Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.857145
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Save the Whales has assisted the municipalities on the Monterey Peninsula in reducing the pollutants that end up in Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean when it rains. STW assists us by performing many of the tasks that we undertake to improve storm water quality , all with a careful eye on saving costs and working efficiently. STW has saved us tens of thousands of dollars over the past few years by eliminating unnecessary expenses and focusing on the tasks that will make the largest impact on our environment. STW is doing the "boots on the ground" work that results in real improvements to water quality, both projects in our communities and through educating people on how our actions affect the world we live in - both positively and negatively. Most of my day is spent pushing a lot of paper and completing seemingly meaningless tasks that too often seem unrelated to making a positive difference in the world. STW is making a real difference right now - not through philosophical arguments but through their investment of hard work in our communities. We have all benefitted from their efforts - and whether we realize it or not, they are still doing the work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone the Director so there was more of her to go around!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am a 2nd grade teacher at a small private school in Santa Cruz. Save the Whales came to our school, worked with our schedule, and produced 3 wonderfully different presentations for different grade levels. The students were engaged the entire presentation and they really not only learned a lot, but also learned how and why we need to Save our Whales! This was the third year that we have had the pleasure of Save the Whales and I am looking forward to many more years with Save the Whales!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am a teacher at a small private school in Santa Cruz. We always look forward to the hands on approach that we receive when the Save the Whales program comes to our school. The impact on our students is tremendous. They have lessons at our school about the ocean and ocean life, but not every student gets the chance to see the footage of film that comes with this program and hear the explanation of the life of the sea otter that is presented. The children are all captivated by the instructor Tom and when he leaves the special materials, we are able to continue with the lesson that he has just presented. This is an excellent program and schools should take advantage of the instruction that this nonprofit wants to provide. We love having them come to our school and look forward to their return each year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them come more than once to our school with a different lesson each visit

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

Save the Whales is an amazing nonprofit organization that makes an impact on cetacean conservation with a very small staff and dedicated volunteers. As president of the American Cetacean Society, the world's oldest whale conservation organization, I am impressed by the nimble response of Save the Whales to issues of concern and by the dedication of its staff. ACS Monterey Bay collaborated with Save the Whales to form Viva Vaquita, and the partnership has been positive and effective. Save the Whales is a fixture at community events and inspires children by bringing cetaceans to the classroom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide funding for additional staff for teaching and outreach.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a professional marine mammal biologist who has been working in the field for 30 years. I began to work with Save the Whales about 4 years ago, when we started collaborating on an effort to try and help save the world's most endangered marine mammal (the vaquita porpoise of Mexico's Sea of Cortez) from extinction VIVA Vaquita. Since then, I have had many positive experiences with STW, and have worked closely with all their staff on this and other important conservation issues.
I have found the organization be 100% dedicated to their mission of saving marine mammals, and I am constantly impressed with how much good work they can do with a relatively small amount of funding and a small cadre of volunteer and part-time staff. STW has made a measurable difference in helping to preserve cetaceans, and I applaud them for their efforts. I also look forward to many years of collaborative work with them in the effort to preserve our planet's threatened marine wildlife.
Tom Jefferson
Marine Mammal Biologist

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them to obtain more funding to do their important work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is with respect and delight that I write a review for Maris and her Save the Whales organization. She has been coming to teach my fourth grade class for many years now, and I always look forward to her presentations. Maris speaks from her heart, uses interesting models, and keeps the children totally engaged in the learning process. The presentation covers many aspects of ocean conservancy that are being taught to my students....be guardians of the oceans, habitat protection, caring for animals of the oceans, oil spills, littering, and pollution of earth, air, and oceans. Maris brings materials for us to use such as posters about drains leading to the oceans, stencils for us to put around our school drains that say that these lead to the sea, whale bones and measuring of their sizes, costumes of sea otters and whale parts etc. It is always intriguing to the children, and each year I learn new facts from the presentations. It is totally honest of me to say that having Maris visit my classroom is one of our highlights of the year. We are lucky to have Maris and Tom in our community, teaching children such vital facts in a fun and organized manner. The children are the future, and they are given ocean facts and thoughts to carry with them into adulthood.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 8, 2011

Save the Whales is a partner with the two organizations with which I work: With the Service Learning Institute at California State University Bay Save the Whales (STW) is one of our primary communit... more

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a university service learning instructor, I have partnered with Save the Whales for the past 7 or 8 years. Every semester groups of my students do their service with Save the Whales. Their experiences in the community and with the super staff of Save the Whales are consistently meaningful. Students have multiple experiences interacting with the public and come away inspired to continue both with the program but in marine science based outreach. The students are inspired by the passion and commitment of the Save the Whales staff as much as the scope of the programs. From preserving Vaquitas in the Gulf of California to eliminating toxic runoff in the Monterey Bay, the work of Save the Whales is instrumental to preserving the health of our planet and its many creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave my magic wand so that they had sufficient funding so that staff could dedicate their time 100% to program presentation instead of fundraising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2011

Save the Whales is a partner with the two organizations with which I work:

With the Service Learning Institute at California State University Bay Save the Whales (STW) is one of our primary community partners. This means that they are always prepared, eager, and ever so organized to
accept our student service learners. Our students gain great community experiences with STW, they learn about ocean issues, and more so they are inspired by the commitment and vision of the founder, Maris Sidensteker

With Return of the Natives Restoration Education Project, STW is a partner in doing classroom outreach about ocean pollution in classrooms in Salinas, CA. Quite honestly, the visits by STW biologist, Tom Keckifer, are a highlight of the school year for students. Tom is an amazing human being, honest and genuine with the students, and full of relevant information

And finally with the Seaside Sustainability Committee. Return of the Natives and STW are partnering to plant native plants which will cut down on and filter run-off in pocket parks throughout the community

In short, STW is a great choice for a great non-profit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am personally experienced the work of STW through our many partnerships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more resources so that their impact could be greater.

May 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Save the Whales made 90-minute presentations on Sea Turtles to each of my three high school Biology classes a few weeks ago. I was very pleased with the pace and content. The presentation included a talk and slide show, clips of video, hands-on interactions with artifacts from preserved sea turtles to items made from sea turtles. Students were engaged and the range of topics included in the talk touiched on several aspects of biology students had studied, from evolution to surface area : volume ratios, to conservation, migration and mapping. The presenter is more expert in whale biology, but had plenty of first person interaction with sea turtles and knowledge from research of others' work and was willing to acknowledge lack of expertise if a student asked a question beyond the range of his expertise.

I was very pleased with the range and pacing of the lessons and appreciative of all the work it takes the presenter before and after his presentations to transport and set up all the materials he brings including his own sound system and all the artifacts for students to see.

The presenter also brought posters and stickers and provided us with a disk and later email with links for additional digital resources.

I am very grateful that we were able to benefit from such a great presenation. I look forward to being able to hear other presentations on whales and sea otters from this same group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first began volunteering with Save the Whales through an Environmental Justice service learning course. As a service learner with Save the Whales, I participated in outreach events, storm drain stenciling, and even research into corporate policies. I had no difficulties completing my required hours because it was always very pleasant volunteering and I felt like I was really making a difference. I enjoyed my experience so much that after I completed my hours I continued to volunteer. My additional time opened doors to other special projects with Save the Whales and also provided opportunities to work with other organizations such as the Urban Watch water monitoring program. Maris and Tom were always great to work with and I learned a great deal about effective outreach and education from them. I feel that Save the Whales stays true to its mission and acts completely selflessly; I would still be volunteering today if I hadn't moved away from the area. In short, volunteering with Save the Whales was one of the most meaningful experiences of my life and truly helped shape my values.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Tom presented truly hands on science of whales and mammals that was understandable by our students who are mostly English Langauge Learners. The presentation included an ocean mammal dress-up from which all the students could understand the importance of physical adaptations for life in the oceans. Additionally the slides were clear and informative to even the youngest students. We have appreciated have Save the Whales come to our school. Tom has presented to grades Kinder - 5th grades in my school. ----------M.McLoughlin, Castroville Elementary School

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers