Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.867475
Write A Review
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The hands on presentation was top notch with awesome materials. It had my lethargic high school class paying attention and asking questions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started out as a volunteer for Save the Whales in 2011 as a service learning student at CSUMB. After the semester was over I decided to continue on with Save the Whales as a volunteer. Being apart of this non-profit has taught me so much about community outreach, public education, community involvement, environmental protection and most importantly making a difference. After I graduated CSUMB I have been gratefully awarded a position with this non-profit in assisting communities with their storm drain inlets through GIS and GPS research, and also emblem application. Now I am getting to show others what it feels like to make a difference with me and it has been one of the best experiences I have ever had.
September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to volunteer for Save the Whales: They help the water and environment. They help not only the sea creatures, but all land creatures. Volunteering to place stencils stating that the ground "grate" drains to the bay not only feels like we are contributing to the world: we are. The stencils educate the public about making conscious choices: what they drop, what they do not pick up, and what they let spill ALL drains to the ocean. When the public asks what we are doing, we educate them that we happily volunteer and what the stencil means. Many of them had no idea that all that "stuff" drains to the bay and are appalled at how their unknowing made the ocean worse. Then they tell people they know!
September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I began working with Save the Whales as a CSUMB service learning student. I thought that Maris and her project ideas were actually something that I could participate in that made a real difference. I spent that first semester just feeling the program out. I then continued to volunteer with Maris because it was something that I really believed in. She soon hired me as a paid intern and I started to branch out and do more for the environment through this great organization. Maris and Save the Whales has helped me to really become involved in protection of the environment and community involvement. I am thankful for my experience and I would do it again any time.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Save The Whales is honestly amazing. Working with them as a CSUMB students has been so great. I have learned so much and have had so many amazing opportunities. What I love the most about this organization is that it is community based and strive to better educate everyone on issues that not only affect marine life but ultimately everyone. The fact that they work so hard throughout the entire Monterey Peninsula to promote and educate ocean conservation has assured me that a career in marine policy is were I belong. I am so greatful for everything STW has and counties to offer me.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a CSUMB student, Save the Whales has really opened my eyes to the positive changes that just a few people can have on their surrounding community. Being involved with Save the Whales has allowed me to directly interact with the public and get people excited about protecting whales, marine mammals and the ocean. Save the Whales focuses on education through all age groups and it is clear that what Save the Whales is doing is making an impact with the Monterey Bay Area. I am truly thankful for the experiences I have gained through working with this nonprofit.
June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

Los Arboles Middle School
294 Hillcrest Ave

Salutations. The "Save the Whales" program was one of the best things we did all year!
I am writing as an 8th grade science teacher for Los Arboles Middle School. I have over 200 students come through my classroom in a day. With so many
young active minds, I love to teach them with hands on material so they can really understand science. Especially my English Learners EL's and kids with IEP's and Special Ed kids mainstreamed in science they were so excited to hold real whale bones, krill in a jar, and learn how to protect our animals.

We all learn best by using our sense and experimenting. That is why I am so honored to have had "Save the Whales" come to my classroom. You see we are an "ocean guardian" school being so close to the ocean, and I use the Monterey Bay Aquariums curriculum to have the kids understand tough physical science standards. Our final part of being an ocean guardian school was having "Save the Whales" come and teach the kids about the ocean animals and habitat. Also since 80% of ocean trash starts on land, we have worked really hard as a school to reduce litter and recycle to Save the Whales and other ocean animals. Especially because the dump is in Marina, we want kids to send less items to the dump and think about making smarter decisions for our planet and its' animals.

"Save the Whales" was a great hands on review of the standards taught by a professional. We want to continue this program for our school. We want even more talks next year about animal sounds and echolocation as well as about saving sea turtles. Especially with common core next year, teaching kids "listening and speaking skills" and learning from "professionals in industry" this "Save the Whales Program" is a perfect fit.

Please continue to support this amazing program that allows kids to learn science in a hands approach by experts with "Save the Whales." Its an essential program for schools such as Los Arboles Middle School, Marina.

Ms. Munoz
LAMS
8th grade Science

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are amazing, I would invite them to all schools! Fantastic program

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Save The Whales came to our school to do two different presentations. Tom's presentations were definitely very engaging. The students really enjoyed the hands on activities and videos presented. It was a great learning experience !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

First, I would like to thank Tom from the Save the Whales Foundation for his excellent presentation. Tom came to our school and presented to our sixth grade students on two different occasions. Both times, the students were engaged and enthralled by the presentations. They loved the hands on activities and the video clips. It was definitely and eye opener for many of students. They didn't realize the impact we can have on our environment and our animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

We have had Tom from the Save the Whales organization come out several times and speak with our 4th graders. Each time the interactive, informative presentations made a great impact on our students. Our population is mostly low socio-economic and many have not even seen the ocean before. These talks have motivated them to be more ecologically friendly, increased their interest in marine life studies, and
inspired them to pursue future careers in this field. Thanks! and keep up the great work!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it capable for them to come out more than once or twice a year.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers