Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I recently adopted the most amazing horse from this organization, and I couldn't be happier! They do amazing work, and their horses are so lucky to have been given a second chance in life. They saved the horse I adopted from potential death, and I know he (as well as i) will forever be grateful. Collette was always extremely helpful, and despite my hundreds of questions, she always took the time to reply promptly and honestly. When the time is right, I'd love to adopt from them again!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2013

The work that Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc. does is phenomenal. I have been riding at the facility since 2001, starting out in the summer riding program before moving to year-round lessons, horse ... more

July 15, 2014

Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc. continues to do amazing work in 2014! So far this year, they have placed nine thoroughbreds into loving homes, including a major starvation case. Camies Kruzen came to our facility in January from a neglect situation rated as a 2 out of 9 BCS on the Henneke Scale. He left in early July, fat, happy and starting to build back muscle. Seeing horses thrive and actually become healthier and happier are what rescue is all about, and Second Chance Thoroughbreds has done and continues to do a fantastic job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more funding to support more thoroughbreds and for facility repairs and improvements.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

The work that Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc. does is phenomenal. I have been riding at the facility since 2001, starting out in the summer riding program before moving to year-round lessons, horse ownership, and finally becoming a board member during the formation of Second Chance in 2011. Collette is an amazing teacher and the quality of care is excellent. Since 2001, a number of thoroughbreds have come into the care of SCT and all have received outstanding care, rehab, and training. Those who come in underweight, with lameness issues, etc. always leave healthy and happy! The environment is laid back and inviting, with fun and safety being the main priorities. Beyond thoroughbred retraining and re-homing, the effort put into educating the public on the breed, horse care, and riding as well as hosting gelding clinics really make for a well-rounded organization. I truly feel honored to be a board member of such a great non-profit organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the property and facilities so as to accommodate more thoroughbreds!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds is an awesome organization. I have been riding with Collette since 2004, and there is no other person I would want to be learning from. Everyone at Second Chance Thoroughbreds truly believes in always putting the horse first, and that every horse deserves a good life. All of the horses at Second Chance Thoroughbreds are happy and healthy. I have witnessed both horses, and riders grow as individuals and as athletes in Collette's hands. This facility is one of a kind, as it is professionally run but puts having fun at the top of the list.

This facility is not filled with the stereotypical 'snobs' of horse people. The volunteers are always ready to help one another, and are there every step of the way to encourage others. I have gained not only a love of riding, but a family at this barn. I have learned virtually everything I know about horses while riding with Second Chance Thoroughbreds.

I have witnessed a long list of riders and horses that have made the teams of a lifetime, all because of the extra mile that Collette goes. I am proud to say that this organization is not 'in it' for the money, but for the sheer love of the horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding so they can expand their facilities and reach out to even more people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds is the absolute best. It's very professionally run and have a very kind and amazing staff that make everything run smoothly. They have a great eye for the nice horses but don't turn one away if it doesn't fit that perfect mold. They do a great job of retraining as well, all of the horses seem fat, healthy and happy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their facility larger to help more horses!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc is a great organization, which finds the best OTTBs and works with them to resell them at great prices. I have bought three horses from Collette Duddy, and if I had more space I would buy more! The three I bought were Dewey, Rocky (now Ronan), and Diego. My sister is in love with Thoroughbreds and bought Dewey a few years ago. He was 7 and now he is turning 11. My sister has brought him up to Training level Eventing and they both have soared. Collette really helped my sister to find the perfect horse for what my sister loves to do. The next was Diego. He was such a sweet boy, who was a once in a life time horse for me. Ronan was another horse my sister bought from Collette. This happened by my sister talking to Collette about wanting to buy a OTTB right from off the track and Collette saw that Ronan and Dewey were so similar that she recommended him and after my sister rode him they were automatically a team! The horses that come to Second Chance Thoroughbreds are brilliant horses that really have shown themselves in the eventing world and the hunter jumper world and in other disciplines as well. I definitely recommend Second Chance Thoroughbreds to anyone who is looking for a nice horse to re-train to the discipline of their choice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes because the horses we have gotten from them are perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I volunteer with Finger Lakes Finest Thoroughbreds, Inc. and have for many years. Collette and Second Chance Thoroughbreds have worked hand in hand with our organization, often providing a soft landing spot for some of our most at-risk Thoroughbreds. She goes above and beyond when it comes to OTTB's and other horses in need in central New York. She works tirelessly to promote, foster, and find homes for horses in need. I am grateful not only for the wonderful, professional relationship that has developed between our two organizations, but also for her work at holding "Gelding Clinics" to reduce the number of unwanted horses. I have complete confidence in her organization, and I am not only a fan, I am a doner as well. I know my dollars will be used to further the cause of needy horses in our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Collette and the other volunteers at Second Chance Thoroughbreds, Inc. are kind and truly believe in what they're doing. The farm is a friendly and welcoming place where horses and people are treated with respect and kindness. It is a great, non-judgmental place to learn to ride and care for horses, as well as learn about the problems unfortunately faced by many horses and how to help them.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have known Collette and her farm since before they were a non profit. She introduced me to the love of my life (my horse, Thunder). I have always been amazed by her kindness, generosity, and efforts to support her students in doing what they love. The only thing stronger than her commitment to her students is her commitment to the care and kind treatment of her horses. She speaks up for those who do not have a voice and through her efforts has educated many (myself included) on the horrors of what some of these OTTBs go through when they are no longer "useful" to their trainers. I will forever be grateful to her for all the opportunities she gave me in my riding and especially the opportunities she is giving to these horses who need a Second Chance!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding so they can do even bigger and better things!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have been involved with humane education and rescue work for many years, and as a horsewoman and the owner of a Thoroughbred (last raced in 1992!) I have a passionate interest in the ethical treatment of these incredible horses. Collette and her team are well respected in the horse community for the great work that they do, so I was thrilled when they decided to take their private efforts to the public and form Second Chance Thoroughbreds as a non-profit.

I have had the opportunity to not only see the impressive work they do rehabilitating and retraining the horses they bring into the program, but to offer support for their efforts through shared business experiences, networking and yes, donor support. Unlike many programs who stockpile horses, Collette and her team are out there each day working with the horses, training, networking and improving their chances for a fantastic second career. By bringing the horses to large local shows and fairs they are not only expanding the talents of the horse, but showcasing the horse in the best possible way. Ask yourself where you would expect to see an organization like this? That's right! At horse shows where advanced competitors, and prospective owners will be!

This is a quality organization full of passionately dedicated horsepeople who have one common goal...successful second careers and wonderful homes for some very special horses. I know that when the time comes for me to consider my next lifetime horse, it will be a retired Thoroughbred race horse from Second Chance Thoroughbreds!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to secure grants for their efforts. Especially for gelding clinics!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Collette, Shannon, Skye, and the rest of the volunteers at Second Chance Thoroughbreds truly believe in their work. They really would like to save every OTTB (and other horses) if they had enough resources. They stay on top of the local horse rescue activity, network with others to try to help as many as they can. Knowledgeable horse people with BIG, BIG hearts. The Second Chance crew do amazing work, stand behind their adoptions and are a valueable asset to local horses in need!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers