Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2012

My daughter attended weekly Science Club meetings all the time she was in grade school. Meetings were on Friday afternoons and I have so many happy memories of picking her up and hearing about experim... more

September 19, 2013

My daughter started in Science Club for Girls when she was in kindergarten and continued through elementary school. She is now an early childhood teacher. The hands on learning from women in STEM she experienced in Science Club for Girls created a passion for STEM which she passes on now to her own students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2012

My daughter attended weekly Science Club meetings all the time she was in grade school. Meetings were on Friday afternoons and I have so many happy memories of picking her up and hearing about experiments and the cool scientists who led them. One day I waited in the school lunch room to pick up my daughter and watched a row of 8 ten year old girls skipping past me singing a song they had made up about how they just dissected a cow's heart. On a Saturday morning, I took my daughter to Harvard Square to meet an undergraduate scientist who was taking my daughter and her friends to see her lab. Afterwards the scientist and the girls went together to get their nails done. My daughter is now a pre-school teacher and she tells me that the experience she had at Science Club doing hands on science makes her comfortable and playful doing the same with her students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I served as a Senior Lecturer at MIT from 1997-2007 and got involved with SCFG during its formative years. Working initially with the SCFG founders (Ms. McGowan and others) and then with Connie Chow, I initiated the SCFG Rocket Club, with generous support from MIT and the Massachusetts/NASA Space Grant Consortium. I was extraordinarily pleased with the extremely focused and attentive participation of the SCFB Rocket Club team members, and being able to see the young students working so well both individually and in small teams was an extremely rewarding mentorship experience for me. SCFG offers totally unique and enrichening educational experiences overall, and I feel very lucky to have worked with SCFG and the Rocket Club for several years until my departure from MIT in 2007. Peter Young, Col, USAF (Ret.)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have assisted many nonprofits in defying and delivering on their missions. Hands down, science club for girls is the most unique, dedicated, effective and cost effective organization I have worked with. This program inspires girls in science, sisterhood, and self confidence. It improves science literacy. It creates a new path for the girl and for her family as she begins to view college as a viable option and then excels at that goal! The girl is on a new path. Her family is on a new path. She sets a new example in the community. I am so proud to be able to assist this much recognized, well run organization with a cost per girl served half that of other local programs. A dedicated staff and working Board complete the picture!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers