Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
206 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Even though I live in Colorado, I became aware of SOAR's presence because I was following the Decorah Eagles. SOAR took in one of our "Decorah three" who had a broken wing, and I've been following their care of the Decorah eaglet through their Facebook updates. Their care, concern, and expert handling of raptors that need some TLC and extended recuperation and therapy is truly impressive. I am now aware that besides eagles, they take in all types of birds of prey. SOAR is also involved in research and education (such as encouraging hunters to be lead-free). I am so thankful for people who are dedicated to the welfare of animals. Kudos to the dedicated staff and many volunteers that provide this admirable service to our raptor friends.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I suppose in the scheme of things, with so many challenges and crisis' the world is facing on what seems to be a daily event, the charity Saving Our Avian Resources or SOAR for short, may not seem as important. However, when we take into consideration that we as human beings share this planet with an abundance of creatures on land sea and air, and - we haven't been as kind to our co-inhabitants as we should or could be - the activity of SOAR surely makes up for the many transgressions we have been responsible for.
SOAR has come to the consciousness of so many ordinary people world-wide very recently who all share one common passion, that of the Decorah Eagle family and through a medium which ten or more years ago, might not have been possible, the internet & a web-cam. We have watched a nest of eagle eggs be deposited in that nest, incubated and eventually, with bated breath, hatch and flourish with the constant attention of their parents, even unknowingly teaching us all a little about what it means to be an attentive and selfless parent & caregiver.
Sadly, one of those young eaglets found himself in peril, he had been found in a stream not far from his natal nest, a bit battered, tired and with a broken wing. "Our" D20 (his reference to literally millions of on-line viewers) was rescued and promptly transferred to the premises of SOAR where he was examined, treated, x-rayed and subsequently had surgery to repair the broken wing - there is simply nothing more sad than to see an eagle or any animal capable of flight with a broken wing!
As we receive periodical updates as to his progress including physio-therapy and encouraging words from their carers that he is responding well to treatment, it lifts our spirits and gives us all a little respite from the many troubles which we feel we have either no control over nor can combat individually - in this respect, we can see the best in all of us even if it is through just one eaglet and with the gratitude to SOAR and what it has made possible. Thank you for bringing a little positive outlook to us all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask why any changes were needed to be made... I'd certainly make sure they had all the resources they required.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I learned about SOAR's existence due to being an avid Decorah eagle watcher. When one of the Decorah eaglets was found injured this summer, I, along with thousands of other eagle watchers, learned that SOAR would take the eaglet, treat it and rehabilitate it.

Reading about SOAR and
following the eaglet's progress and SOAR wonderful care for it and other birds taught me what a wonderful resource SOAR is to save injured birds.

I am delighted to have become acquainted with what SOAR does and their dedication to birds in distress. They are an important resource for birds in distress.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Yet another Decorah eagle watcher who was made aware of SOAR through their care for one of the eaglets who was injured.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I learned of SOAR watching the Decorah eagle cam in 2011. I have become a supporter of SOAR because they are a great organization dedicated to save raptors. They not only treat, rehabilitate, and release raptors back into the wild, but they educate on the dangers that these magnificent creatures face, specially with lead poisoning. The dedication of all the volunteers is admirable, they donate their time and expertise driving hundreds of miles to save all raptors in peril. It takes a special kind of people to do this kind of job. Now they are helping one of the Decorah cam eaglets, D20, he is in great hands as well as all the other raptors. I am amazed that SOAR having such limited financial resources, they still manage to do such a great job. All the volunteers, doctors, and workers are the GREATEST!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could afford it, I would give them a big donation so they are able to get top of the line equipment for the treatment of raptors. The next thing I would do is to finance the transportation of their patients with a helicopter, that would save the time of driving hundreds of miles. Transporting patients with a helicopter would save precious time that is so needed in emergencies, specially with lead poisoning.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

Became aware of this organization as a Decorah Eagle watcher when one of the Decorah Eaglets (believed to be D20) was admitted on 22 June 2014 with a broken wing. I have followed the care and treatment of this eaglet every day since admittance. SOAR has done a fabulous job and, in my opinion, saved this young eaglet's life. Because of their profoundly professional service to our avian resources, I have decided to become a regular donator to this non-profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I too am a Decorah Eagle fan. I've been watching and chatting for a couple of years now. When D20 went missing and was subsequently found with injuries I felt helpless. I am so grateful there are people like the folks at S.O.A.R. who know what to do and are available around the clock to help. I had no idea such am organization existed, but an extremely happy that it does. Thank goodness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone it. I wish there were more resources like this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Thank God this organization exists! Without them our little Decorah Juvenile (D20) would not be alive today. I am one of the many thousands who have developed an emotional bond with these beautiful creatures thanks to the Raptor Resource Project in Decorah. Thank you, SOAR! Your volunteers are all heroes in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

I learned about SOARS through their work with the injured Dekorah eagle this year. Cannot praise them enough for the wonderful work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That they have more money so could assist more raptors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

If you are looking for a charitable venue dedicated to preserving the balance of nature through rehabilitation of injured wildlife plus educating us on ways to eliminate destructive human impact to our avian wildlife, SOAR (Saving Our Avian Resources) is an organization where your dollars will make a powerful impact in attaining that goal. A visible reduction of the majestic wings of raptors patrolling the skies to curtail overpopulation of crop pests is a definite sign there is an act of imbalance in nature and the cause needs to be addressed. SOAR not only helps injured and helpless raptors found and brought to them, but records & reports on the percentages of natural vs human causes for their injuries. Through the efforts and education from SOAR, we can address issues that are under our control.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hard to change perfection.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers