Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

This was my daughters first year doing SCFG. A friend of her's suggested it and she enjoyed every minute of it. I was impressed with the club's organization and planning. We rec'd a handout that explained what the girls would be working on each week and also after the club met a list of questions to help us provoke conversations with our children at home about their meeting. She was exposed to chemistry, physics and math. In kindergarten she worked with liquids, elasticity, viscosity and measuring! It was great.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

SCFG inspires young girls to try new things, to think, to work in teams and to explore and develop talents that they might otherwise never have a chance to do. It is especially inspiring that girls who have started as young children in the program grow into junior mentors and earn more and more responsibility. They as well as the staff of SCFG are role models for girls, both in the fields of science and technology but also in the development of confidence and life skills.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Science Club for Girls has been my daughter's favorite after-school program for three years now -- Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grade! She's learned so much hands-on science, and comes home excited to show us her experiments and explain how everything works. Mentors and junior mentors make it fun and are outstanding role models. The annual "Everybody Loves Science" celebration gives the girls a chance to show the world what they've learned, and they absolutely rise to the challenge of explaining their work to the guests. We are so grateful to this organization. Thanks, SCFG!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I'm involved in a variety of ways, initially as a client served (for my daughter Jasmine), but since then as a volunteer/adviser/donor. SCFG is a fantastic organization that is making a huge impact for girls in Massachusetts, and now for a growing group of girls in Ghana. Connie is an inspiration, and I'm convinced many others will believe in their strategies in promoting Girls STEM opportunities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am a Teen Mentor for Science Club for Girls. I really love it. I taught kindergarteners this year, and it was so much fun to teach science to these little girls. They love being able to learn new, neat things, like how to convert materials into slime. I felt great being able to do this for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Science Club for Girls is a great organization! My daughter who is a very shy 6 year old started going to SCFG in the fall. It has been a wonderful experience for her. She usually does not prefer group extra curricular programs. However, this was not the case with this program. She stuck with it and to my amazement even wanted to go back for the spring session. The program is nurturing her love for science while building her self-confidence. Thanks SCFG!!! We will definitely be back for the 2012-2013 program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

My 6 year old daughter attended the Science Club for Girls on Saturday mornings at Northeastern University. She loved coming and making friends with girls from other communities. The young women who taught the classes loved what they were doing and the girls really responded to them. SCFG isa fantastc opportunity for young girls to be exposed to more math and science programs. We can't wait to do it again. Thank you. - Katie O'Brien, parent of a participant.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

As a resident and as a school board member in Cambridge, I am grateful that Science Club for Girls exists in our city. The model of exposing young girls to science through interactive activities, of giving older girls a chance to serve as junior teachers and role models, and recruiting working women scientists to work with both sets of girls is an incredible effective combination. The result is a program that fulfills multiple worthy goals. SCFG helps address a glaring lack of scientific literacy in general in our country. SCFG also provides a direct positive experience for girls, who despite years of attempts to encourage involvement in science still lag in almost every scientific profession. Plus adults in the community get a chance to interact with young people, and to learn more about the incredible potential in many of our students. I do believe boys deserve encouragement, too. however, the need for an explicity focus on girls in science is clear. SCFG is a terrific nonprofit that benefits our students and our whole community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

SCFG is building an incredible community of tiered mentoring for girls in science. They have an amazing metric and helping girls (usually the first in their families to go to college) see themselves as possible scientists! Scientists mentor older girls who mentor younger girls. It is an amazing chain of leadership development. The rainbow colors of the girls at an event shows you what a difference this growing organization can make in future for diversity in the science.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the diversity and success of the girls who have been in the program at their celebration events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it bigger! Take it national!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was a mentor scientist for a kindergarten classroom for a semester, and walking into (and then out of! phew) that school was the highlight of my week. SCFG is an exciting, organized, and inspiring organization that encourages girls to get their hands dirty and be excited about learning. While no longer in the Boston area, I still find myself supporting this organization each month because I know what an amazing job they do and the minimal resources they require to effect their change - simply put, I'm proud to have been involved with SCFG.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers