Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
Write A Review
July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

The Top 10 reasons to adopt from Second Chance Animal Shelter. 1. NO KILL SHELTER. Irregardless of how long it takes, once rescued by Second Chance the animal stays until adopted. 2. No kill extends until past adoption..if you have to give up an animal adopted from Second Chance it is taken back by the shelter and kept till adopted again.3. If a rescued cat or dog is determined to be in need of more than routine Vet care for an illness or injury, the care is given. 4. The kennels and cat enclosures are cleaned ( litter boxes scooped) and animals are fed at least twice daily. 5. Volunteers and staff play with the animals and record behaviors to be passed on to potential adopters. All potential issues are presented to adopters. 6. All adopted animals are spayed or neutered, up to date on vaccines appropriate for age, micro-chipped, cleared by a licensed Vet and clean. Animals in need of dental work are held until the dental work is completed and then released to their adopters. Have you priced dental work at your Vet? 7. Potential adopters must complete an application which is reviewed by calls to their Vet to ensure their current animals are spayed and neutered and checking of references prior to approval. No walk in adoptions. 8. The donation to adopt an animal is appropriate to the age and amount of care needed to prepare the animal for adoption and the fact that it is considered a donation is clearly spelled out in the adoption contract and verbally by whomever goes over the contract verbally with the adopter. 8. Their is immediate access to Veterinary care through the Wellness Center in North Brookfield and through active relationships with local Veterinary Clinics. 10. THE CATS and DOGS ARE CUTE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is directed to Sweetstuff who gave Second Chance Animal Shelter a poor rating because you decided that the sweet little dog you adopted was too much trouble because he had to go to the bathroom and you were too lazy to clean it up! You then complained because you couldn't get your money back after "returning" the dog.

People like you should not have animals! Your con didn't work! Thank goodness this poor little dog was returned to the good, kind and generous people of Second Chance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for Second Chance about 15 months ago. While it is not the first animal organization I've volunteered with, it is certainly the most rewarding experience I've ever had. The staff are knowledgable and personable. They never ever fail to express appreciation to the volunteers. Yes, they have some strict adoption policies, such as no same-day adoptions, you must have your adoption application preapproved, but the policies are there for the protection of the animals. And it's all about what's best for the animals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My domestic partner and I had been searching for a new best friend to join our household for about 3-4 weeks with regular weekend trips from Boston out to Second Chance as well as many other shelters in between. During this time we learned that although pet adoption is a much more P.C. path to take in getting a pet then a breeder a lot of the adoption agencies held some serious reservations about young couples (mid-20s) and seemed to treat both of us as though we were making poor life decisions. This, however, was NOT the case at Second Chance. We loved the atmosphere and the adoption fees are INCREDIBLY low. These reasons alone made the ~45 minute drive worth it each weekend to find the right dog for us. After our long search we found 'Betty,' now known as Fenway, the (what was stated as) "Short-haired chihuahua mix." (The jury is still out on her being 'short-haired' and WHAT the mix is because she looks like a golden retriever puppy). Without getting any further long winded I just want to say that I wouldn't change ANY of the choices we made, Second Chance and the staff we had the pleasure to meet and deal with were great, location was as clean and pleasant as you can expect for a building with 20+ animals living there, and the fees, oh the fees are SO0o0o0o minimal!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

our family was looking for a small dog to join our family and picked out a dog from second chance...although the dog was a wonderful dog we were lied to and had no other option but to bring her back. we were told she was fully house trained and after having her for over 2 weeks she peed and pooped everywhere but outside.... this posed as a problem seeing i have two your children and having a dog pooping and peeing everywhere is unsanitary. we even tried crate training and she would poop and pee in her crate. so we brought her back and they refused to give us back our money because we singed a contract..........so.... WARNING THESE PEOPLE ONLY CARE ABOUT MONEY NOT THE ANIMALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Client, Donor & Volunteer. In February 2003 we adopted our first dog from Second Chance, the little shelter in the woods. We were so impressed by the staff & volunteers that in November 2003 we adopted our second dog. Over the years we have seen how other shelters operate and Second Chance was the only shelter doing it right. They cared about the dogs & cats, they made sure they got the medical attention needed and checked every application to be sure both the adopters and the new family member were perfect for each other. We have donated, sponsored, volunteered, adopted and will keep doing so because we believe in the mission of Second Chance. We just adopted our fifth dog and just as before our family is overjoyed. Thank you from Lady, Brownie, Baby, Miss Molly & Ebby for giving them a second chance at life.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I love Second Chance Animal Shelter. They do a thorough check to make sure that the animals are going to good homes, but they don't make the process overwhelming (like other shelters I was considering). After my adoption application was approved, I went down to pick out a dog. They talked to me and helped me pick out the perfect match. You can see that they genuinely care about these animals, and it has little to do with money. They charge, what to me, seemed like too little for a dog. I was looking at other shelters that wanted $400 plus for dogs (that to me means they work more for profit than the animals best interest). When I got there to get a dog there were many people there waiting to look too. What caught my attention was that as we were looking one of the workers said that they would be going to the Springfield Shelter to get dogs that were due to be put down due to over crowding. I was impressed and I know you will be too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Three years ago my husband and I adopted a 12 week old Australian Shepherd/Collie mix named Matty. When we went to the shelter we were so impressed with how clean it was and how caring the staff was with all the animals. I'll never forget the day Joe called and said that they would be honored for us to have Matty and how when we picked him up, the volunteer had tears in her eyes as she watched Matty romp away with us. This shelter really does care and takes extra effort to make sure the animals are matched with the right families. Matty turns 3 on Feb 2nd and I'll be sending his birthday pic in to the Happy Endings because I know how much they really do care. Thanks to Second Chance, not only for Matty, his sister Missy and mother Maggie who all found great homes. But also for all the other wonderful animals they cared enough about to find them Forever Homes!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

10 years ago I adopted a dog from Second Chance Animal Shelter as the result of a fateful encounter with a volunteer foster family. The dog had come to the shelter as a stray, in poor health, underweight, and had scars on her body indicating an encounter with a moving vehicle. By the time this dog came into my life she was in full health and happy as could be. I was very impressed with the network of people who came together to bring this stray dog to health and provide her a promising future: from the person who found her and thought her worth saving, to the veterinary team that nursed her to health, to the volunteers and the foster family who cared for her and taught her how to trust again.

A few years later, my husband and I were looking to add a cat to our family and we immediately thought of Second Chance Animal Shelter. We visited the physical shelter for the first time and were immediately impressed by the cleanliness of the facility. We adopted not one, but two cats that day. In the nine years since, I have heard much about the shelter. The Second Chance Animal Shelter is so much more than what goes on inside its walls. The SCAS family is wholeheartedly dedicated to the animals in every way, from ensuring the health and well being of the animals, to screening potential adopters and finding the best possible match, to educating the community about pet wellness and the services available. I needed to be a part of this, a part of something good, something bigger than myself. So I signed up to volunteer. Being a part of the mission and knowing I am making a difference has been so rewarding. Not only am I contributing to improve the lives of the animals, but also to help those seeking to add a new pet to their family and those struggling with giving up a pet so that it may be better cared for. Most rewarding of all is the look in the eyes of a dog or cat that just knows something special is going on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Second Chance Animal Shelter was a life-saver for my two Maltese dogs who needed to be spayed.
Living in Connecticut, the cost to do the two dogs was in the thousands and we just couldn’t afford the fees. Plus the CT Vets wanted us to leave the dog’s over-night and they would be unattended.
Second Chance Wellness Center in East Brookfield was able to do both dog’s for an affordable price, and my wife and myself were able to bring both dogs up in the morning and return back to Ct with them in the afternoon. Not only did the dogs not have to stay, but they receive the most advance method of spaying available, receiving less than an inch cut. Both dogs had no post-op problems and are doing great. Thanks to Second Chance Animal Shelter my dogs were able to get the care they needed and we were able to afford it. Great Shelter and Wellness Center worth the ride from anywhere, don’t miss out on this amazing place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

care and feed the animals, help with clerical tasks, help at events, etc. Volunteer