Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We hired Second Chance to remove our kitchen. It is good to know the kitchen can be re-purposed while eliminating landfill waste. Most importantly, it is uplifting to know this organization provides employment opportunities to our community while saving reusable items. Thank you Second Chance!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I am renovating my home and wanted to do so in an environmentally friendly way. I stumbled upon Second Chance about a year ago. This is one of the best second hand stores that I have ever visited. Their warehouse is huge and their inventory changes daily. Their prices are incredibly competitive and with most items they will provide further reductions where they can. I live in Montgomery County but visit the store at least once a month in person and check out their website weekly to see the new items they have gotten it. For items that they have difficulty selling, they will a few times a year place those items in their parking lot for free. I strongly encourage you to visit this store, you won't be disappointed.
April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hello,

I came to Second Chance looking for 1960 props for my son's middle school play "Hairspray".
I've received an excellent customer service by Nate Butler, one of the sale person working on the floor.
Nate patiently took the time to help me find the material I needed; he was
very courteous and professional.
We finally found a piece I needed for the school - plus a little gift for a friend - all at a super price!

Awesome experience! Bravo Nate!

Sonia T.
nutella0865@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more places like this!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My custom home builder recommended Second Chance to do deconstruction before the demolition work. I am glad to have this opportunity to work with your company. The deconsturction work recycled useful materials in stead of dumping to the landfield. I am pleased to see the cherry wood floor got reused. It also provides on site job training. What a fantastic job your crew has carried out! I am very impressed with the professionalism your crew has displayed, the quality of work to maintain the site clean and in order. Also your management process has made the entire process easier to the home owner. Thanks!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I hired Second Chance to do a reclamation and demolition of a small cabin at our new property about an hour north of Baltimore in June of 2013. I had heard about them through a friend that used their services for a project in Bethany Beach, Delaware that was very satisfied.

The team was
focused and really took pride in their work, and I could not have been more pleased with the work that was done with all hand tools.

Would highly recommend this organization for anyone considering using their services and helping to develop and train future construction workers in all aspects of this line of work.

See article below written in the local Chester County paper:

http://www.chestercounty.com/2013/06/25/9058/deconstruction-project-program-visits-landenberg

Stan L

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were actually looking for "demolition"services when by pure luck we came across Second Chance. We used Second Chance to perform a complete deconstruction of our home. Watching a house taken apart piece by piece was amazing enough, but knowing many of the materials would be re purposed made us feel good about the decision. Every member of their staff we worked with was professional and it was easy to tell they were passionate about their work. My only regret is we don't have another house they can deconstruct!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We recently bought 800sq ft of reclaimed flooring for the renovation of our 1947 farm house . And could not be any happier with the product or the fine customer service . The buying ,loading ( sub zero day) was flawless. we will be back for other items and just wish you were closer we would be there every weekend !
October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

College Manor, an Assisted Living in an historic building in Lutherville, has been in the process of renovating and refurbishing the common spaces. We called upon Second Chance for two parts of this project. They took away two truckloads of heavy furniture that was occupying valuable storage spaces and too heavy for our men to move from room to room. They then supplied us with period appropriate and perfectly gorgeous furniture that had been previously donated to them. The staff at Second Chance were outstanding, listening to our needs, finding exactly what we needed, and then supplying the truck and the manpower to make this complete. It was an experience I would repeat in a minute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

Bought a Lazy Boy Swivel arm chair in 2008, for a very good price, the man that waited on me (helped me with questions) in the warehouse was great. Chair is real nice , but need another one soon. Will be back !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not have transportation, but I can walk there , if I buy something I have no way to get it home !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered 2nd Chance through a neighbor and donated an old farm house. The 2nd chance process and charity really is a win, win, win. In our case the old farm house was in need of significant repair and update. Our win was that the 2nd chance process made the most sense environmentally and financially and was the best option for us. Environmentally and financially working with 2nd chance most of the house was reclaimed. This kept many tons of material out of the local land fill. The win for 2nd chance as we see it was the opportunity to show case their deconstruction process, provide valuable training to labors, reclaim and resell salvaged material. Finally, the 2nd change labors win by receiving hands on training and the opportunity to be part of a team that is making a difference within the larger community both environmentally and financially. We were very satisfied with the level of effort to reclaim material and the care that was taken to minimize disturbance to home site. In addition, communication during to process was handled by the site foreman and project manager and was clear and concise. We are very satisfied with the process and results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Investigate recycling opportunities (ie metal, glass, etc...)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through a neighbor

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We realize our mission is too broad to accomplish all by ourselves. If you have training skills or expertise in the building or renovation industry, your talents, passions, and abilities can have a profound impact on local communities through Second Chance. You may not have thought about it, but even your PR, marketing, technology or photography background can create opportunities for more and better "second chances." Volunteer