCT!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

When I was looking for a companion horse for my OTTB, I looked at many rescues but knew when I was interested in a horse at Second Chance Thoroughbreds that I would be adopting through them. They were concerned for the horses in their care, they checked my references and they have stayed in contact with me since I adopted the horse. I would recommend them to any one looking to adopt an OTTB.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I've been both a rider, boarder and adopter at Second Chance for over 10 years. Collette does a phenomenal job of rehabbing, networking and adopting out horses at great need. We adopted an OTTB slotted for auction that she saved at the last minute who is the nicest horse imaginable, that even a 6 yold girl can ride. We are so happy to have been able to take lessons on him, get to know and love him, and then be able to adopt! Not only does SCT adopt out horses at need, but also try to prevent the overpopulation problem by hosting low-cost gelding clinics.Thank you Collette and SCT!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage the public to donate $$$

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My families experience with Second chance Thoroughbreds has been rewarding in so many ways.
Collette introduced us to "Truckee Tudor" who has become a family member and lifelong friend to our daughter, Madison.
Collette also stays in touch with our family regarding other possible horses
in need. Second chance Thoroughbreds recently put us in touch with another thoroughbred named "Desert Tnt" who has joined our family.
We truly believe in and support all of work Second chance Thoroughbreds does and puts into rescuing horses. We will continue to help and support them in any way we can.
July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I recently adopted the most amazing horse from this organization, and I couldn't be happier! They do amazing work, and their horses are so lucky to have been given a second chance in life. They saved the horse I adopted from potential death, and I know he (as well as i) will forever be grateful. Collette was always extremely helpful, and despite my hundreds of questions, she always took the time to reply promptly and honestly. When the time is right, I'd love to adopt from them again!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc is a great organization, which finds the best OTTBs and works with them to resell them at great prices. I have bought three horses from Collette Duddy, and if I had more space I would buy more! The three I bought were Dewey, Rocky (now Ronan), and Diego. My sister is in love with Thoroughbreds and bought Dewey a few years ago. He was 7 and now he is turning 11. My sister has brought him up to Training level Eventing and they both have soared. Collette really helped my sister to find the perfect horse for what my sister loves to do. The next was Diego. He was such a sweet boy, who was a once in a life time horse for me. Ronan was another horse my sister bought from Collette. This happened by my sister talking to Collette about wanting to buy a OTTB right from off the track and Collette saw that Ronan and Dewey were so similar that she recommended him and after my sister rode him they were automatically a team! The horses that come to Second Chance Thoroughbreds are brilliant horses that really have shown themselves in the eventing world and the hunter jumper world and in other disciplines as well. I definitely recommend Second Chance Thoroughbreds to anyone who is looking for a nice horse to re-train to the discipline of their choice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes because the horses we have gotten from them are perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Collette and the other volunteers at Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc. are kind and truly believe in what they're doing. The farm is a friendly and welcoming place where horses and people are treated with respect and kindness. It is a great, non-judgmental place to learn to ride and care for horses, as well as learn about the problems unfortunately faced by many horses and how to help them.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked as a professional in the horse industry for many yesrs, but after health issues forced me out for nearly 10 years, I found myself wanting back in the horse world. I began riding lessons at Second Chance Thoroughbreds, and found the barn environment to be wonderful. There was none of the back-biting, snobbery found at many barns the same size, just people encouraging and supporting one another to love and care for horses. The volunteers and staff are knowledgable and extremely helpful. As I spent more and more time there, I became interested in the rescue work being done for retired race horses. I especially appreciate how willing they are to take in colts that need to be gelded, even though this is a big expence, as these are some of the most at risk horses. They also work tirelessly at securing funding to assist other horse owners in the community with gelding their horses, thereby reducing the number of unwanted foals each year. I was thrilled to support their first ever gelding clinic, where five horses from the community were gelded for free, or very low cost.
Many of the horses that Second Chance Thoroughbreds takes in are in poor health when they arrive, and need a lot of care before they can receive training and be rehomed. This is all done with the utmost care, with concern for each individual horse. The pocess is never rushed. I was thrilled to make one of these rescued and restored thoroughbreds my own in May, 2013. I really don't feel like I can say enough about the work these folks do. Thanks to them, I'm riding again, looking forward to competition next year, and have an amazing horse to make the journey with!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers