Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 26, 2014

The people are great to work for and it helping saving the environment and the manatees.
August 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 24, 2014

My experience working with Save The Manatee club was great from the first day volunteering with the club. I have been volunteering for around 2 years and it has been always a very rewarding experience. My husband and have gone on events together and have fallen in love with the manatees we've gotten the great privilege to see.

The organization has been great to work for and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!
August 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 24, 2014

My wife and I joined this organization about two years ago in the hope that it would be a fun and rewarding hobby for us. Not only did that prove to be true, we also fell in love with the manatees we got to encounter at some of our events. They're such lovely gentle creatures that deserve our protection!

The event coordinator, Janice, is very responsive, helpful and has been a joy to volunteer for. I would recommend this organization to absolutely anyone with time and a bit of heart!
August 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 20, 2014

I have been working with Save the Manatee Club for over 14 years as an producer and designer of their collateral materials. The entire staff is dedicated, talented and most of all super friendly! It has been a true joy working with this organization who is completely devoted to saving the manatees!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing! Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 10, 2014

Eleven years ago I came up with an idea to host a 5K run that would raise money for manatees. Although I live in Michigan, the Save the Manatee Club has been encouraging and supportive during my event. I have had the opportunity to visit the Club numerous times and I was amazed to see such a small staff, doing tremendous amounts of work with limited funds. Many paid employees donate personal time to support manatee causes and volunteers are always welcomed, needed and appreciated. Money raised is used directly for manatee legislation and education, rescue, and rehabilitation. I know the money I raise and donate makes a difference. I can't say enough about the Club! I look forward to continuing my volunteering experience and highly recommend the Save the Manatee Club!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 9, 2014

I have been volunteering with Save the Manatee for many years. The whole group of volunteers are dedicated, upbeat and LOVE the manatees. Everybody works together as a team, helping each other to help the manatees. We are a group of hard working, smiling faces coming together for a compassionate cause. Yah! Save the manatees and have some fun while doing it. Nothing could be more rewarding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 8, 2014

As a previous and current volunteer and manatee advocate, adopter, and collector of all things manatee, I love volunteering for the causes that we stand for at Save-the-Manatee Club. We go into schools and promote/advocate for out favorite ocean mammal, we have booths at important festivals, events, schools, colleges, etc. We all work together for the common goal of saving manatees; whether if it is calling in an abandoned calf, making boaters aware of manatees swimming, letting people know not to feed, water, or ride the manatees, and just letting people know what manatees are, how they can help save them, and what they can do to help save our gentle sea cows.

This club does so much and I love that it is focused on one animal rather than a bunch. Sometimes non-profits lose track of what they are really working for, Save-the-Manatee Club is just that; a non-profit advocating and working towards the cause of saving manatees.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not sure what I would do- I might try to make the club more known to all people- not just the people that already know about manatees or like organizations, but to people that don't live on the coast or vacation near the ocean.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

I first became acquainted with manatees when a friend took me canoeing on the Crystal River. I had never been in a canoe before and had never seen a manatee before so it was quite a day. I started collecting manatee memorabilia soon after that because I became fascinated with the creatures. That collection has grown to over 100 items including books, magazines, figurines, pictures and frames. Each year for about ten years now I have exhibited my collection at the Florida Museum of Natural History in Gainesville, FL on their Collector's Day. In addition to talking to people about the collection, I hand out info given me by SMC so that others can learn about manatees and their problems.
My specialty is directing the attention of youngsters to the manatees. I have done several presentations at this same museum for their Dr. Discover program. These consisted of a movie, exercises that a manatee might do (barrel rolls, using their fins to change direction when they are swimming and munching on sea grass). After this I would read them a story and then we would do some related crafts. I got very good feedback from the children and the museum personnel. For several years I did programs for the Extended Day Head Start programs. I used the same methods but brought the presentation down to their level. Other times I have met other volunteers at festival days and present info and spent a lot of time talking to those who strolled by. As usual I tried to speak with as many children as I could.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change things. they are doing a wonderful job of educating the general public about the manatee and the perils they face. They are also very involved in the legal and political protection of manatees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 5, 2014

I have been volunteering with Save the Manatee Club for a little over two years now, and I really enjoy it. I participate in festivals and education tables that allow me to help raise awareness of issues affecting manatees, raise money for the club, and learn a lot myself. The group that I have worked with is a lot of fun, we are passionate about manatees and other issues that impact them, and we get to work at beautiful locations like Blue Spring State Park. I have walked in holiday parades and even manned a table at the roller derby, and I love it! It never feels like work, and it feels great helping a good cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it year round! I miss the club and events in the summer when events are less common. There is nothing that I dislike about volunteering with this awesome group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 4, 2014

My wife and I have been actively involved with the Save the Manatee Club for the last decade. The staff is extremely passionate, working toward helping manatees. A very fiscally responsible organization, money raised throughout the year is used for manatees. Great volunteer opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers