Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

School on Wheels is an amazing non-profit volunteer organization helping homeless and displaced children all over Southern California. I started volunteering over a year ago and have helped 3 children in a local shelter get the homework help that they needed. I currently continue to tutor a student weekly and it is one of my favorite moments of my week, by far. To be able to make a difference in a child's life and reiterate the importance of education, is something I am extremely proud of. This is a win-win situation and I am so happy to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with School On Wheels in Los Angeles' Skid Row since September. The people running this program are dedicated, talented and passionate. The kids are met at the bus, which drops them off in the heart of Skid Row. They are escorted by volunteers and staff to the program. There, they are given a snack. Then it's time for homework. The staff attends to each child's (sometimes up to 25), making sure they are on task and up to speed. At the end of the day, they are either picked up by a parent or escorted back to the shelter. School On Wheels provides a valuable service to an otherwise forgotten part of our community. Many Thanks for all your efforts and good works!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i got involved with School on Wheels when they came to a local art studio for a field trip. I could tell instantly that all the staff had a genuine concern for the children and their efforts to do educational outreach. This charity fills a critical gap in supporting education for foster and homeless children. The cycle of poverty ends when there is a collective commitment to education and literacy. School on Wheels is a life changing organzation for all of those involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at School on Wheels has been the most rewarding volunteer experience of my life. I was connected with awesomely inspirational youth and was able to help them in a very direct way with very little time commitment. Everybody I ever worked with at this organization was kind. professional. and truly believed in the power of what we were doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

School on Wheels is a great organization to volunteer with. Not only are they caring, and provide a truly valuable service, they are also very organized. So, volunteering with them means you're able to make maximum impact with the time and skills you're able to give. Best of all, the kids and parents do make the most of what the volunteers have to offer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

School on Wheels has been an amazing part of my life. I enjoy helping kids succeed and am proud to serve under a great staff that supports you and the child/children you tutor. I started out as a tutor, once a week, and quickly grew found of the organization, motivating me to take on a larger role and even devote more of my time to the cause. I am a college student taking way too many units and also work part-time, so if I can make this commitment, anyone can. I highly encourage anyone School on Wheels because it is a very rewarding and simple way for one to give back to the community in a profound way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

As a teacher, I organized a fundraiser for the organization where we used the money to purchase backpacks and various supplies. My students were beyond thrilled when they researched the program! The staff was extremely grateful, helpful, and inspiring. We have continued the project yearly due to the mission of the program and the passion in the staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

Great volunteer opportunity for a cause truly humbles you as a person and gives you perspective.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

September 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I used to volunteer with School on Wheels and now I'm a donor. This is an incredible organization with an impact that is immediately visible in the students and communities they work with. Their dedication, ingenuity and tireless commitment to helping homeless children get an education is nothing short of inspirational. I'm proud to have worked with them and will continue my support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

An outstanding organization that places value on people over profits. Goes above and beyond in helping homeless youngsters. The Skid Row Learning Center is a safe haven in the area of Skid Row in Los Angeles. This area is rampant with drug dealers, sex offenders, etc. I feel a sense of ownership in the Skid Row learning center. I don't know all of the answers but there is always someone to help me find the answers. The kids are wonderful and want you to return. It is a wonderful feeling to watch a youngster grow into someone who "couldn't" into someone who "can". I am ashamed to admit it but I have gotten more out of this organization than I have given it. I have learned patience, how to enjoy the simple things in life, and how not to let little things upset me. I have also learned that it is OK to make mistakes. The time that I spend at the Skid Row Learning Center is the highlight of my week. This organization truly puts youngsters on the road towards self sufficiency by teaching them that they can do anything they set their mind to. They learn that it is OK to make mistakes because many of the greatest discoveries in the world were the result of mistakes. I have been a volunteer for 6 years and have experienced everything from the joy of seeing a student graduate to the sadness of seeing a student leave and not knowing where they ended up. I am proud to be a volunteer at School on Wheels. I would encourage anyone to volunteer. Whether you have an hour, two, four, six or eight every little bit helps and you CAN make a difference in the life of a homeless youngster.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Fill backpacks with school supplies, train to be a volunteer tutor, help in our office, organize a fundraising event.