Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with the Schenectady Theatre for Children (STC) for the past 6 years and can vouch for the wonderful role they play in the community bringing theatre into the schools. For more than 40 years, the members of STC have been bringing indescribable joy to school chldren throughout the New York Capital District area through their plays. For one hour the children become personally involved in a play but the good memories last for the rest of the year and introduce them to ideas they may never otherwise have encountered in their daily lives. The plays produced by STC are not only extremely entertaining but teach the children about history, geography, different cultures and languages, the nature of personal relationships and the importance of maintaining honesty, compassion and good character. Many of the plays are written by local Kit Goldstein, a brilliant young playright with an innate sense of what children like and respond to and who produces musicals that please adults as well as the children. In addition to producing the plays they bring to the schools, they run summer acting camps, produce the Great Minds series (an engaging and informative series of one man/woman shows presenting the lives and ideas of famous people), teach children how to make puppets or perform magic. Without a doubt, the New York Capital District is greatly enriched by the presence of STC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Since graduating with a degree in elementary education & a minor in speech and theater, for years I have been active in community theaters in the area and have always felt most drawn to those organizations which offered programming for children. There is nothing like playing an evil queen to a delighted audience that truly believes there is a world on that stage inhabited by the actors they see. Imagine my joy when I first found The Schenectady Theatre for Children, a group of wonderful adult volunteers who focus all their efforts on children! In the past few years with them (now thought of as "us") I have met the most amazingly dedicated and delightful individuals who generously share their many talents with thousands of children in the area. Children, many of whom would never see a live performance otherwise. Children who learn a lesson (teachers are offered a study guide) while their hearts are laughing and singing. Schenectady Theatre for Children encourages children to participate in the arts in every way possible. Our motto: The less a child is exposed to the arts, the more it shows!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Schenectady Theater for Children brings live theater to 3000-5000 children a year. This will be the only chance many of the children have to experience live performances. I crew for the Theater so I do not get to see the smiles until the end of the show. I do, however, get to hear the laughter and the innocent quips the children yell out. It so rewarding to hear a child call out to an actor where some one is hiding or to give something back that doesn't belong to him. You feel that a message might be getting through to them as they are being entertained. It is wonderful to see them lose themselves in fantasy even if it is only for an hour. This is particularly rewarding because many of these children are part of low income families and many times do not have the opportunity to be a child. As money dries up every where, schools have less and less money to spend on "extras". We are continually trying to find ways to raise money so that we many continue to bring this sense of wonder to so many children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful


I’ve been thinking about all the choices we have to make every single day of our lives.....there are those big choices like college, career, marriage, having children, things that you know from the get go will affect you life….but then there’s those tiny choices that we make…like a friend we
might choose when we are young who might influence us even for the rest of our life.

Once in 1980 I made a choice that changed my life totally. I was asked to choose a community group in Schenectady, research it, and report back on it at a meeting the following month in someone’s home. So out of a list of about 30 organizations to choose from, I happened to pick the Schenectady Theater for Children. It was really such a small thing that I did… choosing an item from a list….but ….. aside from getting married and having children, that decision to choose STC over another community group to report on turned into the biggest life changing event in my life.

How can you go wrong giving your time to an organization that makes 10,000 children a year laugh for an hour?
How can you go wrong working with selfless folks who don’t mind volunteering countless hours to make that happen?
How can you go wrong when what you do makes you laugh too?
And how can you go wrong when what you do makes you a better person?

When you feel something is so worthwhile, you start putting more of your energy into it, it starts giving back to you, you respond by putting more of yourself in to it. It starts to grow, you notice more folks start feeling the same way you do, more energy goes in, now something wonderful starts coming out, so more energy gets put back in. It starts to grow, it gets bigger and bigger every year….it changes, there are some tough times, but so what, it gets even better… And it makes you proud to be a part of it all.

It’s funny because at the rough times, you say, “How can I leave it now that things are bad? We have to fix it.” Then when it’s all fixed and things are good, you say, “How can I leave it now? Things are great and we’re having the time of our lives?”

Once in a great while though something else can happen in our life ….it appears that there’s another decision to be made, and another choice to take…but there’s really no decision, and no choice….It’s something you have to do.

So here I am….a couple thousand miles away. I’m still a happy person, and I think of The Schenectady Theater for Children every day. STC will always be in my heart…I will always refer to STC as “Us” and “We”.

STC has given more back to me than I have ever put into it. It made me grow artistically and professionally, and gave me the finest friends I ever could have asked for.

I will miss it forever.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers