Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Write A Review
November 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 29, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds is an awesome organization. I have been riding with Collette since 2004, and there is no other person I would want to be learning from. Everyone at Second Chance Thorough... more

November 4, 2014

The work that Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc. does comes straight from the hearts of every one there. They truly believe in what they are doing, and they truly believe in putting the horse above all else. I have seen horses come into the facility that have been passed from hand to hand and were deemed to be "useless". The Second Chance Thoroughbreds mentality? Every horse has a purpose in life, and every horse deserves to find their own calling. Collette, who was once disciplined primarily in the hunter/jumper ring, never leaves out the notion that some horses are just designed to be in different environments. At Second Chance Thoroughbreds, the horses talents as well as their personal happiness is always put first. Have a horse that doesn't enjoy the show ring? Lets find an owner who wants a horse who is just adventurous as they are out on the trails. Have a horse that loves jumping just as much as they love morning feed time? Find an owner who can teach the horse what jumping a new course, and enjoying the ride along through it, is all about.

Second Chance Thoroughbreds embodies the concept that riding should be a display of passion, enjoyment, and a few belly laughs - for not only the rider, but the for the horse.
September 29, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds is an awesome organization. I have been riding with Collette since 2004, and there is no other person I would want to be learning from. Everyone at Second Chance Thoroughbreds truly believes in always putting the horse first, and that every horse deserves a good life. All of the horses at Second Chance Thoroughbreds are happy and healthy. I have witnessed both horses, and riders grow as individuals and as athletes in Collette's hands. This facility is one of a kind, as it is professionally run but puts having fun at the top of the list.

This facility is not filled with the stereotypical 'snobs' of horse people. The volunteers are always ready to help one another, and are there every step of the way to encourage others. I have gained not only a love of riding, but a family at this barn. I have learned virtually everything I know about horses while riding with Second Chance Thoroughbreds.

I have witnessed a long list of riders and horses that have made the teams of a lifetime, all because of the extra mile that Collette goes. I am proud to say that this organization is not 'in it' for the money, but for the sheer love of the horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding so they can expand their facilities and reach out to even more people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Our family has known Collette for more than 14 years, our son has taken lessons and attended many camps! It would be hard to find another non profit organization who takes in OTTB's and gives them the attention and care that is so desperately needed! After an adoption takes place you can always count on Collette for keeping in contact with the family and horse! Keep up the Great work SCT!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

When I was looking for a companion horse for my OTTB, I looked at many rescues but knew when I was interested in a horse at Second Chance Thoroughbreds that I would be adopting through them. They were concerned for the horses in their care, they checked my references and they have stayed in contact with me since I adopted the horse. I would recommend them to any one looking to adopt an OTTB.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I've been both a rider, boarder and adopter at Second Chance for over 10 years. Collette does a phenomenal job of rehabbing, networking and adopting out horses at great need. We adopted an OTTB slotted for auction that she saved at the last minute who is the nicest horse imaginable, that even a 6 yold girl can ride. We are so happy to have been able to take lessons on him, get to know and love him, and then be able to adopt! Not only does SCT adopt out horses at need, but also try to prevent the overpopulation problem by hosting low-cost gelding clinics.Thank you Collette and SCT!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage the public to donate $$$

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

There are few organizations I feel are worthy of my support. I feel Second Chance Thoroughbreds , Collette Duddy and her volunteers are a great organizations that tirelessly work to enhance the future of Thoroughbreds who may otherwise not get the well deserved second chance at another life. They often give the horses that need time to rehab and heal the time they need before they are ready for their second careers. I have witnessed their dedication and love for the horses. I am happy to work with them in any way I am able. This is definitely a five star group.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Second chance thoroughbreds is a wonderful organization that is committed to improving the lives for so many horses in need. Their collective experience in the horse industry makes them an incredibly valued resource in our region. Collette and her team of volunteers strive for the best care and quality of life do any horse that comes to them, and they work endlessly to find new homes and careers for these champion equines who strive so hard to please their owners yet still end up needing rescue through the aid of second chance thoroughbreds.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I've been at this stable since I was a child and have learned everything I know about horses from Collette - who is a dedicated, hardworking, and an inspirational instructor. Since the stable has morphed into Second Chance Thoroughbreds, I have gained a new experience helping with the thoroughbreds and learning more about training and about horses in general. Second Chance Thoroughbreds has shown me how many horses need homes and has inspired me to help in any way I can in these horses' journey to a great life. Overall, Second Chance has a warm, friendly environment as well as a great motivation for helping thoroughbreds find a wonderful life!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Second Chance Thoroughbreds not only brings happiness to me every day, but has put me in connection with my best friend, a little thoroughbred mare named Penny. SCT does an amazing job taking in these thoroughbreds and showing them true love and care. Each horse that comes in thrives off that second chance. Second Chance Thoroughbreds is amazing!
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My families experience with Second chance Thoroughbreds has been rewarding in so many ways.
Collette introduced us to "Truckee Tudor" who has become a family member and lifelong friend to our daughter, Madison.
Collette also stays in touch with our family regarding other possible horses
in need. Second chance Thoroughbreds recently put us in touch with another thoroughbred named "Desert Tnt" who has joined our family.
We truly believe in and support all of work Second chance Thoroughbreds does and puts into rescuing horses. We will continue to help and support them in any way we can.
July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I recently adopted the most amazing horse from this organization, and I couldn't be happier! They do amazing work, and their horses are so lucky to have been given a second chance in life. They saved the horse I adopted from potential death, and I know he (as well as i) will forever be grateful. Collette was always extremely helpful, and despite my hundreds of questions, she always took the time to reply promptly and honestly. When the time is right, I'd love to adopt from them again!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers