Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 18, 2010

As a person interested in community volunteerism and programs for kids, I can report that serving with SciEnTeK-12 Foundation has been fulfilling and productive. The kids have all the talent necessar... more

October 9, 2013

I was pretty sure in 1965, that my entry in the Southern AZ Regional Science Fair would be my 1st and last contact with the fair or the organizers. Happily, I was wrong! In time, both of our daughters competed at SARSEF ... with investigations which put mine to shame (bragging parent). In 1992 I was asked to be a judge at SARSEF, and gladly agreed. The 21 years that followed have been remarkable. I was asked to serve on the SciEnTeK-12 Foundation Board 11 years ago and have had the pleasure of working with a spectacular array of scientists, engineers, educators, students and community volunteers. Literally thousands of projects have passed through SARSEF during my tenure, each demonstrating that our future is in very good hands ... and that the herculean efforts of this organization are important. The SciEnTeK-12 Foundation has focused for decades on "Exciting Young Minds about Science & Engineering". Seldom have I seen a more united, and effective, volunteer effort in support of such a future-looking cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Naturally, any non-profit organization seeks ways to be more financially secure ... and ways to involve more members of the community served. Although this is not a "change" per say, it is an effort that we need to sustain. Successful establishment of an endowment fund is (and should be) a high priority.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2010

As a person interested in community volunteerism and programs for kids, I can report that serving with SciEnTeK-12 Foundation has been fulfilling and productive. The kids have all the talent necessary to succeed in math and science, but guidance and support from family and community are essential. What a rewarding experience. What a Class-A foundation!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

... watching students succeed/excell in math, science and engineering. Annually the "future" is visable at the Southern AZ Regional Science and Engineering Fair ... and the Math, Science, Technology Fun Fest. Both are SciEnTek-12 Foundation events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like all foundations, SciEnTek-12 would benefit from additional fundraising success and diversity on the Board. Also like other foundations, we work continuously to improve in both areas.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the excitement and achievement of young minds.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

... excellent

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

... establish more meaningful scholarships through its Endowment (Scholarships) Fund; also making financial security possible in difficult times.

Ways to make it better...

... I'd had more time to give.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

... funding and diversity of committed board members and volunteers.

One thing I'd also say is that...

... support of local media and science-oriented business has been a real blessing. They do not get enough credit.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I first experienced the Southern Arizona Regional Science and Engineering Fair when I was a sophomore in high school. This was the first time I was ever exposed to a science fair and I only participated because it was a requirement at the charter school I was attending. I thought my project was ridiculous and insignificant but I met people at the fair that were encouraging, and optimistic. Judges praised aspects of my project that I did not think mattered and they made me feel like I had potential in science. Everyone at the fair made my experience one of the best I have ever had in my high school career.
I was shocked at how advanced some of the other projects were, and I noticed that most of them were from Tucson Magnet High School. I visited SARSEF everyday just to look at the projects because they amazed me so much. Attending the fair made me want to pursue science, work on a better project and be more competitive, so I transferred to Tucson High School so that I can learn from the best Science Teacher in Arizona. I received the opportunity to work in a lab at the University of Arizona where I worked on a project for two years. By the time I was a senior in high school, I had the science project of my dreams and I was so proud. At SARSEF, I won scholarships, medals and the opportunity to compete at the International Science Fair. For the first time of my life, I had the opportunity to go to college which was an opportunity that no one in my family has ever had.
I am currently a junior at the University of Arizona pursuing a degree in Microbiology and I am also a board member. When I was asked to join the board, I felt more honor than when I received my awards at the SARSEF. It is an honor to be a part of the non-profit that changed my life and I am proud to represent SciEnTek-12. I will forever be grateful for everything they have done for me and I am happy to be on a team that aims to excite student about science, and change their live. SciEnTeK-12 is the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing that needs to be changed in this organization. Every year we improve the fair, our educational outreach, and the success of the students. I would just give the organization more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Although I am presently a board member, I first became involved with the Southern Arizona Regional Science and Engineering Fair as a home-schooling parent in 2000. It quickly became a yearly "must do" for our family. The fair challenged my boys to think critically, plan, organize, research, interact with scientists during the judging process and really understand the scientific process. It solidified my older son's desire to be an engineer, and drew my younger son into the same field. Both boys were able to excel and exceed their dreams and expectations through the fair, particularly when they were selected to compete at the international level and receive college scholarship awards. SARSEF encouraged, supported and challenged them through every experience, and the board and volunteers made them feel like family. Both boys credit SARSEF with changing their lives and positively impacting their futures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As a board member I know that we continue to reach out with our education arm, to bring science, technology, engineering and math education and awareness (to spark interest and involvement) to more school children in Southern Arizona. This is the only change I hoped to accomplish, and we are moving forward with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have been involved with the SciEnTeK-12 Foundation for the better part of 15 years. The regional science and engineering fair is has always had a large number of very high quality projects that exceeds expectations every year. A tremendous job by everyone involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My participation in SARSEF began as a student in the Third Grade. I wasn't very skilled in sports and had always quietly envied the shiny trophies my friends had for soccer and swimming. Then I completed my first research project. I not only investigated a topic I was truly interested in at the time (where bugs like to live), but my effort was rewarded with a beautiful trophy with my name on it. That was enough to light the fire. I continued to enter SARSEF year after year, each time gaining more skill in the scientific process, each time researching something I loved and each time getting the encouragement I needed to continue.

I ended up attending the International Science and Engineering Fair five times- all expenses paid by SARSEF. I won a top award (2nd, 1st, and special awards) three of those visits. i was sent to Washington DC twice, and to China to compete in research further. i had so many incredible opportunities opened to me due to the overwhelming support and generosity of SciEnTeK-12 that the best way I can attempt to quantify it is by explaining that due to my participation in SARSEF, i earned over $180,000 in scholarships. And yet that doesn't come close to portraying what completing a research project and gaining the life-skills necessary to explain it to a professional does for a student's confidence.

I have served as a member of the Board of Directors since the moment I completed my last Science Fair competition, and did so while completing my higher education- currently culminating in a Master of Science. I am passionate about bringing the SARSEF experience to every student in the Southern Arizona region, and empowering every child to believe that they can be successful in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. SARSEF not only has the antidotal evidence for student achievement, but one of the best records for student success at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. Over 1,800 students competed in SARSEF last year, representing over 52,000 students who competed to get there. We are committed to expanding the opportunity to succeed in STEM.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire full-time staff members to run the Foundation's programs. We are too big, and too important to rely solely on volunteers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I've been judging for the SARSEF science fair since 1996 and it has been one of the most rewarding volunteer experiences I've engaged in. So much so, I agreed to become a Board member when I retired. It's a wonderful feeling to know you've helped encouraged a talented young person to continue with an interest in science from High School and on into college. The amount of thought and work the students put into their projects shows through every year. Also, SARSEF is one of the few science fair programs in the country to have full, yearly participation for grades K-12. The experience each student gets in presenting their project in a public forum will benefit them for the rest of their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None -- it's already implementing plans to expand the participation by the schools in the area. Over the last 3 years we had escalating records of participation, hitting 1800 projects just this year in March. We expect a new record in 2014. What I would like to see for the group is enough funding to put us into the endowment range, so we don't have to spend so much effort on fundraising each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I was first exposed to SciEnTeK-12 Foundation some 7 years ago when a member came to a nearby elementary school to introduce the whole Science Fair system to the kids there. Paula Johnson told my son all about what a science fair is and the kinds of things he might get to do if he got involved.

This sounded interesting to him and soon he started looking for science learning opportunities the way some kids look for candy.

As each year passed we noticed a consistency and growth at the Southern Arizona Science and Engineering Fair (SARSEF).

The consistency was quality. The fair is run like a well-oiled machine. The SciEnTeK-12 Foundation is responsible for SARSEF and its operation.

The growth was in the SARSEF fair itself. Year after year the space occupied at the Tucson Convention Center (TCC) seemed to grow and grow. Incredibly, I heard that in 2013 they had well over 1700 projects!

Thank you SciEnTeK-12 Foundation for this fabulous activity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As an educator I have been involved with SciEnTek-12 Foundation over the years. The foundation has provided students all over southern Arizona with an opportunity to delve into the scientific process, rewarding students for their creativity and hard work. I have also had the pleasure of volunteering as a judge. Meeting scientists and other professionals at this event has enhanced my teaching abilities.
The foundation is very organized and well run, the top priority is the students and this is evident in all that they do! The Southern Arizona Regional Science Fair and the Math, Science and Technology FunFest are an integral part of this community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that they are able to receive more donations for scholarships and awards!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a member of the SARSEF advisory board for several years now, and I really find everyone involved in the organization not simply dedicated and amazingly effective, but downright inspirational. Their focus in attracting as many students as possible to participate in the science fair is nothing short of phenomenal. I do whatever I can to help and consider it a privilege to be in the company of such an intelligent, hard-working and highly accomplished group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it's excellent as it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I participated in science fairs as a student back in the early 1970s, and have been "paying back" since 1992 as a judge, prize solicitor, and now board member with SciEnTeK-12 Foundation. Our board, advisors, and volunteers are among the most committed I have seen anywhere, Stimulating kids' minds to engage in scientific research is a wonderful pursuit, and seeing our students go on to careers in science/math/engineering/technology is a true gift.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you live near Tucson, come volunteer for any half day during SARSEF (the huge Science Fair) March.  We need help smiling at visitors, giving directions and with sales. If you are a professional, you can sign up to come judge on March 21, 2014. Volunteer