Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

The Sean Costello Memorial Fund is devoted to spreading awareness about bipolar disorder in the creative community. This is a disease that is often overlooked and misunderstood, which makes the SCMF's mission that much more vital to the artistic population.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I met Sean when he was so young his mother had to be in the club with him. His was a beautiful and extreme talent. It was devastating when he died so unexpectedly. I, like many others, had no idea he suffered from bipolar disorder. I'm very proud of the work of the Foundation in getting the word out and turning a very personal loss into something positive for so many. The Sean Costello Memorial Fund helps carry forward all the beautiful things about Sean and others affected by this disorder. He'll live forever in our hearts and through this project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

attempt to garner the attention of a broader audience - launch onto a larger stage - to both broaden awareness and raise funds.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The SCMF is a great non-profit that works to bring attention and resources to a disease that is not understood and often inadequately treated. The Fund focuses an the creative professionals, a group more commonly impacted by bipolar disorder. By better understanding the understanding of the connection between creativity and bipolar disorder and by reducing the stigma, we will be able to better help those impacted by this mental health issue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the resources the organization has to move its mission forward.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The Sean Costello Memorial Fund cares greatly for the creative souls of all ages, races and socioeconomic groups who struggle with Bipolar and its consequences throughout our society. Their focus is on research, education, assistance, and better understanding as well as the eventual cure for the difficult disorder. Mary Fletcher, board member

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more funds

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The SCMF is a great non-profit that works hard to shed light on Bipolar Disorder, a disease that is way too often misunderstood. A better understanding of BD is crucial since it often takes up to 10 years to diagnose and in that time many lives are torn apart and even lost. While our main focus is on Bipolar Disorder and creativity our organization offers research, support and understanding to anyone who suffers from this devastating disease.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The SCMF works incredibly hard to bring the devastating effects of bipolar disorder on creative adults and children to light - also attempting to eradicate the stigma associated with mental illness. Research into this disorder is far overdue with it taking 7-10 years to diagnose. Although a young organization, The SMCF has already contributed outstanding research to the scientific community whilst providing support for those effected by this illness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I feel this is a GREAT Nonprofit Organization and can help so many people who suffer from Bipolar Disorder. It is a scary disease that affects children and adults. I have a close friend who has this disorder, and so does her daughter, and my heart aches for the struggles they go through. I feel that more research is needed to help those who are confused, scared, and feeling helpless while dealing with Bipolar. I support the Sean Costello Memorial Fund for Bipolar Research and appreciate the efforts put forth to help others become aware of this disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure more people were made aware of the organization and the wonderful people behind the nonprofit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

This is a wonderful organization to serve. The unique population that we focus on aligns with my own interests in music, creativity and bipolar disorder. The organization's board is diverse, committed, and driven to fulfill its goals. The fundraising concerts and the Beautiful Minds series hosted by the SCMF always have a large turnout and make being part of this group rewarding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

The Sean Costello Memorial Fund for Bipolar Research fulfills a need that is too often ignored in our society: research, family support, and exploring the link between Bipolar and creativity. Too late diagnosed or too often misdiagnosed, Bipolar Disorder exacts a terrible toll not only on those who have it, but their friends and loved ones as well. The fund has made great strides in making connections between Bipolar and both sleep issues and creativity, crucial discoveries that will help the mental health community to diagnose and treat this disease earlier and more effectively.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

disseminate its mission and programs to a wider audience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 28, 2011

The Sean Costello Fund has opened the conversation about Bipolar Disorder and creativity with an international impact. Within two years of receiving its non-profit status, it has partnered with resear... more

October 16, 2013

Bipolar Disorder affects 1 in 10 people, with a 10% higher incidence in the creative population. It takes 10 years to diagnose, and during that time, people self-medicate. Mania is a mood often associated with BD and it can be a deadly one. More research and education is needed to get help to people earlier. It is the highest rate of mortality of all psychiatric illnesses, with a 50% higher rate of successful suicide than the general population. Often, all the sufferer wants to do is sleep.

I know from correspondence that we have saved lives, and continue to foster communication about a disease shrouded in stigma. There is little in the way of grants or even insurance. There aren't large groups of people drawn to support of the disease because of the stigma. Sean was a wonderful, talented, sweet boy who died because of poor diagnosis and intervention. The unnecessary suffering must stop and that's what we aim to do.

I am proud to represent the Sean Costello Fund and spend many hours working towards the success of its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to be able to spread the word

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2011

The Sean Costello Fund has opened the conversation about Bipolar Disorder and creativity with an international impact. Within two years of receiving its non-profit status, it has partnered with researchers from the US (Berkeley), Vancouver (U of British Columbia) and Australia (Swineburne U), resulting in a presentation at the IRBD in Rome in April of 2011. This area is fraught with suggestions, but little research which could result in much improved outcomes for this population. In addition to this, there have been benefits sponsored in Connecticut, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, just to name a few. Conversation is the beginning of stigma reduction.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the outcomes of individuals, having helped more than one individual seek appropriate care. They now tell me they have 2 years of sobriety and are doing well. There is no way to quantify the impact of the Fund.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

write a grant to receive funding to hire a Program Director so that we can ensure the realization of the mission.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways: -Administratively.... organize information and files; maintain data base information, etc. -@ Benefits.... help with Silent Auctions, merchandise, ticket sales, etc. -Fundraising.... work on the committee to develop and execute a plan -Social Networking.... research aspects of BD that are appropriate to psychoeducation -Board Development.... Provide a 3 hour workshop for board members -Organize an event in your town There are many other things that an all volunteer organization can use help with, and virtual volunteers are welcome.