Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We hired Second Chance to remove our kitchen. It is good to know the kitchen can be re-purposed while eliminating landfill waste. Most importantly, it is uplifting to know this organization provides employment opportunities to our community while saving reusable items. Thank you Second Chance!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is an incredible organization filled with some of the most friendly, hard-working people I've met. By offering a second chance to people struggling with other employment options, Second Chance offered jobs to those in the community who would otherwise be turned away. This is something inspiring; I think every company should take steps to follow their lead. I learned so much from volunteering at Second Chance and have such a large amount of respect and excitement toward the whole organization. They are doing great things for the community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were actually looking for "demolition"services when by pure luck we came across Second Chance. We used Second Chance to perform a complete deconstruction of our home. Watching a house taken apart piece by piece was amazing enough, but knowing many of the materials would be re purposed made us feel good about the decision. Every member of their staff we worked with was professional and it was easy to tell they were passionate about their work. My only regret is we don't have another house they can deconstruct!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SO many possibilities and awesome finds at Second Chance! Not only are there great things there, they do great things for our community! That is what it is all about.
April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We recently bought 800sq ft of reclaimed flooring for the renovation of our 1947 farm house . And could not be any happier with the product or the fine customer service . The buying ,loading ( sub zero day) was flawless. we will be back for other items and just wish you were closer we would be there every weekend !
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The nonprofit I work for, BARCS, recently had our first Canine, Feline, Drink Wine, fundraising event at Second Chance. It was a big success thanks to everyone @ Second Chance and all their hard work.Special shout out to Elizabeth McMonagle who went way beyond helping us. She is great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was the pleasure of Baltimore Animal Rescue and Care Shelter (BARCS) to be the first nonprofit to hold our wine tasting in Second Chance's new and fabulous event space. The venue is as fantastic as their employees! They deliver top notch customer service and bent over backwards to help us with anything and everything we needed. We were thrilled to be able to bring 300 people to shop Second Chance while attending our event! Thank you Second Chance for hosting BARCS and allowing us to raise funds to give so many of our neglected and abused cats and dogs a second chance at finding a loving home!
JoAnn Goldberger
Director of Development
BARCS
March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As an interior designer and a big fan of Second Chance, I encourage all my clients to donate everything they can from their renovation projects to Second Chance. Not only do my clients get a tax write-off, they get a savings on their contractor's fees when the professional staff from SC comes to the site and picks up everything being donated for free. This is a win-win situation for everyone. My clients are always so excited to learn about Second Chance they actually go around their homes and look for everything they can possibly donate to help support the cause of Second Chance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As far as non-profit social enterprises go, Second Chance Inc. gets it. Their mission from the start has been to create jobs -- and they have succeeded in creating jobs that cannot be exported! They employ people with barriers to employment - be it prior incarceration or a low educational level -- and given them a second chance. It provides a second chance to great building materials and items that would otherwise be demolished, diverting tons of waste from the landfills -- even rescuing significant architectural elements at times! I may be biased because I do provide consulting and advice to the company, but from the outside looking in, the company's growth in 10 years has been phenomenal, from an idea to now employing over 100 people -- outstanding from any measure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A lady told my husband about Second Chance while he was in Lowes, and when he got home, we looked it up and took a ride over. What a fantastic experience!! Everywhere we looked, possibilities !! Old things, reclaimed wood, desks, chairs, marble, furniture !! We wished we had more money; we wanted everything!!! Love this place; we come every month or so, and it's always changing and improving. The staff is so accommodating, so professional, so helpful and polite!! The cashiers are very happy and polite, and the whole experience is just so satisfying !! We highly recommend Second Chance !! You feel good knowing you are helping them help others and recycling too !! A+++++++ !!!
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We realize our mission is too broad to accomplish all by ourselves. If you have training skills or expertise in the building or renovation industry, your talents, passions, and abilities can have a profound impact on local communities through Second Chance. You may not have thought about it, but even your PR, marketing, technology or photography background can create opportunities for more and better "second chances." Volunteer