Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.89135
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

Our family has been involved with Seacology for over 10 years. We have supported Seacology for that long because they continually impress us by their organization's single minded focus on protecting some of the most fragile ecosystems on the planet. It is run by a group of smart and passionate people who have a track record of finding innovative and sustainable solutions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Seacology is a conservation organization that has a truly unique model. This non profit approaches local communities to find out what they need. Seacology then funds a school, medical clinic, or other key need in exchange for the communities commitment to protect an area of the local environment. In this way both the environment and local people benefit. Seacology’s work is protecting island rainforests, coral reefs, and more – some of the most beautiful places on the planet. Check out their fantastic web site for more information.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2013

more

April 21, 2013

This is a well run, efficient organization that funds projects that are "Win Win" in their results. The villagers get that they need and in exchange the organization is able to preserve coral reefs and rain forests. A great solution to the demands that development has in these remote islands in the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

Every time I take a flight I make a donation to Seacology to help preserve areas of the world that are still untouched. I am proud of their innovative work. And they are so heartfelt in their thanks for our donations. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

It is with great confidence and pleasure that I make a yearly donation to Seacology. More than any other organization that deals with remote problems, I know that somewhere in the world Seacology will be changing the daily lives of people who live in areas challenged by their proximity to our planet's ever-changing seas. The ways in which Seacology works with the local people, solving local problems, are varied, imaginative and impressively successful!

Laura Tietz

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I have donated to numerous foundations and Seacology is the one I am most proud to donate to. The work they do is not only unique, but helps truly make the world a better place. It feels good knowing you can help as well! I highly suggest donating and learning more about Seacology and the great work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Seacology may be the most cost-effective environmental nonprofit in the world! Working with field representatives in island nations around the globe, Seacology's small and dedicated team has saved hundreds of endangered species, coral reefs, and rainforests. To see their work in action, take one of the several island expeditions Seacology offers each year. The trips are a lot of fun and it is really rewarding to see the huge difference Seacology has made in people's lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Seacology does what every nonprofit should, and few actually do - rather than imposing their own assumptions on people they help out, instead they ask them what it is they need, and how they can help. In addition to this, they manage to directly help groups of people in need while also helping them preserve local environment. This kind of work should serve as a model for all nonprofits.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Seacology performs incredibly valuable work all over the world in the most productive methodology I have witnessed. By partnering, educating and self-empowering people, and providing incredibly valuable, tangible, physical community benefits, they are preserving the very ecosystems that these peoples need to survive on and improving the planet's environment at the same time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2011

My wife and I have been scuba divers for more than twenty years. During that time we have been disheartened to see the marked decline that has occurred in island environments around the world. In searching for ways that we could help prevent that decline, we ran across Seacology. As we investigated the organization, studying its Form 990 and checking donors' comments on various web sites, we became very interested in the organization, so decided to start out with a moderate donation.

The thing that initially interested us most about Seacology is their win-win approach in which they provide funding for some resource, such as a community center or a water filtration plant needed by the local island people, in return for a pledge by those people to protect some endangered part of their island environment. Rather than just giving money away or going in and telling the people to protect the environmnet, Seacology gets buy-in from those people through this quid pro quo approach.

After becoming donors, several things immediately impressed us about Seacology. For one, they did not constantly hound us seeking additional donations as other organizations have done. Second, they did not waste our contribution on slick publications that have little real content, or on cheap trinkets such as address labels or stuffed animals that do nothing to protect island environments. Instead, Seacology sends out a nice, but not overly slick, annual report that provides details about where the organization has focused its efforts and distributed its resources during the preceding year.

After giving increasing amounts to Seacology each year, my wife and I finally decided this past year to join Seacology on one of their trips. These trips usually involve some scuba diving since many of the donors, as well as the organization's director, are avid scuba divers like us, and a visit to at least one of Seacology's project sites. Our trip was to the Philippines where we visited several project sites.

For us, this trip really confirmed our belief in Seacology's activities and cemented our commitment to the organization. We got a chance to meet and spend considerable time with other donors as well as the organization's Director, Duane Silverstein, and the Field Representative for the Philippines, Ferdie Marcelo, both outstanding highly-committed individuals. However, the real highlight for us was a chance to visit project sites and see first-hand how our contributions were being put to good use. The thing that was especially rewarding for us was to actually sense the gratitude the island people have to Seacology for providing the resources they needed, and the people's commitment toward fulfilling their part of the bargain by protecting their island's natural resources.

In the future we intend to increase our support of Seacology. We would strongly encourage anyone with an interest in protecting and sustaining the world's natural environment to do the same.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Palawan Island, the Philippines, when we visited several Seacology project sites and met the local people there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more resources. Seacology is a relatively small organization, but for their size they are having a big impact.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers