Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
123.9843845
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Sponsor of a child for 5 years. We correspond regularly. The wonderful thing about the child sponsorship program is that the funds go to the community, not just the child we sponsor. We hear about where our donations are going - to education, health programs, better equipment and supplies for schools - and it feels good to know that we are helping a community provide the right tools for children to get a better start in life. Some of the children in their programs have gone on to become health workers in their communities, or teachers, or even become Save the Children employees! This is a terrific organization with programs this world needs to become a better place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

On international issues, I respect the opinions of New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof. When he said Save the Children is a good organization, that was good enough for me!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of Save the Children when I was serving as a Peace Corps volunteer in Central America in the mid-1980s. I saw that they did excellent work that really helped disadvantaged children in poor communities. They also do great work during disasters like earthquakes, floods and famines. They have no political or religious agenda -- they just want to do what's best for kids, no matter who they are or where they are (including in the United States). They also have an excellent reputation for financial accountability. I think they put something like 90% of their funds towards programs, so they're not wasting people's donations on fundraising and excessive salaries. An investment in children is an investment in a better future for everyone, so I continue to support Save the Children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful organization that really understands the needs of kids and how best to address them. First learned about them during the Haiti earthquake, think I saw them on CNN or some major news network. Before donating I did some research on them and learned they do a lot more than just emergency response. (On that note, they aren't "ambulance chasers", when they respond to emergencies they actually have worked in the country for decades.) They do education and health and a load of other stuff with communities. I also recently learned that they work here in the US which is important to me. (We should be helping ALL kids around the world, but I have a special place in my heart for my fellow Americans.) Sometimes they send too many e-mails but I live with it since the issues are important.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

As a longtime CT resident, I had been loosely familiar with Save the Children, having heard their name for 30+ years. I never quite knew exactly what they did - I always thought it had something to do with children in Africa. However as I traveled the world in the late 90's and early 00's, I begin noticing Save the Children offices/vans/staff in a lot of place: in the slums of Old Delhi, India; in a school in Kathmandu, Nepal; in the Mindanao, Philippines; in Indonesia responding to the Tsunami; in the Dominican Republic; and then in New Orleans helping to sort out the aftermath of Katrina. I have since become a supporter, donating to their Haiti earthquake response and Japan Tsunami response. I love what they do and any organization that helps hundreds of millions of children each year around the world is invaluable in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for Save the Children in January 2012. It is an amazing organization to be part of! Not only are the peope very dedicated to their jobs and the mission, but the organization as a whole prides itself on being accountable for their actions. What could be a better cause then helping out children in the USA and around the world! Save the Children has been around for many years and they have helped millions of children and their families. After volunteering for few months, I was hired and work for the organization full time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Save the Children sponsor for a couple of years now, because a friend of mine was already a sponsor. And more people should do it - especially with an organization as trustworthy as Save the Children. I became involved after visiting part of the developing world in Africa, where I felt somewhat hopeless and wanted to do something. So this friend recommended I sponsor a child there, which I do now and I am expanding my list of sponsored children every year, including a child in New Mexico. It's gratifying, and I know my money is being put to good use. Save the Children knows how to get things done, plain and simple. Every organization that raises money will send you things via the mail, etc - that's what they do. I also work with a wonderful animal shelter and I have an inside view on their fundraising - you have to do those kind of things to raise money to keep the lights on and do the great work these groups do! If you don't like the mailings, just pitch them - or give them to someone. But spending $28 a month or giving a donation to Save the Children will be the best donation you've ever made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I feel that Save the Children is a good steward of my funds. And I enjoy visiting their website to see updates on the different programs and emergencies they help with.

Photos

Videos

Save the Children – Who We Are

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Hunger Crisis

Why did you make your donation at this time?

There was a match

What would you tell others about this organization?

Yes

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I'm an ordained Chaplain who was in the Peace Corps in 1977 living on $120 a month & loving it. I've had a non-profit for 20 years -Christ is Creator Ministries that has built an orphanage in Romania, helped women in crisis pregnancies, ministered to inmates in prisons, and done numerous mission trips in haiti, mexico & Romania. I did it all with very little if any help & seldom if ever ask for it. i believe God will provide & He has. My problem with huge non profits is they are without exception playing on peoples emotions and make it easy to salve their conscience about each of our responsibility before God to change the world ourselves. Every one of us needs to pour our hearts & lives into the terrible darkness of this world and make a change instead of thinking we can send a check and God owes us something. He demands the same thing Christ gave...everything.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

I always donate to worthy causes--and this one is definitely one. I typically consult with Charity Navigator before proceeding. Save The Children Federation, Inc. is a worthy cause. I learned from my beloved mother's loving example to help mothers and children. This charity means so much because it supports an enormously worthy cause, which means so much to me in carrying on our tradition. Also, Save The Children has teamed up with The Red Cross in providing children with centers of their own during natural disasters like hurricanes and tsunamis--on a global scale. I am especially proud to have pioneered this safe space concept. So, during natural disasters, children are occupied with fun activities instead of dwelling on what can be quite traumatizing, they are in an atmosphere of loving kindness. When I found out that The Red Cross took my concept from Hurricane Andrew and teamed up with this charity in taking my concept global, I knew it was a great cause because it shows that Save the Children really loves and worries about a child's well-being--on all fronts--physical and mental. I will continue supporting them and would love to even help them further at some point, in the future. May God bless each and every one of the mothers and children, as well as this worthy organization, which (despite paying their CEO kindly), remains one of the highest rated charities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I read about the expansion of the concept (safe space) during natural disasters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lower executive compensation--and I have an M.B.A. myself. This is something I would do for free if I could--especially since I was a business school student pursuing my M.B.A. when I pioneered the concept--as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

ABC's Nightline program on May 29, 2012. Given the way my loving mother raised me with beautiful example, I could not bear watching the sad stories.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

For the same reason I just wrote of, immediately above.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I already did!!! :) I shared it on Facebook a few time and stated I was doing something about the Nighline episode I shared, and sharing this charity in case someone else wanted to donate.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers