Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

Los Arboles Middle School
294 Hillcrest Ave

Salutations. The "Save the Whales" program was one of the best things we did all year!
I am writing as an 8th grade science teacher for Los Arboles Middle School. I have over 200 students come through my classroom in a day. With so many
young active minds, I love to teach them with hands on material so they can really understand science. Especially my English Learners EL's and kids with IEP's and Special Ed kids mainstreamed in science they were so excited to hold real whale bones, krill in a jar, and learn how to protect our animals.

We all learn best by using our sense and experimenting. That is why I am so honored to have had "Save the Whales" come to my classroom. You see we are an "ocean guardian" school being so close to the ocean, and I use the Monterey Bay Aquariums curriculum to have the kids understand tough physical science standards. Our final part of being an ocean guardian school was having "Save the Whales" come and teach the kids about the ocean animals and habitat. Also since 80% of ocean trash starts on land, we have worked really hard as a school to reduce litter and recycle to Save the Whales and other ocean animals. Especially because the dump is in Marina, we want kids to send less items to the dump and think about making smarter decisions for our planet and its' animals.

"Save the Whales" was a great hands on review of the standards taught by a professional. We want to continue this program for our school. We want even more talks next year about animal sounds and echolocation as well as about saving sea turtles. Especially with common core next year, teaching kids "listening and speaking skills" and learning from "professionals in industry" this "Save the Whales Program" is a perfect fit.

Please continue to support this amazing program that allows kids to learn science in a hands approach by experts with "Save the Whales." Its an essential program for schools such as Los Arboles Middle School, Marina.

Ms. Munoz
LAMS
8th grade Science

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are amazing, I would invite them to all schools! Fantastic program

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Save The Whales came to our school to do two different presentations. Tom's presentations were definitely very engaging. The students really enjoyed the hands on activities and videos presented. It was a great learning experience !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

First, I would like to thank Tom from the Save the Whales Foundation for his excellent presentation. Tom came to our school and presented to our sixth grade students on two different occasions. Both times, the students were engaged and enthralled by the presentations. They loved the hands on activities and the video clips. It was definitely and eye opener for many of students. They didn't realize the impact we can have on our environment and our animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

We have had Tom from the Save the Whales organization come out several times and speak with our 4th graders. Each time the interactive, informative presentations made a great impact on our students. Our population is mostly low socio-economic and many have not even seen the ocean before. These talks have motivated them to be more ecologically friendly, increased their interest in marine life studies, and
inspired them to pursue future careers in this field. Thanks! and keep up the great work!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it capable for them to come out more than once or twice a year.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2011

This organizations brings wonderful hands on information to students and teachers alike regarding the roles these wonderful creatures play in our environment. Even more importantly the program generat... more

January 25, 2014

The students in my class all have special needs. My classes have ranged from 2/3 combos to 2/3/4 combos. Currently my students are in the 3 and 4th grades. WOW has bringing their programs to my schools for the past 3 years. The caliber of instruction, hands on experiences and high interest subject matter has made an enormous impact on the students over the years. Students have enjoyed learning about the watershed, the Whale of a Rhythm , the Sea Turtles and Sea Otters Programs. They have become so much more appreciative of their environment and most importantly their responsibility regarding the environment. They are definitely making a connection regarding their actions and the impact they can make in protecting our marine life. Please! Please! help this wonderful program continue by making donations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2011

This organizations brings wonderful hands on information to students and teachers alike regarding the roles these wonderful creatures play in our environment. Even more importantly the program generates respect for these giants and demonstrates in tangible ways how individuals, schools and other groups can work to help our environment by maintaining a healthy ecosystem for our whales.
My students were given their first exposure to whales, their roles and how to work toward helping to save our whale population. Most of my students have never been to the ocean despite living less than 25 miles away. They had no idea of the way whales hear and the tuning fork demonstration was very personal. They valued the opportunity to see the types of food eaten and to actually touch whalebone was thrilling for them. I highly recommend the program and have actively worked to bring it to my school for all third graders to experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how my students have become more committed to protecting the environment, in order to provide a healthier environment for the whales. Students have shared their experience with their families and other students throughout the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide even more education for elementary school children.

January 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 29, 2011

Tom from Save the Whales did several presentations over the years at my school and my class has always enjoyed them very much. He gets the kids' attention and does a very organized and instructional ... more

January 23, 2014

I am a Third grade teacher in Salinas and most of my students are Hispanic and come from homes where English is a second language. Tom has brought his presentation on The Amazing Lives of Sea Turtles to our school and the children loved it! Most of the children have never seen a sea turtle and rarely visit the ocean. The children were so engaged and excited by the program, and Tom made it so fun and informative. I hope that we can have many more of his presentations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2011

Tom from Save the Whales did several presentations over the years at my school and my class has always enjoyed them very much. He gets the kids' attention and does a very organized and instructional program. His slide shows are great and he has hands-on activities that the kids love to participate in. The kids care about not polluting the environment and can really understand the concepts by the activities such as putting drops of colored water into the watershed model that shows how pollutants get into the water in the bay. They are excited and want to share their new knowledge with their families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classes at Kammann School in Salinas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding to do more presentations

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

During the migration of the Gray Whale in January, Fisherman's Wharf Association, sponsors along with BLUE Ocean Film Festival, and Monterey Academy of Oceanographic Sciences, Whalefest Monterey as a fund raising event to bring public awareness to the marine non-profits, organizations, and agencies that influence the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. The sustainability of our oceans is through, education, formal and informal of this generation and the next. Save the Whales has been an integral part of the event since inception. Save the Whales has provided three different interactive programs for all ages in the Wharf Theater, provided lectures and panelists in the Museum of Monterey Theater, interactive booths, and volunteers dressed as sea animals to provide marine information and to interact with the attendees, especially children. We are thrilled that Save the Whales will once again be participating in Whalefest Monterey, 2014.
Mary Alice Cerrito Fettis
Chair, Whalefest Monterey
President, Fisherman's Wharf Association

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funds

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I am a teacher who hired this program to give an in-class presentation. It was an excellent, engaging mix of hands-on activities and presentation format.

Tom arrived in plenty of time to set up his sizable collection of equipment. The show was about sea turtles. I learned a lot, and
the students were still talking about it weeks later. The thing that made the biggest impression on them was how plastic bags end up looking like sea jellies and get ingested by leatherback turtles, who then can't get the bags out because of the sharp barbs in their throats (evolved to capture and retain the jellies). This can lead to obstructions, and in some cases, even death.

The students mentioned some of the content taught by Tom in their year-end summary. I would love to see this program grow and reach more schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more of an office infrastructure to support a huge amount of growth of the program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I have donated to Save the Whales, Inc. for over 25 years. I have always been impressed by how they do so much with a very small staff and are completely dedicated to the cause of helping marine mammals keep their place on this planet. It's been inspiring to see how the organization has changed and evolved over time. As our understanding of what threatens the oceans is clearer, Save the Whales has shifted their energies to educate us about these new and increasing threats such as non-point source pollutants, plastics, sound pollution, and entanglement. Their commitment to educating others has been steadfast, through student programs, college interns, tabling events and their newsletters. I have also been inspired many, many times by other members (some very young) who have raised money (by a huge variety of means), consciousness and motivation to also help in the very long fight to give marine mammals a voice. I will continue to support Save the Whales, Inc. and their fantastic work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a steady source of income, so they could make long-range plans for programs and staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 10, 2011

I am a science teacher and underwater videographer. The Save the Whales website serves as a great resource for students seeking information about different marine mammal species and about the things ... more

June 11, 2013

Save the Whales does valuable conservation work on many fronts. Their Whales on Wheels Programs do a fantastic job educating students with engaging hands-on lessons. The Save the Whales website educates the world by providing accurate and up-to-date information about different marine mammals and the threats to their survival. Furthermore, the dedicated staff of Save the Whales goes above and beyond when threats to marine mammals become critical. Some examples of this are the fight against the Navy’s Sonar Ship Shock proposals, the Save the Whales targeted programs to save the highly endangered Vaquitas, and numerous ocean pollution programs. The Save the Whales staff live and breath conservation. They put their hearts and souls into their work. They are effective advocates for the health of marine mammals, our oceans, and ultimately the health of all living things on our planet.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2011

I am a science teacher and underwater videographer. The Save the Whales website serves as a great resource for students seeking information about different marine mammal species and about the things which threaten the health of these animals. I am impressed by the Whales on Wheels program which is inspiring students to get involved in the preservation of healthy ocean environments. While filming underwater in the ocean, I have been eye to eye with whales, dolphins and seals. I have had all of these animals look me in the eyes, and I have experienced their awareness. Huge whales have gently swam right next to me underwater and have shown no aggressive or threatening behavior towards me. Groups of dolphins have surrounded me underwater and have playfully clicked at me and twirled all around me. I have had mother gray whales bring their babies over to our boat so that we could reach down and gently rub their skin. I have seen these same whales roll on their sides to look up at us from underwater. I have been amazed and surprised by the behaviors of these animals and have come to appreciate how important it is for us to protect them. Save the Whales educates people about the splendor and beauty of these amazing animals and teaches how many of these animals are carelessly and not so carelessly being harmed or killed. I donate video footage to Save the Whales because I believe in their cause.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen Save the Whales inspire students and I have seen Save the Whales take strong actions to protect marine mammals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to reach more students with their education programs.

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers