Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
123.9843845
| 1 ... 5 6 7 |
Write A Review
April 13, 2012

I trust Save the Children and have always been confident that my donations are going to help children around the world. I will be a donor for life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I donate $28.00 per month and support their. Don't like CEO compensation. Excessive. Neither do I like being continuously bombarded with their paper based repeat mailings. I find the frequency of their mailings intrusively obnoxious.Save a few trees and reallocate the dollars to more effectively their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

I am very impressed with Save the Children's fundraising and marketing campaigns. In addition to efficiently targeting thier main demographic though proven methods, they have recently branched out to target communities that are not traditional donors. For example, they partnered with a famous internet gamer to raise money through World of Warcraft and it was a successful venture. Thier use of social media has been effective at targetting the younger generation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I've contributed to Save the Children on a few occasions, and recently decided to become a child sponsor. $28/month is about my financial limit. World poverty and inequality are enormous issues that aren't going to be solved by NGOs, but until the world community decides to end poverty, I'll be supporting Save the Children. $.90 of every dollar I give to them goes to the field. The remaining $.10 helps ensure that those dollars are used in the most efficient, responsible, and sustainable way. I highly recommend Save the Children and encourage anyone to become a child sponsor or donor. You will not regret it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For the past 5 years, I've had the privilege of seeing Save the Children's work in the field first hand in Bangladesh. I'm ethnically Bangladeshi and my parents are from Bangladesh. I should also point out that Save the Children allowed me to go into the field with them despite not being an employee and NEVER EVER receiving any salary, stipend, or payment for my time in the field with them.

I also have to admit, before 6 years ago, I never had even heard of Save the Children. I learned about Save the Children from local Bangladeshis. You think Americans are skeptical about NGOs? You haven't met a Bangladeshi. In Bangladesh there is a saying which in English translates to "NGOs eat the cash". Yet, for some reason, Bangladeshis love and respect Save the Children.

Going into the field, not reading the brochures or watching the TV ads, I could see why Bangladeshis respect this NGO. What they do works and it changes lives. And, in the areas of disaster relief and child health, it directly saves lives and averts deaths. You are making a difference when you donate to this organization. I know this because I've seen it with my own two eyes.

Reading the comments about this charity, I can see that some people cite the CEO's salary as an issue of concern. But I'm writing this review in the wake of the scandal and controversy surrounding Invisible Children (an organization that only sends 37% of donations to the field). Quite frankly, I think there are a lot less efficient ways to spend your donation dollars.

Because the fact of the matter is many similar sized charities (e.g. World Vision, Red Cross, etc) have higher executive compensation. If how much the CEO gets paid gives you pause well then good luck finding another charity with as much experience, know how, scale, scope, reach, success, and (most importantly) RESULTS that pays their CEOs less than Save the Children.

And as a final note, in response to the person who gave Save the Children 1 out of 5 stars for issues with "their" sponsor child, what people need to understand is if you are sponsoring a child it's not YOUR child. You are helping a child - not owning them. And, especially in Bangladesh, many children simply don't have the means and resources to respond as often as we'd like.

Save the Children also works in a way that child sponsorship goes towards helping communities - not individuals. Because it takes a village to raise a child and so Save the Children works by transforming and empowering communities. And any good NGO that has a reputable child sponsorship program (e.g. World Vision) does the same.

Videos

Save the Children Providing Clean Water to an Entire Village

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bangladesh and the United States

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

From locals in Bangladesh

March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was very disappointed in my experience with STC. I became a donor in 2010 and chose a girl in Bangladesh as "my" child. I looked forward to hearing about her life there, and had visions of my son and she writing back and forth. Not too long after I joined I received a copy of a picture she drew. I sent a letter to her praising the picture, asking to tell me about her day, etc. A couple of months later I got a very brief, 5-7 line letter from her. And.......nothing else since then. I sent her another letter about a year ago, a birthday card last fall, and an e-mail in December. Nothing. I emailed SAT in Connecticut, but got a standard "We can reduce the number of communications to you if you want (i.e. their pitches for more money), but no response to my question of why I was getting no mail from my sponsored child. I sent a snail mail to Connecticut in January asking them to stop charging my credit card (and explaining why). The letter was never acknowledged, and the charge showed up on my Feb. bill. I called their main office, and the lady I spoke to was sympathetic, but did not know why I had received no response from my sponsored child in over a year. I'll know in a few days if she cancelled the monthly charge like she said she would. To this day I've never received a response to my snail mail. What happened to it I wonder? It's too bad because they *appear* to do good work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012

I have been very happy overall with Save the Children. I sponsor 4 children through them currently, in 3 different countries, although 3 of those are rather new, and I don't have data on them yet. But I've sponsored a child continuously through them for about 18 years (4 different children). They are great about sending regular updates, and handwritten letters and drawings from the sponsored children. I have sponsored the girl in Nepal the longest, and it gives me an immeasurable joy to see how she has progressed over the years... when I first started sponsoring her she looked frightened and probably didn't have much of a future, being a girl in a culture that favors male children, and being an Untouchable (Dalit) in a poverty-stricken community. I am able to send her small gifts, which the STE country coordinator emails me about promptly, to say what was received. In the past, I've even received photos of my sponsored child with my gifts! So I know they arrived, and that she got them. I actually love to write to the children, and I have read a statistic somewhere that sponsored children who receive letters from their sponsors (even just one letter a year) do significantly better (some 30% or so) academically than children who do not receive letters. I can't change the whole world, but maybe I can help a few people out there. And Save The Children makes that possible. I traveled to Nepal a few years ago, and while I wasn't able to make it to the far-flung region where my sponsored child is, I was able to meet with the STE country coordinator in Kathmandu. She was great -- she made time to meet with me and she was incredibly kind and thoughtful even though I'm not a big donor to STE. I really like the STE website which allows donors to login, see photos of their sponsored children, and see what is being done in their specific communities. Also, their website (after you've logged in) allows you to send an email message to your child. This is a great feature! The only negative thing I have to say about STE are that if a child moves out of STE's impact area (something over which STE has no control) they will give you a new child to sponsor. That has happened to me twice, and it makes me sad....because of course you want to see the child grow and flourish. I think that when kids turn 18 in the STE program, they are "done" and at that point you get another child. But I don't see how STE can do much about whether or not a child moves out of their impact area. I have heard people complain a about being bombarded by mail from STE, but that hasn't happened to me or anyone I know. I get regular (but not overboard) mailings from STE, just enough to keep me informed. I do wish there was a way for me to continue sponsoring my child for longer. I know that the Christian Foundation for Children and Aging allows donors to sponsor the children through their twenties (for university or trade school or whatever) for the same cost as sponsoring a child in grade school or high school ($30/mo). I wish that Save the Children offered a similar program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

CEO 2009 compensation $365,130 (source: Charity Navigator). I donate about $350 per year to STC. 1,042 donations of $350 are required to pay just the CEO's salary. Does that seem a bit excessive to anyone other than me? I am considering re-directing my money to another organization where the CEO's salary is more reasonable. Any suggestions?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to support STC's midwifery training program. I had a list of specific questions about the program that were answered via email by the Acting Associate Director of Operations for the Newborn and Child Survival Campaign. It has been my experience that other charities do not offer such one-on-one communication. When I have a question a representative guides me back to their website.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It's simple. If you want to help poverty stricken children, STC is your best bet. forget all those other organizations. STC is by far the most reputable and efficient children charity out there. I dont know where all these negative views are coming from because in the world of charity anyone whose been around long enough has not only heard of Save the Children, but also recognizes it as one of the leading non-profits.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

throughout my travels in central America, Africa, and Southeast Asia I have experienced some of the worst conditions imaginable. wherever Save the Children sets up, they transform the place into a club med (joking). they create these refugee camps which are by themselves small cities. what I really like is how they train locals to help themselves and place a large emphasis on lifestyle change and education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus more on raising public awareness. How many people know that about 20% of the children in the USA are living in poverty.....????

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers