Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

The Top 10 reasons to adopt from Second Chance Animal Shelter. 1. NO KILL SHELTER. Irregardless of how long it takes, once rescued by Second Chance the animal stays until adopted. 2. No kill extends until past adoption..if you have to give up an animal adopted from Second Chance it is taken back by the shelter and kept till adopted again.3. If a rescued cat or dog is determined to be in need of more than routine Vet care for an illness or injury, the care is given. 4. The kennels and cat enclosures are cleaned ( litter boxes scooped) and animals are fed at least twice daily. 5. Volunteers and staff play with the animals and record behaviors to be passed on to potential adopters. All potential issues are presented to adopters. 6. All adopted animals are spayed or neutered, up to date on vaccines appropriate for age, micro-chipped, cleared by a licensed Vet and clean. Animals in need of dental work are held until the dental work is completed and then released to their adopters. Have you priced dental work at your Vet? 7. Potential adopters must complete an application which is reviewed by calls to their Vet to ensure their current animals are spayed and neutered and checking of references prior to approval. No walk in adoptions. 8. The donation to adopt an animal is appropriate to the age and amount of care needed to prepare the animal for adoption and the fact that it is considered a donation is clearly spelled out in the adoption contract and verbally by whomever goes over the contract verbally with the adopter. 8. Their is immediate access to Veterinary care through the Wellness Center in North Brookfield and through active relationships with local Veterinary Clinics. 10. THE CATS and DOGS ARE CUTE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for Second Chance about 15 months ago. While it is not the first animal organization I've volunteered with, it is certainly the most rewarding experience I've ever had. The staff are knowledgable and personable. They never ever fail to express appreciation to the volunteers. Yes, they have some strict adoption policies, such as no same-day adoptions, you must have your adoption application preapproved, but the policies are there for the protection of the animals. And it's all about what's best for the animals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

10 years ago I adopted a dog from Second Chance Animal Shelter as the result of a fateful encounter with a volunteer foster family. The dog had come to the shelter as a stray, in poor health, underweight, and had scars on her body indicating an encounter with a moving vehicle. By the time this dog came into my life she was in full health and happy as could be. I was very impressed with the network of people who came together to bring this stray dog to health and provide her a promising future: from the person who found her and thought her worth saving, to the veterinary team that nursed her to health, to the volunteers and the foster family who cared for her and taught her how to trust again.

A few years later, my husband and I were looking to add a cat to our family and we immediately thought of Second Chance Animal Shelter. We visited the physical shelter for the first time and were immediately impressed by the cleanliness of the facility. We adopted not one, but two cats that day. In the nine years since, I have heard much about the shelter. The Second Chance Animal Shelter is so much more than what goes on inside its walls. The SCAS family is wholeheartedly dedicated to the animals in every way, from ensuring the health and well being of the animals, to screening potential adopters and finding the best possible match, to educating the community about pet wellness and the services available. I needed to be a part of this, a part of something good, something bigger than myself. So I signed up to volunteer. Being a part of the mission and knowing I am making a difference has been so rewarding. Not only am I contributing to improve the lives of the animals, but also to help those seeking to add a new pet to their family and those struggling with giving up a pet so that it may be better cared for. Most rewarding of all is the look in the eyes of a dog or cat that just knows something special is going on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Second chance is an awesome no kill shelter. Got my dog Lady there. I also volunteer there. They make you feel good you came to help. The dogs and cats are in a clean and happy place.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Second chance is an awsome no kill shelter. Got my first foster dog and so happy that they are giving me a chance to do this. They are the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance Animal Shelter is an amazing place. The passion of each of it's volunteers for every animal is overwhelming. They are a shelter that accepts dogs that most other rescues would either not take, or would euthanize. The most recent in my memory is Mr. Higgens, who was abandoned in a torrential rain storm, weighed 52 lbs, had lost most of fur to flee infestation and was filled with parasites. He went to his new home months later as a 98 lb, healthy, loving companion. And there was Blake the puppy pittie, who was abused and subjected to dog fighting, covered with scars and wounds. He was nursed to health and now lives in a loving home. There was Baron the 3 legged dog, and Rick the cat who had to have a leg amputated... and the list goes on and on. It is sad to read comments by disgruntled self-centered humans who think it is all about them. No dog is ever without love and care at Second Chance. For those angry soles, I suggest you go to Walmart and get yourself a stuffed animal. There is no more compassionate people in any shelter on the planet than at Second Chance. I would love to have these malcontents spend a few days volunteering at the shelter to see first hand what they do. It is insulting to each of the dedicated volunteers to post such inane comments.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my daily life. The staff is amazing and the work done by the Executive Director is inspiring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the organization become more nationally oriented since what they do, their strategies to end overpopulation and animal suffering are exceptional and would serve other parts of the country well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I did suggest back a few months ago that a weekly communication come from the Executive Director to all volunteers. That has been put in place and a weekly update is sent via constant contacts.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes it did. I began volunteering about 6 yrs ago, and after two years of being there I decided to become a certified trainer of companion dogs.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fullfilled!! Helping to do what is done for the animals is the only reward needed. We are part of solution of ending animal abuse and suffering.

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I just LOVE Second Chance Animal Shelter! I started volunteering in July 2011 after my Beloved BRANDY (German Shepherd) passed away Feb. 2011, to help fill my void. I love that they are a NO KILL shelter. They are always there to help and the animals are in good hands! They are great people! I enjoy going there to help the most innocent loveable creatures. They make me soo happy. :)

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to say that I am a part of the Second Chance family. This is the little shelter that is doing big things. They are in a small town in Central Massachusetts but they are helping animals nationwide. They are an emergency shelter for the ASPCA so they do get dogs from other states in special circumstances. I lost my amazing black lab, Noir, 5 1/2 years ago and my incredible black shepherd, Dubha, 1 1/2 years ago. I never want to go through losing a dog again but I missed having a dog in the house. My solution was to foster dogs for SCAS. I have had several dogs from all circumstances. I had a Pit Bull that was used as a bait dog for dog fighting, a Lab that came from a puppy mill with a broken jaw that had never been set, a Chow that had been in another town's animal control kennel for six months and dogs that were just surrendered by their owners. A lot of these dogs would have been euthanized at most shelters, but not at Second Chance. They are a no kill shelter and take the hard to place cases. They know the best way to stop animal homelessness is to stop the overpopulation, so they opened a Wellness Center that offers low cost spay and neutering. They also offer classes on training and caring for your pet. A well trained dog is much less likely to end up in a shelter. They take in animals that need extensive care and take the time to get them well and find their forever home. The staff and volunteers go above and beyond what is expected because they truly love the animals that come through their doors. They have enriched my life by letting me care for some of their "fur-babies" until their forever homes are found. The saying I hear over and over is "One by one until there are none". They will help animals one by one until there are none that need them. I hope that day comes, but until then I am glad to be able to foster for Second Chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The most important thing to understand about Second Chance is that is a no kill shelter. When I researched a charity to volunteer at I looked for an established shelter whose mission was to actually save animals not just advertise that they do and allow the "unadoptable" to be (as they say on TV) humanely euthanized. The vast majority of the people who turn to Second Chance are understanding of a process that checks references and with potential adopter's Vets to ensure that their already owned pets are up to date on rabies vaccine and spayed or neutered. This is a process to maximize the plan that the animals are going to a forever home that already values and appropriately cares for their animals. There are however a few people who become irritated with process and strike out at things they do not understand. Animals come in sometimes in the most deplorable conditions that cannot be cleared overnight. It took one dog months to put on the 50 pounds he had lost along with his body hair due to severe neglect. Not only was this dog, who had been dumped at the shelter given vet care, food and grooming, he was given love and held on to until he was ready to be adopted. This process was very expensive but Second Chance never wavered in their mission to get him to the home he now has. I get to see the level of caring by the staff and volunteers. At times they have to deal with people who show up and demand to be able to take a cat or dog right then. They are unwilling to wait for the spay/neuter, vaccines,vet checks and grooming if necessary that the shelter insists be done before an animal can be adopted. I have heard staff called uncaring and rude when it was the complainer who was being rude in their demand to not be held to the standards needed to approve an adopttion. Second Chance is a place where the mission is carried out as it is stated. No Kill, adopt, vaccinate, spay/neuter and love animals. One look at the happy endings page should be testimony that the misson is realized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

care and feed the animals, help with clerical tasks, help at events, etc. Volunteer