Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.031255
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 9, 2014

I have been blown away by Sea Shepherds efforts to save our oceans both internationally! We now also have a local chapter and I'm thoroughly impressed with their efforts to create a presence in my hometown doing out reach educating people at all kinds of events - my favorite being their volunteers going to after school programs to teach children about what they can do to help keep the oceans clean and safe.

Tremendous efforts seen by all volunteers and crew! They have my full support.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

The shepherds live their ideals every single day, all day long. They've saved so many animals' lives without harming any humans- and in many cases being harmed themselves. Instead of standing by and just film atrocities, they stand between the innocent and their offenders, risking life and liberty in the process. They go big and play for all the marbles because as the Captain says, if the oceans die, we die.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Whenever I consider volunteering or donating to a charity, I usually like to look at an organizations financial health and possible liabilities. And this organization is under significant financial strain because of several legal issues.

As of November 6th, 2013 this organization remains
under a supreme court upheld injunction and is still in court over two lawsuits in Washington state, one of which involves an allegation of breach of contract that could be quite costly.

This organization has already settled with one of the parties that alleged improprieties over the management of the "MY Ady Gil", Pete Bethune, costing the group half a million dollars. And the owner of the vessel, Ady Gil, is currently suing for five million in damages.

Then there are the costly blunders that drained the organization's coffers, like the loss of a quarter million Euros in bail Paul Watson had paid in bail to German Authorities after his arrest and the legal costs the organization was ordered to pay back when it sued to gain charity status in Australia.

In regards to standard expenditures, over 6.1 million dollars had been spent on Operation Waltzing Matilda alone according to the group's 900 Form for Year 2010, which the organization alleged saved 528 whales due to a failure in Japan reaching their quota.

The campaign report issued on March 8, 2010 on their web site stated the operation was to save endangered whale species. But the vast majority of whales taken by Japan in the Southern Ocean Whaling Sanctuary are Antarctic Minke Whales, as stipulated by the special catch permit records issued by the IWC and this is not an endangered species according to the International Union for Conservation of Nature.

The costs are therefore not associated to the saving of "endangered" whales, nor is it associated to acts meant to stop an illegal activity according to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, whose February 12th, 2013 opinion clearly stated that Japan's activities conform to international law.

Having received no legal mandate to police and enforce Australian law, I believe it would be misleading for this organization to solicit funds in order to perform these acts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

stop the misleading statements about the conservation status of the whales targeted by Japan and stop the UNCLOS and COLREGs violations conducted using their property.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Sea Shepherd Conservation Society is one of the very few non profits that fights to save our oceans and marine eco-system. At a time when millions of sharks, tuna and other fish stocks are plundered by humans, endangered whales and dolphins massacred in the name of culture, and marine eco-systems destroyed by bottom trawlers, Sea Shepherd has effectively fought to protect the Oceans and it's creatures. If Oceans die, we die. Our planet will become just like a bare planet such as Mars. Even with governments, politicians, and those who look to profit by exploiting all the planet's resources trying to stop Sea Shepherd, they have done a great job standing up to it and protecting our Oceans for future generations. Great job Sea Shepherd and I hope you will get the recognition well deserved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

They have been called "prates", "Eco-terrerists" and 'violent", according to Martin L. King, "You cannot commit an act of violence against a non-sentient object". So if you damage a non- sentient machine that is used for the inhumane and illegal killing of an innocent, living creature, that is not violent. Sea Shepherd has never actually injured or killed anybody so they are not violent, or terrorists. Calling them "pirates" would also be incorrect. According to the UN World Charter for Nature, any individual, or organization has the right to enforce international conservation laws.

In my opinion, they one of the most direct environmental/animal rights organizations out there. Most organizations make a lot of noise, but do very little to help their cause. Sea Shepherd is the only organization who is physically stopping Japanese whaling in the Southern Ocean Whale Sanctuary (they saved 932 whales last whaling season). They are the only ones who are helping the park rangers of the Galapagos Islands, they were the ones who ending whaling in Norway, Iceland, and Spain. They were the ones who (without hurting or killing anybody) scuttled the Sierra, a pirate whaling ship responsible for killing more than 25,000 whales. They are also one of the few organizations doing something about whaling in the Faroe Islands. I believe they are also the only organization doing things to end the seal slaughter in Namibia (I could be wrong).

They are doing many things that other people and organizations are just to scared to do or don't want to spend the money to do.









More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

A lot of non profits make a lot more noise but don't actually do much. These are the real MCCoy out there to create awareness about dolphins being slaughtered - sharks, pollution, whales etc. they are trying to stop the senseless destruction of our oceans and seas to insure the health of our planet and greater good. While a lot of charities specifically focus on one small issue as sea turtles or biodiversity they cover it all.

For some one like myself who does quite a bit if traveling and reading up on environmental issues it is pretty clear to me why this type of org is needed. In Greece the med is all but dead the fishing industry practically whipped out by over fishing. The deeper water need Sicily is still good for fishing but for how much longer?

Change is needed and action is needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013

Sea Shepherd is doing an excellent job protecting what "should be" a lwhale sanctuary. Japan is violating
this by illegal whaling in these waters. If it weren't for Sea Shepherd, no one would be protecting these beautiful whales. And if Japan ceased this illegal activity. They could move
on to better things.

US Court calling Capt. Watson a pirate when they are just upholding the law? Unfortunate and blind.
Courts can have blinders on--I think the US court has blinders on in this case. Or money influencing them?!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Sea Shepherd has been declared "modern day pirates" by the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals.
http://www.courtlistener.com/ca9/5d9d/inst-of-cetacean-research-v-sea-shepherd-consv-opi/

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We are unhappy that Sea Shepherd feels it necessary to have Bridget Bardot painted with breasts toppling over her suit on the boat that "bares" her name. It has nothing to do with saving the whales and undermines their respectability. Steve Irwin is not depicted in a pair of Speedos with testicles dangling underneath, and it would serve Sea Shepherd well to cover the cleavage on Ms. Bardot

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Sea Shepherd has saved thousands of lives and preserves the balance of the ocean in its unique role as guardian at sea from illegal whaling/shark vessels. This society alone fills a huge void for action in the protection of sea lifeas well as education to the public about all the unknown killing of whales and sharks.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers