Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is exactly that, a second chance for ex offenders who are trying to secure a future, for housing artifacts and supplies that can be reused or repurposed and a place for everyone to contribute to their society and world. We have sought out Second Chance for everything from Driveway gates to drawer handles. We start there in our numerous searches for the usual and the unusual. The staff has been very helpful and more than competent. A great choice!
March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance has some great talent! The amazing things that they do to repurpose items is great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to keep doing what they are doing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

College Manor, an Assisted Living in an historic building in Lutherville, has been in the process of renovating and refurbishing the common spaces. We called upon Second Chance for two parts of this project. They took away two truckloads of heavy furniture that was occupying valuable storage spaces and too heavy for our men to move from room to room. They then supplied us with period appropriate and perfectly gorgeous furniture that had been previously donated to them. The staff at Second Chance were outstanding, listening to our needs, finding exactly what we needed, and then supplying the truck and the manpower to make this complete. It was an experience I would repeat in a minute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

Bought a Lazy Boy Swivel arm chair in 2008, for a very good price, the man that waited on me (helped me with questions) in the warehouse was great. Chair is real nice , but need another one soon. Will be back !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not have transportation, but I can walk there , if I buy something I have no way to get it home !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance truly gives those with "obstacles to employment" a second chance at a career. Looking past what paper may say, they give individuals with dedication and detemrination a chance to make a better life for themselves and their families.

What is even better, not only do they
serve the individuals, giving them skills in the deconstruction field, they are saving building materials from ending up in the landfill by selling it to those of us looking to bring a bit of architectural history into our home.

Good work Second Chance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As avid do-it-yourselfers, we typically have some construction project going around our home. Second Chance is an incredible resource to anyone interested in saving money, adding a unique touch to building projects, and especially those of us committed to reusing valuable materials and keeping them out of the landfill. It's a good feeling to accomplish all of the above, but even better to know that the materials are part of a much more important mission - helping people put their lives back together by learning a trade and gaining self-respect. Plus, it's just downright fun! Sometimes I love just wandering around in their warehouse to see what cool stuff came in this week. And the guys on the floor are all super helpful and engaged in what they do. Their pride in their organization and in their ability to be of help shows through every time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is in the process of deconstructing a house in our neighborhood and I have been thoroughly impressed with their work. My daughter and I walk by the site on our way home from her preschool and we have both been fascinated to watch the process and the foreman has been very kind in explaining the process to us. It is incredibly heartening to know that the materials will be re-used. Houses in our neighborhood are being demolished to make room for bigger homes at an astonishing rate and I'm always nauseated by the waste as I see the materials carted off to the dump. This organization truly is a win-win-win for the people receiving job training, the community and the environment. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

It is a great experience to be able to help guide the direction of rapidly growing organization that is committed to making a difference in the communities it serves and acts as a role model for other organizations across the country. Not only am I a member of the board, but also a donor and a customer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered 2nd Chance through a neighbor and donated an old farm house. The 2nd chance process and charity really is a win, win, win. In our case the old farm house was in need of significant repair and update. Our win was that the 2nd chance process made the most sense environmentally and financially and was the best option for us. Environmentally and financially working with 2nd chance most of the house was reclaimed. This kept many tons of material out of the local land fill. The win for 2nd chance as we see it was the opportunity to show case their deconstruction process, provide valuable training to labors, reclaim and resell salvaged material. Finally, the 2nd change labors win by receiving hands on training and the opportunity to be part of a team that is making a difference within the larger community both environmentally and financially. We were very satisfied with the level of effort to reclaim material and the care that was taken to minimize disturbance to home site. In addition, communication during to process was handled by the site foreman and project manager and was clear and concise. We are very satisfied with the process and results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Investigate recycling opportunities (ie metal, glass, etc...)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through a neighbor

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a homeowner in the DC metro area and used Second Chance to reclaim as much of my house as possible before demolition. My floors, appliances, cabinets, sinks, toilets, windows, framing, furnace, etc. were reclaimed. I minimized my environmental impact, helped provide jobs, and felt very good about the quality of work and cleanliness of the job site with Second Chance. I can say with confidence that using Second Chance was an overwhelmingly positive experience and I would suggest anyone who is doing home renovation to consider the benefits Second Chance provides to both the environment, the economy and the area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We realize our mission is too broad to accomplish all by ourselves. If you have training skills or expertise in the building or renovation industry, your talents, passions, and abilities can have a profound impact on local communities through Second Chance. You may not have thought about it, but even your PR, marketing, technology or photography background can create opportunities for more and better "second chances." Volunteer