Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.031755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

From all I read about Save the Children they do excellent work. I would not under any circumstances donate to an organization where the CEO receives a salary of almost $400,000. I can only imagine the organization's justification for this. Shameful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012

I have been looking for a charity that helps the improvished children of the world. Save the Children stands out from all the others. But I was amazed of the salary of the CEO. It is so contradictory of the work that this charity does. Do you really need almost $400K a year to live comfortably? I have always wondered where the funds are spent having managed a non-profit organization in Massachusetts. Even there it was questionable with management and paying for their families health care out of donations. I am reconsidering my donation to this organization. My money would be better spent traveling to these areas and giving the money directly to the families in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I constantly use the publications that Save The Children publishes. In particular, this year, I used the publication on teenage pregnancy being a leading cause of death in the developing world. This topic is not really addressed in the literature, but the Save the Children looks into this problem which is actually a really big deal. Thank you for advocating for this and many other forgotten or unaddressed causes. Your publications and research cis being used academically and professionally!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I think what you are doing is great. I hope one day I can help more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Great people working to help children, both throughout the world but also here in the United States. Their work is vital in getting food and education to underprivileged children, and to make sure that the governments are accountable to this often overlooked group. Our children determine our future, so we need to make sure they are given the opportunities needed to succeed, and Save The Children does this very well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Maybe I'm missing something here, but I'm thinking Charles F. MacCormack's (President, CEO) $391,194 salary could save a lot of children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are lots of organizations out there right now who claim to do good work and use your money wisely, but honestly, I don't think a lot of them are as transparent or responsible as Save the Children. I don't give to an organization I don't trust, but Save the Children does an incredible amount of work all over the world and the money really does go where they say it goes. They also want their programs to be self sustaining, even after they leave. Working with communities and families to develop solutions that have long term positive effects is an approach I will support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

As a longtime CT resident, I had been loosely familiar with Save the Children, having heard their name for 30+ years. I never quite knew exactly what they did - I always thought it had something to do with children in Africa. However as I traveled the world in the late 90's and early 00's, I begin noticing Save the Children offices/vans/staff in a lot of place: in the slums of Old Delhi, India; in a school in Kathmandu, Nepal; in the Mindanao, Philippines; in Indonesia responding to the Tsunami; in the Dominican Republic; and then in New Orleans helping to sort out the aftermath of Katrina. I have since become a supporter, donating to their Haiti earthquake response and Japan Tsunami response. I love what they do and any organization that helps hundreds of millions of children each year around the world is invaluable in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 11, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Clearly a worthwhile organization, and I strongly support the work they do. However, one should use caution if using monthly credit or debit cards to donate to their monthly program, because it can be difficult to discontinue the charges. There is no option to cancel at their Web site, so I mailed a letter asking them to discontinue the monthly charges to my account. Nonetheless, a charge appeared in my account two weeks later. About three weeks after that, I received a letter from them asking me to "update my account information"; they clearly still hadn't processed my cancellation, so I called and gave them a verbal cancellation. A charge AGAIN appeared on my account the following month! I think I finally got it straightened out with a repeat phone call.

One also wonders why they have such an expensive monthly sponsorship program; other charities seem to be grateful for smaller donations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through contacts with sponsored child(ren), and through hearing results of the work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer a monthly sponsorship program that is more budget-friendly. Save the Children already has one of the more expensive ones I've seen, and yet in recent weeks and months I've received requests to increase the amount I donate every month. They should also make it easier to discontinue sponsorship when that becomes necessary. It's already difficult when financial realities dictate that decision; they shouldn't make it even more so.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers