Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.769235
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have done volunteer work in the past for mental health organizations, and this one is the one that stands out to me as a shining example of effectively reaching out to those with mental illness. I believe it does a world of good and deserves to be noticed and praised for its efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have never seen a nonprofit with such great leadership, and I have volunteered for many nonprofits in my lifetime. Their hard work and passion is a daily inspiration and motivates me to do everything I can to support their mission. As the volunteer webmaster, social media manager, and newsletter editor, I feel honored and grateful for the opportunity to make a difference. I know this nonprofit will grow quickly and help many more people because of their excellent management. I am excited to be part of that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

As someone with a family member struggling with schizophrenia, I find this organization to be very valuable. They offer a broad range of services and support groups for people impacted personally by mental illness, and for professionals helping those who suffer from schizophrenia. The volunteers and board members are incredibly experienced and dedicated individuals. I also haven't come across another group in this field that is international in its reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

A friend of mine has raved about how very well organized and supportive this group has been. It's international outreach is also particularly exceptional.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

This organization is so amazing! It helps people internationally deal with the aftermath of diagnosis of a mental illness. There is no other agency that I am aware of that has an international reach. It is quite compelling to hear the testimonies of people who have been helped. I attended their conference in Texas this year and was moved by the stories I heard, people I met, and commitment of their volunteer staff. Hats off to the spirit of the agency for remembering those so often disenfranchised.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2011

more

June 26, 2011

This self help group for family and friends of those experiencing the symptoms of schizophrenia was led by a person with recovering schizophrenia. I simply served as a resource person to the group. Particpants called in anonmymously. One family member said "I called because I didn't know where else to turn to" and expressed frustration obtaining care for his wife. He was encouraged to advocate assertively with the physican care provider and other community resources . Information was given regarding the Self help group (Schizphrenia Anonomous (SA) for the wife. Calling back the following week, medications had been adjusted and the wife was joining the weekly telephone SA group. The group leader could share her own experiences, offering empahty and more importantly, hope.

This group was a valuable resource. More family and friends needed to know about the group to increase participation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Feedback from the participants

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase marketing to let others know of the group.

June 23, 2011

more

June 23, 2011

I have attended the local SA support group (of which SARDAA is the non-profit host) almost weekly for the last seven years or so. I took some time away from therapy and the support I received from the members of SA was invaluable. Therapy is winding down for me again, but the stability of our group reassures me even in weeks when I'm having symptoms. Working for a drop-in as a Peer Support Specialist for ten years, I know a little bit about hope and recovery. SA provides both for me. It helps that the members are all peers, including our group leader who is a skilled facillitator. Even though I only talk to them once a week, I consider them to be friends. Sometimes my symptoms make leaving my apartment difficult, but SA always makes the effort worthwhile. I credit the group as a big part of my recovery and accomplishments.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I feel safe talking about my symptoms at SA and since other members have the same experience, it helps normalize my illness. We're not crazy or psychotic, we just have obstacles that normals can't understand. The group (and especially our leader,) also inspire me to write, something from which I derive great pleasure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The blue book we use at SA helps give structure to the meetings. Our favorite part are the personal stories by SA members. It also helps people who are just starting out with SA to connect with us. But, there just not enough stories. AA has a big book filled with only stories from their members. I think SARDAA should put out something similar for SA. I know other SA members across the country would love to have their stories in print and it would give our group members another way to relate.

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

I was having a horrible time with my medication co-pay. I wrote SARDAA and just poured out my heart. I wasn't writing for financial help, I just needed to be pointed in the right direction to find help with my meds.
The Chairman of the Board, Linda Stalters, wrote me a personal note. It was
compassionate, kind and helpful. She introduced me to a member of SARDAA who has become a mentor and friend. The SARDAA member has gone overboard in helping me.
I will be starting a SA group in the fall in my city.
By the way, my doctor, who is also compassionate, kind and helpful is giving me samples so I don't have to pay the $678.00 in co-pays as I go through the Medicare Insurance Program's 'Donut Hole'.
Warmly,
Andrea W.
Port Charlotte, FL

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in finding the help I so desired.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to the organization I would give them all the money they need for their outreach programs and hire Linda Salters an assistant.

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

This organization is incredible. I have a friend diagnosed with Schizophrenia and I contacted this organization and they were absolutely helpful and wonderful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have talked to the person in charge of this organization and have found her to be a very sincere and dedicated person who is working very hard to educate the public and dispel the stigma of mental illness

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them have enough funds to continue their good work to enrich the lives of people diagnosed with mental illnesses and their families. And to help the people with mental illnesses lead more productive and happy lives.

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

SARDAA is a non-profit organization dedicated to dispelling the myths associated with those who experience mental health challenges.

I have been working with the Chairperson, assisting in an administrative capacity. During my short time of being associated with the organization, I have
witnessed the dedication and never-ending service provided to those who suffer from and who are supporting those with mental health.

It is heart-warming to hear the stories of so many who have over-come the daily challenges that most of us will never know. Their strength to prevail, in spite of their challenges is something that we can all learn from.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally experienced the results of the organization, but understand their purpose. They focus on starting SA Groups, which is similar in nature to Alcoholics Anonymous, support groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help train SA leaders; provide database support; assist with office duties; make phone calls to members; hold an informational meeting;