Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My domestic partner and I had been searching for a new best friend to join our household for about 3-4 weeks with regular weekend trips from Boston out to Second Chance as well as many other shelters in between. During this time we learned that although pet adoption is a much more P.C. path to take in getting a pet then a breeder a lot of the adoption agencies held some serious reservations about young couples (mid-20s) and seemed to treat both of us as though we were making poor life decisions. This, however, was NOT the case at Second Chance. We loved the atmosphere and the adoption fees are INCREDIBLY low. These reasons alone made the ~45 minute drive worth it each weekend to find the right dog for us. After our long search we found 'Betty,' now known as Fenway, the (what was stated as) "Short-haired chihuahua mix." (The jury is still out on her being 'short-haired' and WHAT the mix is because she looks like a golden retriever puppy). Without getting any further long winded I just want to say that I wouldn't change ANY of the choices we made, Second Chance and the staff we had the pleasure to meet and deal with were great, location was as clean and pleasant as you can expect for a building with 20+ animals living there, and the fees, oh the fees are SO0o0o0o minimal!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

our family was looking for a small dog to join our family and picked out a dog from second chance...although the dog was a wonderful dog we were lied to and had no other option but to bring her back. we were told she was fully house trained and after having her for over 2 weeks she peed and pooped everywhere but outside.... this posed as a problem seeing i have two your children and having a dog pooping and peeing everywhere is unsanitary. we even tried crate training and she would poop and pee in her crate. so we brought her back and they refused to give us back our money because we singed a contract..........so.... WARNING THESE PEOPLE ONLY CARE ABOUT MONEY NOT THE ANIMALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Client, Donor & Volunteer. In February 2003 we adopted our first dog from Second Chance, the little shelter in the woods. We were so impressed by the staff & volunteers that in November 2003 we adopted our second dog. Over the years we have seen how other shelters operate and Second Chance was the only shelter doing it right. They cared about the dogs & cats, they made sure they got the medical attention needed and checked every application to be sure both the adopters and the new family member were perfect for each other. We have donated, sponsored, volunteered, adopted and will keep doing so because we believe in the mission of Second Chance. We just adopted our fifth dog and just as before our family is overjoyed. Thank you from Lady, Brownie, Baby, Miss Molly & Ebby for giving them a second chance at life.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I love Second Chance Animal Shelter. They do a thorough check to make sure that the animals are going to good homes, but they don't make the process overwhelming (like other shelters I was considering). After my adoption application was approved, I went down to pick out a dog. They talked to me and helped me pick out the perfect match. You can see that they genuinely care about these animals, and it has little to do with money. They charge, what to me, seemed like too little for a dog. I was looking at other shelters that wanted $400 plus for dogs (that to me means they work more for profit than the animals best interest). When I got there to get a dog there were many people there waiting to look too. What caught my attention was that as we were looking one of the workers said that they would be going to the Springfield Shelter to get dogs that were due to be put down due to over crowding. I was impressed and I know you will be too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Three years ago my husband and I adopted a 12 week old Australian Shepherd/Collie mix named Matty. When we went to the shelter we were so impressed with how clean it was and how caring the staff was with all the animals. I'll never forget the day Joe called and said that they would be honored for us to have Matty and how when we picked him up, the volunteer had tears in her eyes as she watched Matty romp away with us. This shelter really does care and takes extra effort to make sure the animals are matched with the right families. Matty turns 3 on Feb 2nd and I'll be sending his birthday pic in to the Happy Endings because I know how much they really do care. Thanks to Second Chance, not only for Matty, his sister Missy and mother Maggie who all found great homes. But also for all the other wonderful animals they cared enough about to find them Forever Homes!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Second Chance Animal Shelter was a life-saver for my two Maltese dogs who needed to be spayed.
Living in Connecticut, the cost to do the two dogs was in the thousands and we just couldn’t afford the fees. Plus the CT Vets wanted us to leave the dog’s over-night and they would be unattended.
Second Chance Wellness Center in East Brookfield was able to do both dog’s for an affordable price, and my wife and myself were able to bring both dogs up in the morning and return back to Ct with them in the afternoon. Not only did the dogs not have to stay, but they receive the most advance method of spaying available, receiving less than an inch cut. Both dogs had no post-op problems and are doing great. Thanks to Second Chance Animal Shelter my dogs were able to get the care they needed and we were able to afford it. Great Shelter and Wellness Center worth the ride from anywhere, don’t miss out on this amazing place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is the best shelter around. They truly do it for the sake of the animals. Some shelters are all about money and the people who work there don't really care about animals. I have read so many horror stories about shelter workers abusing the dogs, not taking care of them etc. but not Second Chance. I got my 6yr old pug there and he is the best thing that has ever happened to me. He came fully vetted up to date on ALL shots even a doggy flu shot and he was neutered and had dental work done all for a decent price. If you are thinking of adopting GO TO SECOND CHANCE and no where else. If you are thinking about volunteering GO TO SECOND CHANCE, if you want to donate money or goods give it to SECOND CHANCE. They truly deserve it and work hard to take care of their animals and they really do care about their well being.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is the best shelter! I have adopted both a yellow lab/golden retriever/shepherd mix dog rescued from Kentucky and a kitten from them. They are a joy and our family would not be complete without them. Second Chance has given so much back to the area communities with their spay/neuter programs and clinics, and their goal is to educate and prevent abandoned and unwanted cat and dog populations. I am proud to be part of the Second Chance family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In December 2010 there was a news story about a pit bull puppy who was thrown from a moving car. His name is Blake. He now lives with myself, my husband, my two sons and our cat, Winston. The day he was thrown from the car was probably the luckiest day of his life. He met Joe, who (owns?) Second Chance. Joe brought him to the shelter. Blake was so terrified he couldn't even walk, he just crawled on his belly and he shook with fear. By the time my husband and I went to meet him just over a week later he was the happiest dog I had ever seen. This was thanks to the staff at the shelter. We went through the adoption process and our application was reviewed carefully and all our references were checked. When we went ot pick him up everything was prepared. We got a packet of all his records and Joe spent the time to review everything with us and even offered training tips. They were nothing short of professional. We started a FB page for Blake to educate against dog fighting, BSL and pit bull discrimination. (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Blake-Bait-Dog-to-Part-of-the-Family/343235945687492) A lot of the staff is following him and his story. Their dedication and devotion doesn't end when the animal leaves the shelter. The shelter itself is clean and safe. They have meet and great areas and a fenced in area for the dogs to play outside. The best part about the shelter is they are a no-kill! I would never adopt from a place that euthanizes their animals. Finally, to comment on Donna's review, she said they barely had any animals to choose from when she went. This is a shelter, not a pet store. If there are not many animals that is good, that means they have adopted out a lot and now have room to help more needy cats and dogs. My husband and I will be full supporters of Second Chance for many years to come. Highly recommend!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

Second Chance is an awesome place both to volunteer at and adopt from! Our family feels very comfortable going there. And with the low cost spay/neuter program it is even better. They did almost 4,000 snay/neuters in 2011. Holy Cow!! Awesome!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

care and feed the animals, help with clerical tasks, help at events, etc. Volunteer