Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
Write A Review
February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

While any time a non-profit animal group can save animals it is good, every time I have visited this center, I have a sinking feeling that something is not on the up and up. They rarely take adult dogs or dogs that are not super cute minatures. Every time I have visited this center, they are less than 1/2 full. The guy who runs it makes excuses about this fact. In my opinion they should spend a bit of their funding on helping cases where animals are older, may need behavioral work for being shy, or senior dogs. There is something that I just don't trust about the people who run this center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Accept older dogs, elderly dogs, and dogs who are not perfect.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

Second Chance is amazing! This place personifies why animals enrich humans lives! One of the only shelters I know of that allows a dog to stay there for his/her entire life, if they can't find a suitable home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to do more amazing work in our community

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I love this place. They take in the most vulnerable animals and find them a home- what a great way to make the world a better place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure they had more funding

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Having worked in the animal welfare field for over thirty years, I can say that I have never worked for, worked with or known of an organization like Second Chance Center for Animals. Their work of only and exclusively rescuing from other rescues, makes them unique in this field. I am proud to be a part of such a unique organization doing such important, life saving work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change it but I do hope they become a model in the field.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We got our puppy from here 2 months ago. They have a pretty extensive adoption process, including a meet and greet with the dog we already had. They got along beautifully. It has been such a great experience and we feel so lucky to have adopted from Second Chance. The animals are treated with such care and respect. The dogs are so much happier here than any other shelter I've ever been to.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Second Chance does so many positive things for our community. I work with the Community Blood Drive Program and they have partnered with us on blood drives to help raise awreness of the need for blood. They also have educational spay and neuter programs and their vet facility has spayed some of my pets as well as pets of countless friends and neighbors who also count on their low cost vaccination clinics. They have many events giving their animals up for adoption an additional chance to find a new home. I do not know what we did prior to Second Chance for Animals. I am happy to support them and that they are a part og the Flagstaff Community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

We decided to adopt a puppy from Second Chance after losing our beloved
Lizzie ,she was a yellow Labrador and she gave us 14yrs of unconditional love ,we still miss her.
We found Zoe at Second chance and she captured our hearts the first time we saw her she is the cutest best dog very
lovable. Thank you Second Chance !
I would recommend Second Chance to anyone looking for that special pet , the staff are caring and dedicated to finding homes for these animals

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Second Chance is the hardest working charity, trying to find homes for deserving animals. They are all dedicated animal lovers struggling to help animals. They have a convenient way to donate on their website when you make any purchase thru Pets Mart online.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I know the people at Second Chance and am impressed by the love they show for animals and the professional way they reach out to help. They are terrific partners in the community and work with other groups that help animals with a generosity that I have not always seen. I don't have a lot of money, but have helped run events for them and my husband and I give what we can. When our cat died at the age of 17, my husband brought cat food, toys and treats to Second Chance to help other animals and then came home to me describing how he broke down and cried as he gave our beloved cat's treasures to help another animal. The understanding and help at Second Chance extends to humans as well. If there were 6 stars, I would give them that rating.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding to expand some of their programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My fiance and I decided to adopt our first animal together this year and we had only heard amazing things from friends about Second Chance so we knew that is where we wanted to go. We fell in love with the most adorable little pup and had to have him! We went back to the Vet at Second Chance to get all of his puppy shots as well. 9 months later and I am still convinced that we made the best choice EVER and have the BEST dog in all the land. He is the smartest pup and was a absolute perfect match for us!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure all the puppies that come in are tested for worms!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers