Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

If the staff and volunteers at SOAR (Saving Our Avian Resources) only rescued and rehabilitated sick and injured birds, that would be enough. The fact that they also educate the public on issues such as the hazards of lead in the environment and the importance of raptors in helping to keep nature in balance makes them noble ambassadors. And their dedication to conservation and research makes them heroes. They speak up for the magnificent birds whose voices most people ignore or cannot seem to hear. I give to SOAR because I trust that Kay and her team will use my money to make a positive difference. They love what they do, and they are passionate about every aspect of their work. Being a bird lover, I am so very grateful for their dedication. Earlier this month, I attended one of SOAR's seasonal raptor releases, and in the drawing I was chosen to release one of the rehabilitated birds, a male juvenile kestrel. I was thrilled to see this handsome fellow up close, but when he escaped my gloved hands and took to the sky, I was so excited to see him able to return to the wild, where he belongs. That was an experience I will never forget. It made a difference in my life, and it was life changing for that kestrel. Because of Kay and SOAR, he and many other raptors are flying free once again. Thank you, Kay and all the other tireless SOAR staff and volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it! Every state, every county needs to SOAR!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

I have just recently become aware of S.O.A.R., because I watch the Decorah Eagles nest and one of this years eaglets was injured (a broken wing). Since then I have read a lot about SOAR and the wonderful work they do. I work at Auburn University, and we have a raptor rehabilitation center here, so I know a little about what it takes to care for these injured animals and get them ready to be released back in to the wild-which is where they belong! SOAR does a great job and can always use financial resources, so if you are looking for a way to help an injured raptor, this is a great place to donate!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

I have become one of SOAR's biggest fans and supporters, initially because my husband had introduced me to their amazing work and spirit towards raptors and wildlife. Since then, I had the privilege to meet the inspirational and tireless folks who organize and sustain this wonderful organization. I quickly found out how much they do- not just rescue and save raptors, but they EDUCATE and advocate! I had the ultimate honor of attending a public educational session with Thora and Bella and screech owls that were re-released back into the wild after SOAR had rehabbed them from injury. I look forward to begin a volunteer for this organization for many years to come and to bring their messages and teachings to our corner of the country. Thank you and bless you, the wonderful folks at SOAR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

Ok, I'm not exactly unbiased here. But, as a person who almost never gives to "causes", I'm proud to have done a tiny bit on this organization's behalf.
The work they do for their patients, and in educating the public has already been spoken of here by others with far more eloquence than I
possess.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . . improve their fundraising.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

I admire SOAR from Connecticut. I have followed their works and deeds and find them outstanding. To see people so dedicated and hardworking for the avian population is heartwarming. The life re-given to avian species and especially raptors is a gift to the environment, and to all of us. Thank you SOAR!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

SOAR is a wonderful non-profit organization that helps the avian population. Their employees and volunteers are dedicated and passionate human beings. Kay Neumann has done an outstanding job in the rehabilitation of countless raptors. Kay has provided the public with education and has been a voice for a population that cannot speak.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There isn't anything I would change with this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

I find this review very hard to write. The reason I find it difficult is because I am afraid that my words won't convey the importance of SOAR's work and the quality and dedication of that work.

SOAR is Kay. Kay is a wildlife biologist. Kay is a falconer. Kay is an environmental educator
and Kay is a wildlife rehabilitator. Kay spends her days tirelessly rescuing and treating sick and injured birds. She recycled a building that was donated by the city of Manning, Iowa and had it torn down and rebuilt saving money and saving the building from ending up in a landfill. Kay treats and cares for every bird. She rescues them, diagnoses them, and takes them to the vet for x-rays and further diagnoses. Every day she medicates and feeds every patient and every education ambassador. She cleans the pens and flight cage. Birds poo a lot!

Kay also has a husband and two children. She takes care of them too and they also help her out with the birds. Her children are turning into really neat adults. They have obviously learned from their parents. But even with the tasks of SOAR, and raising a family Kay helped with the re-introduction of Osprey into Iowa. She has traveled with the Iowa DNR to collect young osprey and brought them back to Iowa making sure all are healthy before they are placed in their nest boxes. They have been banded and observed, cared for and released. Because of her help and expertise the re-introductions have continued.

Kay cares very deeply for every animal and she doesn't just treat a bird but learns every bird. Because of her knowledge and expertise she was able to discover why SOAR was and is treating lead poisoned Bald Eagles. Kay realized that Bald Eagles with lead poisoning spiked right at the beginning of deer hunting season. With her dedication to research as well as her ability to increase the value of the research by organizing all Iowa rehabilitators to test Bald Eagles it was soon shown that lead fragments from hunting deer in Iowa was most likely the cause. Ever since; SOAR has been educating hunters, hunter education instructors, and the general public about this danger to Eagles and to humans.

I am in awe of her intelligence, her dedication and her ability to get an amazing amount of work done.

I have had the pleasure of knowing Kay since 1990 and have been a volunteer for SOAR for almost ten years. I have helped hold a bird while she draws blood, force feeds and medicates. I have transported birds and helped with the osprey re-introduction. I have had the wonderful opportunity of helping to educate others which as an environmental educator is my love, and I have even cleaned cages!

Kay's selflessness, hard work, and dedication inspires SOAR volunteers like myself and as a result being a volunteer for SOAR is very rewarding.

SOAR is truely a non-profit in every sense of the word. SOAR is dedication and expertise.
I struggle to hit the "submit" button because my writing ability is unfortunately not a skill I can claim as something I do well. I would have to continue writing for quite a while to totally cover all that SOAR is and does. Fortunately we have a web site that our fabulous volunteer Linette keeps pretty up to date and a visit there will help you get some idea of the work that is done by SOAR.

Check out the work SOAR does at www.soarraptors.org!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

move the location closer to my home so I wouldn't have to drive an hour and a half to clean cages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I have volunteered for SOAR and Kay Neumann since 2007. I have been involved with the reintroduction of Osprey back into central Iowa, and after 7years there have been some sightings but none better than this year. This Spring an Osprey was seen at Whiterock Conservancy, Coon Rapids, and then I saw one in August at Swan Lake Carroll Co., flying and eating with the young ones. It's been a long process but worth it. That's the dedication SOAR and Kay have, as with the rescue and rehabilitation of injured and poisoned raptors, mostly Bald Eagles with lead poisoning in the winter months, which brings us to SOAR and Kay's biggest uphill battle, getting LEAD out of hunting and fishing. Every event she is at she is very passionate about the issue and will not quit until legislature steps up and "BITES THE BULLET" like they did with other LEAD issues. Kay is very dedicated to her commitment to care and repair of any damaged Raptor. The biggest thrill is when there is a Raptor release event like the one Sept 1st when 5 Raptors were released back into the wild. 2 American Kestrels, 2 Red-Tail Hawks and a Young Bald Eagle. What an event.
Victor Webber.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I was fortunate enough to grow up in the Carroll County area and as a child and into my high school years I saw Kay and various bird ambassadors at programs. Little did I know that when I returned to the area after college to become an associate naturalist with Carroll County Conservation I would once again be in touch with this great organization and eventually working there myself! In 2011-2012 I worked as an intern for SOAR. I was able to find my life passion of helping raptors and became very involved in the non-toxic/non-lead ammunition movement. Kay will always be a lifelong friend and mentor as I now work with raptors at my current job in Minnesota and plan on acquiring my own education birds in the future. Without SOAR many raptors would become victims to lead poisoning, not returned to the wild to fly free and people of west central Iowa would not be informed of the good they do for the ecosystem and how they can help them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I was born and raised in Iowa and I became aware of SOAR while in Decorah in 2012.
I have since went to a presentation and I have attended 2 releases and I plan on going to more.
Kay takes so much time explaining the details of each raptor, you know they have her heart.
As well as
the others that are involved at SOAR.
Many, many Thanks to you all

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it closer to my home in Dsm.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers