Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

The Schenectady Theatre for Children is a well established not for profit theater company deedicated to bringing the Arts to school-aged children and the community at large. This group has been enriching the Capital District of NY for over 40 years. It began primarily as a small trouping theater company that would go to the area schools and perform plays for their entertainment and ecucation. This aspect of STC remains to htis day, but it has become so much more. STC has helped beginning playwright's works to be produced and presented to hundreds of school children and others, It has also opened up it's casting calls over the last decade to home-schooled children, fullfilling a need for "extra-curricular" activities while also supplementing their education with public speaking, history, English, language arts, art, and many personal skills such as responsibility, punctuality, reliabilty, and cooperation. The company has also increased it's outreach by performing at other venues, such as many libaries and museums, and at local shopping malls. These performances are usually scheduled during school breaks, so that other families and children may be able to attend our performances. STC has also run a two week summer thater camp in late August for the past 5 years. This is when most other summer programs have stopped teaching. It has been hugely successful, with many campers returning each summer. STC has also a fine program called the "Gret Minds" series. Professional actors portray famous people from history and give a 45 minute presentation with much audience participation, People that have been portrayed include George Gershwin, President Theodore Roosevelt, "Mother"Jones, Rachel Carson and Albert Einstein. The Schenectady Theater for Children is also developing new programs for community outreach. The "My First Theater" class will be for young ones who have never acted before, with the focus being on creative play and imagination, developing beginning acting skills and self-confidence. It has been my personal plleasure to work with the Schenectady Theatre for Children continuously since January 2001. I had begun my relationship with this group in the 80s with a 2 semester internship through my college theater class. (Another amazing outreach!) Since then, I have directed several plays, acted, built props, designed and built costumes, applied make-up, built 2 haunted houses and have met hundreds of wonderful people through this incredible organization. Most sincerely, Scott R. Payne

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been involved with Schenectady Theatre for Children in many roles. My first encounter came when I was a primary grade teacher at a local elementary school. The Schenectady Theatre for Children came to perform a musical play at our school every year. The children in my class were enthralled by their shows and always learned something new. You see, the STC plays not only tell a wonderful story that often transports the children to another time, place and culture, they also expand vocabulary, pose ethical questions and encourage the children to think. Each teacher has access to a study guide that suggests further learning activities and tie those activities to the curriculum. When I retired 6 years later, I was delighted to be able to volunteer with the theatre. Quite frankly, I never imagined that I would find something that I enjoyed as much as teaching but this was it! The wonderful people at STC taught me about producing quality children's theater while teaching me and helping me grow as an actor. While I was just a volunteer, I always felt that I was "paid" with the laughter and joyful faces of the children in the schools, libraries and centers that we served. It truly became a very bright spot in my life. And now I am also a board member. I am seeing how important donations are to keep the cost of the shows accessible to the schools that have experienced so many budget cuts over the past few years. Children truly need the arts and STC does a great job of bringing them to many children through the plays, summer camp and the Great Minds series. It educates and brightens the lives of not only the children it serves but also the many wonderful people who volunteer. And so as a volunteer, board member, former client served and member of the general public, I wholeheartedly endorse the work Schenectady Theatre for Children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

STC is a wonderfull theater company created for the enhancement of children's lives thru live theater, primarily performed in local community schools. As the downturned economic climate took schools' budgets with it, schools don't have the money for enrichment programs. We took that as a challenge to bring the kids to us with affordable after-school classes and summer theater camps. Both have been well-received and we're adding more! Our directors and tech people are fantastic teachers and the kids don't even know how much they are learning as they're having fun! Much continued success to STC!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Schenectady Theater for Children brings quality theater to Capital District school children who, for many reasons may never ever see a live theater production! As an actor, it was a delight to watch the children's faces light up when we came on stage. After each show, the actors mingle with the kids. Their questions about the magic of live theater shows that STC has a place in a technological world! We can create a world on stage that the children bring home in their imaginations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

At the lowest point of the economy, I was a young 20 some thing looking for any work that I could find. I applied to be the director of summer youth program's production of "The Reluctant Dragon." The best part about about the program is that children get a chance to work along side theater professionals. Not only are the children building confidence and public speaking on stage, but they are learning behind the scene tech skills. There's nothing like seeing groups of 9 year olds sewing their own costume pieces!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

A myriad of volunteers each plays their role to make this entity stay alive. Shoestring is the operative word. STC offers so many different venues for children to be exposed to the arts - musical touring shows, public performances, summer camp, Great Minds.... and something new is always on the horizon. The caliber of people involved is truly remarkable in talent and heart. When I would crew, I always knew what was happening onstage even though I could not see it from the audible responses of the children in the audience. My favorite anecdote is of the little girl that so proudly told our producer that she loved watching plays and that she had seen a great many. When asked which plays she had seen, the child quickly replied with the names of the last four shows that we had performed at her school. STC was her source for the arts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

this is a wonderful organization that brings a high quality theatrical experience thousands of children the Capitol District of New York State. The programs are entertaining and educational, and furthermore, they are incredibly affordable. They should be supported for many, many years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Schenectady Theatre for Children (STC) has brought live theatre to children in the capital district for over 40 years; in many cases STC is their first experience with live performance. Each year STC presents an original musical play based on fables or folk lore and written to include values such as truth and honesty, and an appreciation for cultural diversity. Each production is researched for historical accuracy and authentic costuming for the period and location. Four years ago, I brought my granddaughter to a production at our library and watched a whole new world open up to her. I decided then that STC deserved my support as a volunteer. My granddaughter still talks about the children’s productions she has seen each year and sings the songs. I appreciate the knowledge she has gained about the cultures of places such as Mexico, Holland, and Ancient Rome, while being entertained with delightful songs, dances and folk lore. Each production is offered to area schools and youth organizations at a fee to defray expenses only. STC sends advance materials to help prepare their audience and stimulate questions during a post show exchange with the cast. STC has made a huge difference in our community. I am proud to volunteer for this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My teenager has been involved with their summer camp programs and year round productions and loves it! She has learned so much and has been able to learn how to work backstage and on stage as well. The team is supportive and excited and encouraging to all of the crew members and put on wonderful productions for children (and adults love it too!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering as sound technician for three years. I've been impressed with the energy and enthusiasm of the cast and crew members. It's fun to watch the play come to life as the director and cast bring the script alive. We're fortunate to have a talented local woman, the award-winnning Kit Goldstein, writing musicals for us. The children before whom we perform are drawn into the play, and interact with the actors. For many this is their first experience of live theater, and it is first rate. The Schenectady Theater for Children touches lives throughout the Capital area, including the theater summer camp, the Great Minds performances, and other productions. Coming next spring we are adding a new program: "My First Theater" for younger children, which will invite them into the world of theater. STC is unique because it goes to the schools and libraries, where the children are, rather than making the children come to them, and more youngsters are exposed to their warm, funny, musical, and enduring dramas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers