Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I was introduced to the manatee as a child and was immediately smitten with this adorable animal. As a gift in the 80's, I became the adoptive parent of a Blue Spring manatee named Boomer and in 1990 I became a Save The Manatee (SMC) volunteer.

SMC is the primary guardian for manatee
protection and their mission is clear and challenging. SMC advocates for manatees by encouraging conservation efforts of the natural waters in which they live sponsoring rescue, rehabilitation, and release efforts, conducting research, compiling and maintaining data and statistics on manatee mortality rates, keeping track of federal and state laws related to spring(s) protection, educating the public with an attractive and educational website and by placing dedicated volunteers at a variety of environmental events and festivals in order to spread the word about manatees. SMC is staffed by professionals with a genuine concern for protecting manatees and they are effective at maintaining the momentum of the mission to protect manatees.

As a volunteer, being able to introduce others to the manatee fills me with joy and that is why I am still volunteering for SMC over 20 years later. I have built strong friendships with SMC staff and fellow volunteers and will continue to volunteer my time as long as SMC and the manatee needs my help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

Without a doubt, Save the Manatee Club has some of the most committed staff and the most passionate volunteers of any organization I have volunteered for. Organized, efficient, and always appreciative of everything we do, Janice Nearing is without a doubt the best PR person there is! I have had the privilege of working with them for over five years and I receive so much satisfaction in return. Endearing and endangered, our beloved manatees bind us together and motivate us to continually advocate for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of one change I would make. They function like a well-oiled machine!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

My spouse and I have been volunteers with the Save the Manatee Club for over 25 years. If they weren't doing exceptional work on behalf of the manatee we wouldn't believe in them half so much, but they are doing GREAT work and we are very very proud to be associated with them. We love educating people about the manatee and the help and protections it needs to survive. This organization has a very small professional staff who, in conjunction with their volunteers and other partner oganizations, are attempting to save manatee and dugong species worldwide. This has not been, and is not, an easy task. Protections fought long and hard for are under constant attack by commercial interests; and nature itself hasn't made it any easier either, like with cold stress and Red Tide. We can't do anything about natural causes, but we can do something about man-made causes like boating impacts, and habitat loss. The staff and other volunteers really do care about protecting manatees and do a good job of keeping everyone informed about issues they need to take action on. Keep up the good work guys and gals!

For readers learning about this organization here for the first time, please check out http://www.savethemanatee.org and give any major assistance that you can. One of the small ways for the general public to help is by adopting a manatee. There are specific named animals who have personalities and tracking histories back to the 70s and early 80s when the Club was founded. It's a fun gift too that keeps on giving to the recipient and the organization each year! Manatees have life spans of over 60 years in captivity but may only have a life expectancy of around 30 years in the wild.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We would arrange for more consistent long-term funding of all the Club's programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

With the strongest of conviction, I have found the Save the Manatee Club to be a stellar organization second to none. With their steadfast dedication spanning over three decades, the club continues undaunted, to maintain it's efforts to protect the lives and habitat of one of nature's most endangered and iconic species, the Manatee.
Through personal observation, I have seen club's sphere of influence reach far beyond the state of Florida through nationwide awareness campaigns taking form as public service announcements, magazine features and the sponsoring of annual 5k runs in the state of Michigan, just to mention a few. They really know how to get their message out to public with great success.
On many occasions, I have personally met with the club's staff biologists, writers, public relations personnel, technical support team and volunteer members enough to say, with upmost sincerity, they are "all" truly committed to the noble efforts of the organization above and beyond the call. And, simply put, they're unmistakably nice hearted and kind people. For me,being a donor to the SMC for over twenty years is one of the best decisions I've ever made.
With the ever changing challenges within the environmental and political arena, I have witnessed, first hand, where the Save the Manatee Club has taken the leadership position in tackling some of the toughest community issues in order not only to maintain, but even more importantly to improve upon, the natural environment necessary for the propagation of the endangered Manatee. Suffice it to say, the Save the Manatee Club will not go down without fight as the strongest ally towards the steps essential to protect and save one of Mother Nature's most beloved creations, the Manatee. Way to go SMC!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How can you improve upon perfection?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

I moved to Florida from California 10 years ago. Even in California, manatees were my favorite. Once I moved, I was thrilled to be able to find an organization, practically in my back yard, that worked with manatees. Save the Manatee Club is an organization that puts about 80% of its earnings directly back to helping manatees. Believe me, if you saw their office space in Maitland, you would see that they don't keep much back for administrative costs or rent. They are a big presence in Central Florida. Volunteer coordinator, Janice Nearing, is a joy to work with and she works tirelessly getting a Save the Manatee table at as many events as possible. What Jimmy Buffet and Senator Bob Graham started years ago is thriving now and manatees are benefiting. I love that I was immediately put to work. There are many opportunities for volunteers- from the basic envelope stuffing, to manning tables at events to public speaking opportunities to raise awareness. Save the Manatee Club is a small organization with a wide reach and a big heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had an office in Orlando. The schlep to Maitland on often congested I-4 can be a bother. However, Maitland is more centrally located to manatees' wintering areas in inland springs, and also cheaper rent-wise. I can take a traffic jam now and then so more money will go in their coffers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Created almost forty years ago by women of South Florida who understood the necessity of changing the prevailing attitude of many Floridians and Americans generally about sea cows, he Club is an example of grass-roots organizing and fundraising to keep the science of manatees focused on protecting the animal and its surroundings. The Club sustains international research and recovery efforts to enable the shrinking populations of Trichechus manatees, or West Indian manatees from harm, further loss, or habitat destruction. As symbols of the wild shores both fresh and saltwater these manatee families are indicators of the water quality, seagrass health, and viability of our watersheds for innumerable other species.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers