Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
123.9843845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Save the Children is a fantastic organization that invests an immense amount of resources, manpower, and money into improving the lives of children in the US and all around the world. Not only does Save the Children repond to humanitarian disasters around the globe that effect children and their families, but the organization is heavily involved in developiment programs and opportunities in education and other areas that benefit children as well. Save is one of the only organizations of its kind that is truly the positive voice of children in crisis for both developed and underdeveloped regions of the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their programs more readily available for children in the United States.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recommend Save the Children, both as a donor and as an employee, for the following reasons:
1) the organization focuses its services and programs for children both in the U.S. and around the world;
2) the talented staff are dedicated and results-oriented;
3) investing in children is
the smartest, most effective way to create a lasting impact.

Save the Children is a leader in the industry - driving best practices through collaboration, research, and evaluation. It's a priviledge to be a part of such profound work - work that saves lives, protects children from harm, and gives children the opportunity to learn and thrive.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Save the Children is an invaluable partner in carrying out lifesaving interventions through their health care programming and utilization of front line health workers. Their newborn and child survival efforts are absolutely essential. Their recent innovations and awareness efforts include kangaroo mother care, "steroid injections for women in preterm labor to reduce deaths due to premature babies’ breathing problems; • resuscitation devices to save babies who do not breathe at birth; chlorhexidine cord cleansing to prevent umbilical cord infections; and injectable antibiotics to treat newborn sepsis and pneumonia."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work in the industry and I deeply admire Save the Children's work. Having seen their work in Ethiopia during the hunger crisis last year, I can tell you first hand how effective and efficient they are. To see them teaching oppressed Somali girls to read and reviving children who were nearly starved to death was nothing short of miraculous. The best thing, though, was to see how much the children loved and trusted the staff. Their workers are among the brightest, nicest, most generous people I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I also like that they are independent and have a strong governing board and impeccable ethics. All around fantastic charity for a great cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Most importantly- Children are our future and so very fragile. My life would never have been as rough if I had help from this wonderful organization when I was young.

More feedback...

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From working in the financial sector of the nonprofit work for several years, I am always very concerned about where the money is being spent. Save the Children's administrative costs are very efficient. I am very comfortable recommending this charity, they put the children first.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of Save the Children when I was serving as a Peace Corps volunteer in Central America in the mid-1980s. I saw that they did excellent work that really helped disadvantaged children in poor communities. They also do great work during disasters like earthquakes, floods and famines. They have no political or religious agenda -- they just want to do what's best for kids, no matter who they are or where they are (including in the United States). They also have an excellent reputation for financial accountability. I think they put something like 90% of their funds towards programs, so they're not wasting people's donations on fundraising and excessive salaries. An investment in children is an investment in a better future for everyone, so I continue to support Save the Children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I'm an ordained Chaplain who was in the Peace Corps in 1977 living on $120 a month & loving it. I've had a non-profit for 20 years -Christ is Creator Ministries that has built an orphanage in Romania, helped women in crisis pregnancies, ministered to inmates in prisons, and done numerous mission trips in haiti, mexico & Romania. I did it all with very little if any help & seldom if ever ask for it. i believe God will provide & He has. My problem with huge non profits is they are without exception playing on peoples emotions and make it easy to salve their conscience about each of our responsibility before God to change the world ourselves. Every one of us needs to pour our hearts & lives into the terrible darkness of this world and make a change instead of thinking we can send a check and God owes us something. He demands the same thing Christ gave...everything.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It's simple. If you want to help poverty stricken children, STC is your best bet. forget all those other organizations. STC is by far the most reputable and efficient children charity out there. I dont know where all these negative views are coming from because in the world of charity anyone whose been around long enough has not only heard of Save the Children, but also recognizes it as one of the leading non-profits.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

throughout my travels in central America, Africa, and Southeast Asia I have experienced some of the worst conditions imaginable. wherever Save the Children sets up, they transform the place into a club med (joking). they create these refugee camps which are by themselves small cities. what I really like is how they train locals to help themselves and place a large emphasis on lifestyle change and education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus more on raising public awareness. How many people know that about 20% of the children in the USA are living in poverty.....????

March 7, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 7, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I worked for SAVE and while it is better than many organizations such as World Vision they are not good at providing the professionals needed to design a project or program. Often bad projects especially in education are developed. That is because professionals do not write the projects and they are destined to fail. Project managers are told to write positive reports anyway which I did many times. Corruption happens because their projects are not well managed or supervised. I could have easily walked away with the money for my project because there was no spot checking to see if I was doing what I was supposed to be doing. I met some of my colleages in the field who were doing just that. I saw other projects which were definitely irresponsible. This is in a former soviet country. I will not divulge the country. The project managers I met were also not of a very high quality.
I

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Former Soviet Country

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire people with better expertise, check for possible corruption within the office who are responsible for recommending the people who are getting the projects and have all projects and materials written in english to make sure someone in the home office knows what the project is about. Lastly, do surprise visits.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers