Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 2, 2014

Definitely one of the most fun, and hardworking non-profit programs out there for animals! You don't even have to be a local to be a member or a volunteer or adopt! Check them out today, and see what you can do to be apart of a great team and for a good cause!
September 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 29, 2014

I became a Save the Manatee volunteer after observing a recently released manatee, Pixie, in Blue Springs. Pixie ended up back in captivity for rehabilitation and I wanted to get involved and do what I could to help.
I am so impressed with SMC's recent advocacy for more sanctuaries in Three
Sister's Springs and advocacy against the proposed downlisting of manatees from the Endangered Species list.
I appreciate their partnerships with other organizations who are providing rescue, rehabilitation and release of injured manatees.
The website is very user friendly and provides a lot of educational information as well as webcams and links to track the tagged manatees.

SMC attends events to promote awareness and education and works to change policy for continued protections. I am honored to be a part of that.
September 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2014

Last year, I started volunteering with Save the Manatee Club. I care deeply about the potential loss of all the beautiful species of animals that took billions of years to evolve alongside us. As a resident of Florida, I can do something directly to help a beloved species here that is threatened. Save the Manatee Club is a great group of caring individuals who rescue and help to rehabilitate injured manatees while educating the public about how to protect them. Love it!
September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

It was when I purchased my home in Tarpon Springs, Florida in 1991 that I first became acquainted with manatees. I was totally captivated when I viewed them gathering in the bayou. As an educator of Second Graders for the past 49 years, I realized that I had to take the message of manatee survival to my children. Since 1991 my classes have composed beautiful poems in honor of these gentle giants and sent them to Maitland, Florida for all to read and enjoy. I am so proud of the fact that my last twenty-three classes are out in the world spreading the word about manatees and their fight for survival. They have learned that it is our responsibility to do whatever we can to preserve them for future generations. Having my class included in the documentary "Before It's Too Late" help make this message abundantly clear. The Save the Manatee Club and its efforts have been instrumental in helping me teach my children to be compassionate and empathetic towards others. These are the life lessons one should cherish. Each year my class also adopts two manatees and contributes to this worthwhile organization. Many of the children have also adopted on their own. Janice Nearing has been my contact at Save the Manatees and has been supportive of my efforts to present the story of manatees and the active role we must play to save them. I encourage all to join and together what a difference we can make!

Michele Manos, Forest Hills, New York

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 8, 2014

I supported Save the Manatee Club as a member for years. The day my husband and I had our permanent address in Florida I applied to volunteer. I knew it would be a rewarding experience, and I have not been disappointed. Best of all, I am helping Manatees!
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

As a most loyal manatee devotee, I am so grateful to have an organization like Save the Manatee Club (SMC) working to protect manatees. For nearly two decades, I have volunteered, contributed financially, and/or consumed their information. I am always impressed with the team at SMC, their resourceful efforts, their knowledge, and their thoughtfulness. SMC has achieved a dynamic that is constantly rejuvenating and inspiring. I appreciate how thoroughly they communicate and strive to work with all those concerned to determine viable solutions. I hope you too will support Save the Manatee Club.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

As a USCG licensed captain and an avid boater, I am continuously infuriated by the lack of awareness the boating community pays helpless sea creatures such as manatee. If it weren't for the continuous education efforts of this organization and its numerous volunteers one wonders if there would be any of these docile giants left to grace our planet.
August 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 26, 2014

The people are great to work for and it helping saving the environment and the manatees.
August 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 24, 2014

My experience working with Save The Manatee club was great from the first day volunteering with the club. I have been volunteering for around 2 years and it has been always a very rewarding experience. My husband and have gone on events together and have fallen in love with the manatees we've gotten the great privilege to see.

The organization has been great to work for and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!
August 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 24, 2014

My wife and I joined this organization about two years ago in the hope that it would be a fun and rewarding hobby for us. Not only did that prove to be true, we also fell in love with the manatees we got to encounter at some of our events. They're such lovely gentle creatures that deserve our protection!

The event coordinator, Janice, is very responsive, helpful and has been a joy to volunteer for. I would recommend this organization to absolutely anyone with time and a bit of heart!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers