Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

Approximately 23 years ago I was looking for a Valentine's Day gift for my husband. A small write-up in the newspaper talked about the gift of a manatee adoption, and I thought that was the perfect Valentine's Day present. Through that contact with Save the Manatee Club and their newsletters, my husband and I learned about manatees and their perilous and fragile existence, and we wanted to help in any way we could. We signed up as volunteers and were provided all the literature and facts we would need to staff a table at various events. As of February of this year, we are both still volunteering for Save the Manatee Cllub when there are events in our area, and we truly enjoy staffing these events together. Janice Nearing at SMC is especially helpful in furnishing all materials and information needed for events. We will continue to volunteer for this organization as long as we are able.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful to see my financial resources so Save the Manatee Club could expand and get the world out to even more people that manatees truly need protection.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014

I have been a volunteer for the Save the Manatee Club since 1997. When I first started, people would come to my table and ask "What is that animal" or the kids would say, "that is a really cute walrus or seal". With continuing education and awareness from groups like Save the Manatee Club, it has been a total turnaround, and almost everyone, including the children, who come to my table, know about Manatees, and share their stories with me. It is amazing how much the kids know and absorb and want to share their knowledge with us. Save the Manatee Club has been instrumental in getting this information out about this endangered animal. I always look forward to attending the festivals, fiestas, and nature events to help spread the word about my favorite marine mammal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything. They are very well organized, communicate with their volunteers, and keep everyone up to date on events and happenings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor for about 10 years and a volunteer for about 7 years (since moving to Florida). There are a couple reason I am involved:

Manatees and other aquatic animals need and deserve our protections. They are just trying to survive in a very difficult environment. They really
are some of the most helpless and dependent creatures in existence. The way we treat them is an indication of our stewardship of the planet.

In addition, manatees are an indication of the overall health of the state of Florida and the Caribbean. People come here the world over for our beautiful water. If we can't sustain native animals that have been here for millennia that is a bad sign for the overall condition of out state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to bring in more dollars to increase advertising and awareness of the precarious position the manatees are in. Encourage more responsible development of sensitive waterfront and rivers. Encourage boaters to slow down in manatee areas. More research into the cause and prevention of red tide which killed dozens of manatees last year,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014

I have been volunteering for Save The Manatee Club for about six years. During this time I've had the opportunity to get to know some of the staff, including Executive Director Pat Rose. The staff of Save the Manatee Club is a small group of very passionate and hardworking people who fight tirelessly to protect manatees and their habitat. I've been blessed know these people and to be involved with their cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their range with an office and visitor center in Crystal River, world famous "Home of the Manatees" and I would increase staffing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2014

If you're looking to support an organization that both positively impacts this generation AND future generations, you've picked the right one! As a volunteer for over 15 years with Save the Manatee Club, let me explain some of those impacts. By the way, I didn't just fall into this effort ... I sought out and trained for this specific volunteer position when I saw the huge positive difference that Save the Manatee Club was making toward preserving this magnificent mammal species and teaching thousands of people each year the responsibilities incurred as stewards of our planet.

Some life-changing experiences I have seen while volunteering in the education outreach program provide some examples. Several years ago I was speaking with a young couple who had just moved to Florida from the Midwest. They had never really heard of manatees, but, were very interested in the many programs offered through Save the Manatee Club. They not only became our primary volunteers, but Emily is now majoring in nature photography and Todd has created an app to identify manatees by their markings!

Another time, I was manning our education outreach booth at the Crystal River Manatee Festival when a little girl approached with her parents. She was about 7 or 8. She decided that for her birthday party that year, she didn't want any presents, but rather asked for donations for the Save the Manatee Club. She brought the money to our booth rolled up with a rubber band around it. As fate would have it, our Club co-founder, Helen Spivey, was there to thank the girl and pose for their picture together. As you can imagine, there wasn't a dry eye in that tent that day. You might have guessed, she’s going to do the same thing for her birthday next year.

Anyway, if you've read this far, then you're probably a person like me, who wants to give back in ways with positive impact. When you check out the website at savethemanatee.org you'll also see the many other projects with which the club is involved including research, legislative efforts, teachers/children materials & newsletters, and even international cooperative programs with Central and South America.

Whether you can volunteer or provide donations, you can be assured that your time and funds are going to support an organization that is, and will continue with support, making a lasting positive difference for our and future generations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to obtain more resources to enhance all the programs of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 17, 2014

About fifteen years ago I received an adoption gift of "Floyd", a manatee at Blue Springs Park.
I have been able to visit the park when Floyd made his annual trip for the winter months.
Since that time, I have renewed my adoption annually and I have given manatee adoption gifts to friends,
family, and co-workers. It is a "unique" gift that is well received and provides an opportunity to spread the word about manatee and share the idea of adoption.

I enjoy volunteering on behalf of the manatee. The Club's staff is very dedicated, efficient, knowledgeable, and appreciative of their volunteers.

I believe the commitment to education the Save the Manatee Club provides to the public is vital in creating awareness of the importance of long term protection of the Florida manatee.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish to see more funding resources available for the Save the Manatee Club to expand their rescue efforts and educational services in their efforts to protect the Manatee.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

While sponsoring an environmental club in the '90's at King High in Tampa, I was awakened to the plight of the manatee. For a Save the Manatee Club contest, my students wrote and performed a skit for fifth graders which dramatized a manatee cow escaping from a speeding boat, organized a manatee drawing contest, displayed them at Earth Day, judged them and awarded prizes. Who could have foreseen that the tiny trophy Green Lions won for this project would ignite in me a passion to educate folks on the importance of preserving the manatee?
For these last 13 years since retirement, I have volunteered with Save the Manatee Club to spread the word about this gentle, defenseless animal. My husband and I have worked education booths at events across west central Florida. I have done presentations at elementary and high schools and summer camps. We have found children and adults alike very receptive to our message and very thankful for the Club materials. In addition, on behalf of the Club I have written, emailed and phoned government officials and the Tampa Tribune to assure protections remained in place for manatee habitat. Working with other volunteers, speaking and writing for this cause has been an enriching experience. So I encourage everyone to join Save the Manatee Club, the most potently active club in Florida. Together each individual volunteer's impact will help insure an increased manatee population. Not the least, you will find Janice Nearing, the Club's Public Relations Director, both exceedingly skilled at organizing and personable. Since the manatees cannot thank you, she will!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I was introduced to the manatee as a child and was immediately smitten with this adorable animal. As a gift in the 80's, I became the adoptive parent of a Blue Spring manatee named Boomer and in 1990 I became a Save The Manatee (SMC) volunteer.

SMC is the primary guardian for manatee
protection and their mission is clear and challenging. SMC advocates for manatees by encouraging conservation efforts of the natural waters in which they live sponsoring rescue, rehabilitation, and release efforts, conducting research, compiling and maintaining data and statistics on manatee mortality rates, keeping track of federal and state laws related to spring(s) protection, educating the public with an attractive and educational website and by placing dedicated volunteers at a variety of environmental events and festivals in order to spread the word about manatees. SMC is staffed by professionals with a genuine concern for protecting manatees and they are effective at maintaining the momentum of the mission to protect manatees.

As a volunteer, being able to introduce others to the manatee fills me with joy and that is why I am still volunteering for SMC over 20 years later. I have built strong friendships with SMC staff and fellow volunteers and will continue to volunteer my time as long as SMC and the manatee needs my help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

Without a doubt, Save the Manatee Club has some of the most committed staff and the most passionate volunteers of any organization I have volunteered for. Organized, efficient, and always appreciative of everything we do, Janice Nearing is without a doubt the best PR person there is! I have had the privilege of working with them for over five years and I receive so much satisfaction in return. Endearing and endangered, our beloved manatees bind us together and motivate us to continually advocate for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of one change I would make. They function like a well-oiled machine!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

My spouse and I have been volunteers with the Save the Manatee Club for over 25 years. If they weren't doing exceptional work on behalf of the manatee we wouldn't believe in them half so much, but they are doing GREAT work and we are very very proud to be associated with them. We love educating people about the manatee and the help and protections it needs to survive. This organization has a very small professional staff who, in conjunction with their volunteers and other partner oganizations, are attempting to save manatee and dugong species worldwide. This has not been, and is not, an easy task. Protections fought long and hard for are under constant attack by commercial interests; and nature itself hasn't made it any easier either, like with cold stress and Red Tide. We can't do anything about natural causes, but we can do something about man-made causes like boating impacts, and habitat loss. The staff and other volunteers really do care about protecting manatees and do a good job of keeping everyone informed about issues they need to take action on. Keep up the good work guys and gals!

For readers learning about this organization here for the first time, please check out http://www.savethemanatee.org and give any major assistance that you can. One of the small ways for the general public to help is by adopting a manatee. There are specific named animals who have personalities and tracking histories back to the 70s and early 80s when the Club was founded. It's a fun gift too that keeps on giving to the recipient and the organization each year! Manatees have life spans of over 60 years in captivity but may only have a life expectancy of around 30 years in the wild.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We would arrange for more consistent long-term funding of all the Club's programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers