Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was the pleasure of Baltimore Animal Rescue and Care Shelter (BARCS) to be the first nonprofit to hold our wine tasting in Second Chance's new and fabulous event space. The venue is as fantastic as their employees! They deliver top notch customer service and bent over backwards to help us with anything and everything we needed. We were thrilled to be able to bring 300 people to shop Second Chance while attending our event! Thank you Second Chance for hosting BARCS and allowing us to raise funds to give so many of our neglected and abused cats and dogs a second chance at finding a loving home!
JoAnn Goldberger
Director of Development
BARCS
March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As an interior designer and a big fan of Second Chance, I encourage all my clients to donate everything they can from their renovation projects to Second Chance. Not only do my clients get a tax write-off, they get a savings on their contractor's fees when the professional staff from SC comes to the site and picks up everything being donated for free. This is a win-win situation for everyone. My clients are always so excited to learn about Second Chance they actually go around their homes and look for everything they can possibly donate to help support the cause of Second Chance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As far as non-profit social enterprises go, Second Chance Inc. gets it. Their mission from the start has been to create jobs -- and they have succeeded in creating jobs that cannot be exported! They employ people with barriers to employment - be it prior incarceration or a low educational level -- and given them a second chance. It provides a second chance to great building materials and items that would otherwise be demolished, diverting tons of waste from the landfills -- even rescuing significant architectural elements at times! I may be biased because I do provide consulting and advice to the company, but from the outside looking in, the company's growth in 10 years has been phenomenal, from an idea to now employing over 100 people -- outstanding from any measure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A lady told my husband about Second Chance while he was in Lowes, and when he got home, we looked it up and took a ride over. What a fantastic experience!! Everywhere we looked, possibilities !! Old things, reclaimed wood, desks, chairs, marble, furniture !! We wished we had more money; we wanted everything!!! Love this place; we come every month or so, and it's always changing and improving. The staff is so accommodating, so professional, so helpful and polite!! The cashiers are very happy and polite, and the whole experience is just so satisfying !! We highly recommend Second Chance !! You feel good knowing you are helping them help others and recycling too !! A+++++++ !!!
March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is exactly that, a second chance for ex offenders who are trying to secure a future, for housing artifacts and supplies that can be reused or repurposed and a place for everyone to contribute to their society and world. We have sought out Second Chance for everything from Driveway gates to drawer handles. We start there in our numerous searches for the usual and the unusual. The staff has been very helpful and more than competent. A great choice!
March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance has some great talent! The amazing things that they do to repurpose items is great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to keep doing what they are doing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

College Manor, an Assisted Living in an historic building in Lutherville, has been in the process of renovating and refurbishing the common spaces. We called upon Second Chance for two parts of this project. They took away two truckloads of heavy furniture that was occupying valuable storage spaces and too heavy for our men to move from room to room. They then supplied us with period appropriate and perfectly gorgeous furniture that had been previously donated to them. The staff at Second Chance were outstanding, listening to our needs, finding exactly what we needed, and then supplying the truck and the manpower to make this complete. It was an experience I would repeat in a minute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

Bought a Lazy Boy Swivel arm chair in 2008, for a very good price, the man that waited on me (helped me with questions) in the warehouse was great. Chair is real nice , but need another one soon. Will be back !!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not have transportation, but I can walk there , if I buy something I have no way to get it home !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance truly gives those with "obstacles to employment" a second chance at a career. Looking past what paper may say, they give individuals with dedication and detemrination a chance to make a better life for themselves and their families.

What is even better, not only do they
serve the individuals, giving them skills in the deconstruction field, they are saving building materials from ending up in the landfill by selling it to those of us looking to bring a bit of architectural history into our home.

Good work Second Chance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As avid do-it-yourselfers, we typically have some construction project going around our home. Second Chance is an incredible resource to anyone interested in saving money, adding a unique touch to building projects, and especially those of us committed to reusing valuable materials and keeping them out of the landfill. It's a good feeling to accomplish all of the above, but even better to know that the materials are part of a much more important mission - helping people put their lives back together by learning a trade and gaining self-respect. Plus, it's just downright fun! Sometimes I love just wandering around in their warehouse to see what cool stuff came in this week. And the guys on the floor are all super helpful and engaged in what they do. Their pride in their organization and in their ability to be of help shows through every time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We realize our mission is too broad to accomplish all by ourselves. If you have training skills or expertise in the building or renovation industry, your talents, passions, and abilities can have a profound impact on local communities through Second Chance. You may not have thought about it, but even your PR, marketing, technology or photography background can create opportunities for more and better "second chances." Volunteer