Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Save The Whales came to our school to do two different presentations. Tom's presentations were definitely very engaging. The students really enjoyed the hands on activities and videos presented. It was a great learning experience !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

First, I would like to thank Tom from the Save the Whales Foundation for his excellent presentation. Tom came to our school and presented to our sixth grade students on two different occasions. Both times, the students were engaged and enthralled by the presentations. They loved the hands on activities and the video clips. It was definitely and eye opener for many of students. They didn't realize the impact we can have on our environment and our animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

We have had Tom from the Save the Whales organization come out several times and speak with our 4th graders. Each time the interactive, informative presentations made a great impact on our students. Our population is mostly low socio-economic and many have not even seen the ocean before. These talks have motivated them to be more ecologically friendly, increased their interest in marine life studies, and
inspired them to pursue future careers in this field. Thanks! and keep up the great work!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it capable for them to come out more than once or twice a year.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2011

This organizations brings wonderful hands on information to students and teachers alike regarding the roles these wonderful creatures play in our environment. Even more importantly the program generat... more

January 25, 2014

The students in my class all have special needs. My classes have ranged from 2/3 combos to 2/3/4 combos. Currently my students are in the 3 and 4th grades. WOW has bringing their programs to my schools for the past 3 years. The caliber of instruction, hands on experiences and high interest subject matter has made an enormous impact on the students over the years. Students have enjoyed learning about the watershed, the Whale of a Rhythm , the Sea Turtles and Sea Otters Programs. They have become so much more appreciative of their environment and most importantly their responsibility regarding the environment. They are definitely making a connection regarding their actions and the impact they can make in protecting our marine life. Please! Please! help this wonderful program continue by making donations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2011

This organizations brings wonderful hands on information to students and teachers alike regarding the roles these wonderful creatures play in our environment. Even more importantly the program generates respect for these giants and demonstrates in tangible ways how individuals, schools and other groups can work to help our environment by maintaining a healthy ecosystem for our whales.
My students were given their first exposure to whales, their roles and how to work toward helping to save our whale population. Most of my students have never been to the ocean despite living less than 25 miles away. They had no idea of the way whales hear and the tuning fork demonstration was very personal. They valued the opportunity to see the types of food eaten and to actually touch whalebone was thrilling for them. I highly recommend the program and have actively worked to bring it to my school for all third graders to experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how my students have become more committed to protecting the environment, in order to provide a healthier environment for the whales. Students have shared their experience with their families and other students throughout the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide even more education for elementary school children.

January 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 29, 2011

Tom from Save the Whales did several presentations over the years at my school and my class has always enjoyed them very much. He gets the kids' attention and does a very organized and instructional ... more

January 23, 2014

I am a Third grade teacher in Salinas and most of my students are Hispanic and come from homes where English is a second language. Tom has brought his presentation on The Amazing Lives of Sea Turtles to our school and the children loved it! Most of the children have never seen a sea turtle and rarely visit the ocean. The children were so engaged and excited by the program, and Tom made it so fun and informative. I hope that we can have many more of his presentations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2011

Tom from Save the Whales did several presentations over the years at my school and my class has always enjoyed them very much. He gets the kids' attention and does a very organized and instructional program. His slide shows are great and he has hands-on activities that the kids love to participate in. The kids care about not polluting the environment and can really understand the concepts by the activities such as putting drops of colored water into the watershed model that shows how pollutants get into the water in the bay. They are excited and want to share their new knowledge with their families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classes at Kammann School in Salinas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding to do more presentations

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

During the migration of the Gray Whale in January, Fisherman's Wharf Association, sponsors along with BLUE Ocean Film Festival, and Monterey Academy of Oceanographic Sciences, Whalefest Monterey as a fund raising event to bring public awareness to the marine non-profits, organizations, and agencies that influence the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. The sustainability of our oceans is through, education, formal and informal of this generation and the next. Save the Whales has been an integral part of the event since inception. Save the Whales has provided three different interactive programs for all ages in the Wharf Theater, provided lectures and panelists in the Museum of Monterey Theater, interactive booths, and volunteers dressed as sea animals to provide marine information and to interact with the attendees, especially children. We are thrilled that Save the Whales will once again be participating in Whalefest Monterey, 2014.
Mary Alice Cerrito Fettis
Chair, Whalefest Monterey
President, Fisherman's Wharf Association

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funds

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I am a teacher who hired this program to give an in-class presentation. It was an excellent, engaging mix of hands-on activities and presentation format.

Tom arrived in plenty of time to set up his sizable collection of equipment. The show was about sea turtles. I learned a lot, and
the students were still talking about it weeks later. The thing that made the biggest impression on them was how plastic bags end up looking like sea jellies and get ingested by leatherback turtles, who then can't get the bags out because of the sharp barbs in their throats (evolved to capture and retain the jellies). This can lead to obstructions, and in some cases, even death.

The students mentioned some of the content taught by Tom in their year-end summary. I would love to see this program grow and reach more schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more of an office infrastructure to support a huge amount of growth of the program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am a 2nd grade teacher at a small private school in Santa Cruz. Save the Whales came to our school, worked with our schedule, and produced 3 wonderfully different presentations for different grade levels. The students were engaged the entire presentation and they really not only learned a lot, but also learned how and why we need to Save our Whales! This was the third year that we have had the pleasure of Save the Whales and I am looking forward to many more years with Save the Whales!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am a teacher at a small private school in Santa Cruz. We always look forward to the hands on approach that we receive when the Save the Whales program comes to our school. The impact on our students is tremendous. They have lessons at our school about the ocean and ocean life, but not every student gets the chance to see the footage of film that comes with this program and hear the explanation of the life of the sea otter that is presented. The children are all captivated by the instructor Tom and when he leaves the special materials, we are able to continue with the lesson that he has just presented. This is an excellent program and schools should take advantage of the instruction that this nonprofit wants to provide. We love having them come to our school and look forward to their return each year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them come more than once to our school with a different lesson each visit

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is with respect and delight that I write a review for Maris and her Save the Whales organization. She has been coming to teach my fourth grade class for many years now, and I always look forward to her presentations. Maris speaks from her heart, uses interesting models, and keeps the children totally engaged in the learning process. The presentation covers many aspects of ocean conservancy that are being taught to my students....be guardians of the oceans, habitat protection, caring for animals of the oceans, oil spills, littering, and pollution of earth, air, and oceans. Maris brings materials for us to use such as posters about drains leading to the oceans, stencils for us to put around our school drains that say that these lead to the sea, whale bones and measuring of their sizes, costumes of sea otters and whale parts etc. It is always intriguing to the children, and each year I learn new facts from the presentations. It is totally honest of me to say that having Maris visit my classroom is one of our highlights of the year. We are lucky to have Maris and Tom in our community, teaching children such vital facts in a fun and organized manner. The children are the future, and they are given ocean facts and thoughts to carry with them into adulthood.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers