Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SO many possibilities and awesome finds at Second Chance! Not only are there great things there, they do great things for our community! That is what it is all about.
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The nonprofit I work for, BARCS, recently had our first Canine, Feline, Drink Wine, fundraising event at Second Chance. It was a big success thanks to everyone @ Second Chance and all their hard work.Special shout out to Elizabeth McMonagle who went way beyond helping us. She is great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is exactly that, a second chance for ex offenders who are trying to secure a future, for housing artifacts and supplies that can be reused or repurposed and a place for everyone to contribute to their society and world. We have sought out Second Chance for everything from Driveway gates to drawer handles. We start there in our numerous searches for the usual and the unusual. The staff has been very helpful and more than competent. A great choice!
March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance has some great talent! The amazing things that they do to repurpose items is great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to keep doing what they are doing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance truly gives those with "obstacles to employment" a second chance at a career. Looking past what paper may say, they give individuals with dedication and detemrination a chance to make a better life for themselves and their families.

What is even better, not only do they
serve the individuals, giving them skills in the deconstruction field, they are saving building materials from ending up in the landfill by selling it to those of us looking to bring a bit of architectural history into our home.

Good work Second Chance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As avid do-it-yourselfers, we typically have some construction project going around our home. Second Chance is an incredible resource to anyone interested in saving money, adding a unique touch to building projects, and especially those of us committed to reusing valuable materials and keeping them out of the landfill. It's a good feeling to accomplish all of the above, but even better to know that the materials are part of a much more important mission - helping people put their lives back together by learning a trade and gaining self-respect. Plus, it's just downright fun! Sometimes I love just wandering around in their warehouse to see what cool stuff came in this week. And the guys on the floor are all super helpful and engaged in what they do. Their pride in their organization and in their ability to be of help shows through every time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is in the process of deconstructing a house in our neighborhood and I have been thoroughly impressed with their work. My daughter and I walk by the site on our way home from her preschool and we have both been fascinated to watch the process and the foreman has been very kind in explaining the process to us. It is incredibly heartening to know that the materials will be re-used. Houses in our neighborhood are being demolished to make room for bigger homes at an astonishing rate and I'm always nauseated by the waste as I see the materials carted off to the dump. This organization truly is a win-win-win for the people receiving job training, the community and the environment. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We realize our mission is too broad to accomplish all by ourselves. If you have training skills or expertise in the building or renovation industry, your talents, passions, and abilities can have a profound impact on local communities through Second Chance. You may not have thought about it, but even your PR, marketing, technology or photography background can create opportunities for more and better "second chances." Volunteer