Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Second chance is an awesome no kill shelter. Got my dog Lady there. I also volunteer there. They make you feel good you came to help. The dogs and cats are in a clean and happy place.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Second chance is an awsome no kill shelter. Got my first foster dog and so happy that they are giving me a chance to do this. They are the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance Animal Shelter is an amazing place. The passion of each of it's volunteers for every animal is overwhelming. They are a shelter that accepts dogs that most other rescues would either not take, or would euthanize. The most recent in my memory is Mr. Higgens, who was abandoned in a torrential rain storm, weighed 52 lbs, had lost most of fur to flee infestation and was filled with parasites. He went to his new home months later as a 98 lb, healthy, loving companion. And there was Blake the puppy pittie, who was abused and subjected to dog fighting, covered with scars and wounds. He was nursed to health and now lives in a loving home. There was Baron the 3 legged dog, and Rick the cat who had to have a leg amputated... and the list goes on and on. It is sad to read comments by disgruntled self-centered humans who think it is all about them. No dog is ever without love and care at Second Chance. For those angry soles, I suggest you go to Walmart and get yourself a stuffed animal. There is no more compassionate people in any shelter on the planet than at Second Chance. I would love to have these malcontents spend a few days volunteering at the shelter to see first hand what they do. It is insulting to each of the dedicated volunteers to post such inane comments.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my daily life. The staff is amazing and the work done by the Executive Director is inspiring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the organization become more nationally oriented since what they do, their strategies to end overpopulation and animal suffering are exceptional and would serve other parts of the country well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I did suggest back a few months ago that a weekly communication come from the Executive Director to all volunteers. That has been put in place and a weekly update is sent via constant contacts.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes it did. I began volunteering about 6 yrs ago, and after two years of being there I decided to become a certified trainer of companion dogs.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fullfilled!! Helping to do what is done for the animals is the only reward needed. We are part of solution of ending animal abuse and suffering.

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is the best shelter around. They truly do it for the sake of the animals. Some shelters are all about money and the people who work there don't really care about animals. I have read so many horror stories about shelter workers abusing the dogs, not taking care of them etc. but not Second Chance. I got my 6yr old pug there and he is the best thing that has ever happened to me. He came fully vetted up to date on ALL shots even a doggy flu shot and he was neutered and had dental work done all for a decent price. If you are thinking of adopting GO TO SECOND CHANCE and no where else. If you are thinking about volunteering GO TO SECOND CHANCE, if you want to donate money or goods give it to SECOND CHANCE. They truly deserve it and work hard to take care of their animals and they really do care about their well being.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I just LOVE Second Chance Animal Shelter! I started volunteering in July 2011 after my Beloved BRANDY (German Shepherd) passed away Feb. 2011, to help fill my void. I love that they are a NO KILL shelter. They are always there to help and the animals are in good hands! They are great people! I enjoy going there to help the most innocent loveable creatures. They make me soo happy. :)

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Second Chance is the best shelter! I have adopted both a yellow lab/golden retriever/shepherd mix dog rescued from Kentucky and a kitten from them. They are a joy and our family would not be complete without them. Second Chance has given so much back to the area communities with their spay/neuter programs and clinics, and their goal is to educate and prevent abandoned and unwanted cat and dog populations. I am proud to be part of the Second Chance family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to say that I am a part of the Second Chance family. This is the little shelter that is doing big things. They are in a small town in Central Massachusetts but they are helping animals nationwide. They are an emergency shelter for the ASPCA so they do get dogs from other states in special circumstances. I lost my amazing black lab, Noir, 5 1/2 years ago and my incredible black shepherd, Dubha, 1 1/2 years ago. I never want to go through losing a dog again but I missed having a dog in the house. My solution was to foster dogs for SCAS. I have had several dogs from all circumstances. I had a Pit Bull that was used as a bait dog for dog fighting, a Lab that came from a puppy mill with a broken jaw that had never been set, a Chow that had been in another town's animal control kennel for six months and dogs that were just surrendered by their owners. A lot of these dogs would have been euthanized at most shelters, but not at Second Chance. They are a no kill shelter and take the hard to place cases. They know the best way to stop animal homelessness is to stop the overpopulation, so they opened a Wellness Center that offers low cost spay and neutering. They also offer classes on training and caring for your pet. A well trained dog is much less likely to end up in a shelter. They take in animals that need extensive care and take the time to get them well and find their forever home. The staff and volunteers go above and beyond what is expected because they truly love the animals that come through their doors. They have enriched my life by letting me care for some of their "fur-babies" until their forever homes are found. The saying I hear over and over is "One by one until there are none". They will help animals one by one until there are none that need them. I hope that day comes, but until then I am glad to be able to foster for Second Chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In December 2010 there was a news story about a pit bull puppy who was thrown from a moving car. His name is Blake. He now lives with myself, my husband, my two sons and our cat, Winston. The day he was thrown from the car was probably the luckiest day of his life. He met Joe, who (owns?) Second Chance. Joe brought him to the shelter. Blake was so terrified he couldn't even walk, he just crawled on his belly and he shook with fear. By the time my husband and I went to meet him just over a week later he was the happiest dog I had ever seen. This was thanks to the staff at the shelter. We went through the adoption process and our application was reviewed carefully and all our references were checked. When we went ot pick him up everything was prepared. We got a packet of all his records and Joe spent the time to review everything with us and even offered training tips. They were nothing short of professional. We started a FB page for Blake to educate against dog fighting, BSL and pit bull discrimination. (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Blake-Bait-Dog-to-Part-of-the-Family/343235945687492) A lot of the staff is following him and his story. Their dedication and devotion doesn't end when the animal leaves the shelter. The shelter itself is clean and safe. They have meet and great areas and a fenced in area for the dogs to play outside. The best part about the shelter is they are a no-kill! I would never adopt from a place that euthanizes their animals. Finally, to comment on Donna's review, she said they barely had any animals to choose from when she went. This is a shelter, not a pet store. If there are not many animals that is good, that means they have adopted out a lot and now have room to help more needy cats and dogs. My husband and I will be full supporters of Second Chance for many years to come. Highly recommend!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

Second Chance is an awesome place both to volunteer at and adopt from! Our family feels very comfortable going there. And with the low cost spay/neuter program it is even better. They did almost 4,000 snay/neuters in 2011. Holy Cow!! Awesome!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The most important thing to understand about Second Chance is that is a no kill shelter. When I researched a charity to volunteer at I looked for an established shelter whose mission was to actually save animals not just advertise that they do and allow the "unadoptable" to be (as they say on TV) humanely euthanized. The vast majority of the people who turn to Second Chance are understanding of a process that checks references and with potential adopter's Vets to ensure that their already owned pets are up to date on rabies vaccine and spayed or neutered. This is a process to maximize the plan that the animals are going to a forever home that already values and appropriately cares for their animals. There are however a few people who become irritated with process and strike out at things they do not understand. Animals come in sometimes in the most deplorable conditions that cannot be cleared overnight. It took one dog months to put on the 50 pounds he had lost along with his body hair due to severe neglect. Not only was this dog, who had been dumped at the shelter given vet care, food and grooming, he was given love and held on to until he was ready to be adopted. This process was very expensive but Second Chance never wavered in their mission to get him to the home he now has. I get to see the level of caring by the staff and volunteers. At times they have to deal with people who show up and demand to be able to take a cat or dog right then. They are unwilling to wait for the spay/neuter, vaccines,vet checks and grooming if necessary that the shelter insists be done before an animal can be adopted. I have heard staff called uncaring and rude when it was the complainer who was being rude in their demand to not be held to the standards needed to approve an adopttion. Second Chance is a place where the mission is carried out as it is stated. No Kill, adopt, vaccinate, spay/neuter and love animals. One look at the happy endings page should be testimony that the misson is realized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

care and feed the animals, help with clerical tasks, help at events, etc. Volunteer