Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We hired Second Chance to remove our kitchen. It is good to know the kitchen can be re-purposed while eliminating landfill waste. Most importantly, it is uplifting to know this organization provides employment opportunities to our community while saving reusable items. Thank you Second Chance!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were actually looking for "demolition"services when by pure luck we came across Second Chance. We used Second Chance to perform a complete deconstruction of our home. Watching a house taken apart piece by piece was amazing enough, but knowing many of the materials would be re purposed made us feel good about the decision. Every member of their staff we worked with was professional and it was easy to tell they were passionate about their work. My only regret is we don't have another house they can deconstruct!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We recently bought 800sq ft of reclaimed flooring for the renovation of our 1947 farm house . And could not be any happier with the product or the fine customer service . The buying ,loading ( sub zero day) was flawless. we will be back for other items and just wish you were closer we would be there every weekend !
October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

College Manor, an Assisted Living in an historic building in Lutherville, has been in the process of renovating and refurbishing the common spaces. We called upon Second Chance for two parts of this project. They took away two truckloads of heavy furniture that was occupying valuable storage spaces and too heavy for our men to move from room to room. They then supplied us with period appropriate and perfectly gorgeous furniture that had been previously donated to them. The staff at Second Chance were outstanding, listening to our needs, finding exactly what we needed, and then supplying the truck and the manpower to make this complete. It was an experience I would repeat in a minute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

Bought a Lazy Boy Swivel arm chair in 2008, for a very good price, the man that waited on me (helped me with questions) in the warehouse was great. Chair is real nice , but need another one soon. Will be back !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not have transportation, but I can walk there , if I buy something I have no way to get it home !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered 2nd Chance through a neighbor and donated an old farm house. The 2nd chance process and charity really is a win, win, win. In our case the old farm house was in need of significant repair and update. Our win was that the 2nd chance process made the most sense environmentally and financially and was the best option for us. Environmentally and financially working with 2nd chance most of the house was reclaimed. This kept many tons of material out of the local land fill. The win for 2nd chance as we see it was the opportunity to show case their deconstruction process, provide valuable training to labors, reclaim and resell salvaged material. Finally, the 2nd change labors win by receiving hands on training and the opportunity to be part of a team that is making a difference within the larger community both environmentally and financially. We were very satisfied with the level of effort to reclaim material and the care that was taken to minimize disturbance to home site. In addition, communication during to process was handled by the site foreman and project manager and was clear and concise. We are very satisfied with the process and results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Investigate recycling opportunities (ie metal, glass, etc...)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through a neighbor

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been with Second Chance Inc for almosta year now and it is a good place to be. I love the great sense of comradery there is amongst my co workers, it feels like a sense of family. We all work hard & play harder and enjoy, respect and value each other. The company itself is very goal oriented and they like to give back to the community. It is a great place to learn and what you learn, no one can ever take from you. Second Chance is the place just for that.. learning skills, learning values, learning belief in yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it a tad bit more organized as far as planning and communication. For the most part it is a wonderful organization. Only suggestions I can think of as far as change are for more equality amongst levels of treatment and certain mannerisms of executive staff when communicating with lower level staff. Secondly an improvement of working conditions is needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through a friend

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

As a person who likes to be well rounded, open to learning/ new experiences and down to earth, it has encouraged me to be even more mindful of others because we all come from different backgrounds and have different stories. It's a wonderful feeling being able to learn from; as well as teach, someone something.

January 24, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
9 people found this review helpful


Antonio Johnson



Poverty can lead to success


Poverty was a major issue for me. Growing up I could not afford the basic necessities
required to survive. As a result I did things that hindered me
from becoming successful. Due to
poverty I was not educated about safe sex. At the age of fourteen I conceived my first child. I
didn’t want her to experience my hardships, so I began to set forth some positive goals for
myself and set a positive example for my children. Second Chance gave me the opportunity to
expand my potential and excel to higher positions. This organization has helped me reach into
my inner self and grasp a part of me that I never knew existed. Because of high rates of
joblessness and incarcerations among black men success is very rare. I knew if I didn’t strive for
the best I would never see positive results. For the three years I’ve worked for second chance
I’ve been an inspiration to everyone I came in contact with. It makes me feel good to know I can
make people smile it lets me know I’m doing an outstanding job. I’ve learned how to
communicate on a professional level, be responsible, reliable and dedicated. I became a
supportive fiancé, a superior father of six and a well mannered and respectful gentleman. Second
Chance has been nothing but great to me and my family. I holly recommend anyone who I feel is
serious about their future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As someone who has always recycled - even before there were programs to allow for curbside pick-ups - I have such respect for the innovative programs of Second Chance. Their retraining programs may be in Deconstruction and Reuse, but they also teach us a valuable lesson about ‘retraining’ our lifestyles to use reclaimed materials instead of creating more trash for overburdened landfills. Here is an organization that gives us all access to quality materials at low cost AND keeps these treasures out of landfills!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I've been working at Second Chance for about two years now and my overall experience has been very unique and life changing. It feels good to be apart of an organization that is not only creating jobs for poeple in the community, but is also making the earth a better place to live by keeping garbage off the street and out of the landfills. Before I found Second Chance, I had been in a bit of a bind because I had dropped out of college and could not find a job to save my life. Second Chance gave me that second life by taking a chance and hiring a young teenager with no life of work experiences. Second Chance, along with my dedication and hardwork, trained and molded me into the man I am today. The part of my experience that is going to stick with me most is our life skills training class. This class had been the last part of our six week training. In this class, we had learned how to solve problems on and of the job, how to handle different situations, time and money management and other things we needed for life. The part of the class that had stuck out to me most, was the discussions. We got the chance to discuss personal and job related situations that we had been faced with. Everyone would add input on how to approach and handle each obstacle. This was an excellent way to relieve stress, as well as to keep from being stressed. I have really enjoyed my time at Second Chance and I am pretty sure I am not alone. Second Chance to me does not only give a second chance to material, but also to people and dreams.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We realize our mission is too broad to accomplish all by ourselves. If you have training skills or expertise in the building or renovation industry, your talents, passions, and abilities can have a profound impact on local communities through Second Chance. You may not have thought about it, but even your PR, marketing, technology or photography background can create opportunities for more and better "second chances." Volunteer