Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
123.9701545
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was away for 2 weeks, there were 4 appeals from them in my mail when I returned, I got another today, this time with address labels. How much of my previous donations did they waste on begging for more and yet another round of address labels ? Is there anyone who gives charitably who needs more of these ? On top of all that I found today that they pay their CEO almost 400K a year. Another wildly overpaid "charity" employee. I have asked to be removed from all their records as their way too frequent appeals are bordering on harassment, and the CEO makes way more than I ever have .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Persistent and annoying phone calls for additional donations despite repeated requests to be removed for this organizations phone solicitation list(s). To the point that I refuse to donate any more to this organization. A shame since I know they do good work but there are plenty of others who do as well and don't continually harass their donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

My story with STC goes back a couple of years ago. As a professional and teacher in the online space I was looking for a non-profit so my online MBA students could have a good learning environment. Since then, we have established a great relationship with the STC staff and I have contributed time and money to this inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Sponsor of a child for 5 years. We correspond regularly. The wonderful thing about the child sponsorship program is that the funds go to the community, not just the child we sponsor. We hear about where our donations are going - to education, health programs, better equipment and supplies for schools - and it feels good to know that we are helping a community provide the right tools for children to get a better start in life. Some of the children in their programs have gone on to become health workers in their communities, or teachers, or even become Save the Children employees! This is a terrific organization with programs this world needs to become a better place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

On international issues, I respect the opinions of New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof. When he said Save the Children is a good organization, that was good enough for me!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of Save the Children when I was serving as a Peace Corps volunteer in Central America in the mid-1980s. I saw that they did excellent work that really helped disadvantaged children in poor communities. They also do great work during disasters like earthquakes, floods and famines. They have no political or religious agenda -- they just want to do what's best for kids, no matter who they are or where they are (including in the United States). They also have an excellent reputation for financial accountability. I think they put something like 90% of their funds towards programs, so they're not wasting people's donations on fundraising and excessive salaries. An investment in children is an investment in a better future for everyone, so I continue to support Save the Children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful organization that really understands the needs of kids and how best to address them. First learned about them during the Haiti earthquake, think I saw them on CNN or some major news network. Before donating I did some research on them and learned they do a lot more than just emergency response. (On that note, they aren't "ambulance chasers", when they respond to emergencies they actually have worked in the country for decades.) They do education and health and a load of other stuff with communities. I also recently learned that they work here in the US which is important to me. (We should be helping ALL kids around the world, but I have a special place in my heart for my fellow Americans.) Sometimes they send too many e-mails but I live with it since the issues are important.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

As a longtime CT resident, I had been loosely familiar with Save the Children, having heard their name for 30+ years. I never quite knew exactly what they did - I always thought it had something to do with children in Africa. However as I traveled the world in the late 90's and early 00's, I begin noticing Save the Children offices/vans/staff in a lot of place: in the slums of Old Delhi, India; in a school in Kathmandu, Nepal; in the Mindanao, Philippines; in Indonesia responding to the Tsunami; in the Dominican Republic; and then in New Orleans helping to sort out the aftermath of Katrina. I have since become a supporter, donating to their Haiti earthquake response and Japan Tsunami response. I love what they do and any organization that helps hundreds of millions of children each year around the world is invaluable in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for Save the Children in January 2012. It is an amazing organization to be part of! Not only are the peope very dedicated to their jobs and the mission, but the organization as a whole prides itself on being accountable for their actions. What could be a better cause then helping out children in the USA and around the world! Save the Children has been around for many years and they have helped millions of children and their families. After volunteering for few months, I was hired and work for the organization full time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Save the Children sponsor for a couple of years now, because a friend of mine was already a sponsor. And more people should do it - especially with an organization as trustworthy as Save the Children. I became involved after visiting part of the developing world in Africa, where I felt somewhat hopeless and wanted to do something. So this friend recommended I sponsor a child there, which I do now and I am expanding my list of sponsored children every year, including a child in New Mexico. It's gratifying, and I know my money is being put to good use. Save the Children knows how to get things done, plain and simple. Every organization that raises money will send you things via the mail, etc - that's what they do. I also work with a wonderful animal shelter and I have an inside view on their fundraising - you have to do those kind of things to raise money to keep the lights on and do the great work these groups do! If you don't like the mailings, just pitch them - or give them to someone. But spending $28 a month or giving a donation to Save the Children will be the best donation you've ever made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers