Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.127915
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Save the Children is an invaluable partner in carrying out lifesaving interventions through their health care programming and utilization of front line health workers. Their newborn and child survival efforts are absolutely essential. Their recent innovations and awareness efforts include kangaroo mother care, "steroid injections for women in preterm labor to reduce deaths due to premature babies’ breathing problems; • resuscitation devices to save babies who do not breathe at birth; chlorhexidine cord cleansing to prevent umbilical cord infections; and injectable antibiotics to treat newborn sepsis and pneumonia."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for STC for well over a decade. I've had some things happen in the past that I wasn't too happy about...for instance, when the little girl I chose to sponsor moved out of the area, I was just randomly assigned a new child without being told, given the choice to cancel my donations, or pick another child myself. All in all, it was a minor thing, so I let it slide. Then, my credit card expired. I kept meaning to call, and kept forgetting (I was pregnant with my daughter and had an extremely rough time, being on bed rest for 3 months at home, one in the hospital, so forgive me for it slipping my mind.) I had forgotten about updating my card, but no need to worry, STC somehow did it for me...that's right, they somehow found my new card info and started billing me again...WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. The final straw, I went through a pile of mail last night and found yet another mailing from them. I get mailings at LEAST once a week (most of them, like this one, have something about important account info on them.) I was about to throw it out, when a little voice in my head said to open it. I opened it and read the letter inside. THANK GOD I did. They are now sending out letters telling people that they are going to automatically raise my DONATIONS by $3 a month! I have to send in a slip of paper in order for them NOT to do this. Needless to say, I am so over this charity, and I will be cancelling all donations to them from here on out

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The amount of mailings they send out, their dishonesty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My Goddaughter sponsors a little girl through Save the Children and it's been wonderful for both girls. They correspond like pen pals. It's great way to teach young people the importance of charity, compassion, multicultural sensitivity and the positive power of getting a letter in the mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I'm happy to see that my donations have been going to a 4-star organization. However, I don't plan on contributing any additional dollars, since Save the Children has risen to the top of my list of obnoxious charities, sending me requests for funds by mail every few weeks, interspersed with frequent phone calls. Since I have a policy of annual donations only, most charities disappoint but Save the Children heads the list. Incidentally, I am contacted by the Salvation Army once or twice a year and I was happy to increase my donation to this group last year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

As a son of a non-profit CEO I am also outraged by the salaries of STC and World Vision executives. As a leader in Christ, you are called to sacrifice, not enrich yourselves. My father would at times pay his staff before himself - indeed even sometimes borrow. They rested on their faith, meeting for prayer every morning, and God did not fail to provide the needs of the staff and my family, as well as the constituents of the organization around the world.

I am ashamed that I have supported these two organizations for a decade without ever researching the salaries you pay yourselves. Enjoy your reward now Mr. MacCormack and Mr. Stearns, and encourage your cohorts to fully embrace theirs as well. For it is built upon the suffering of those whose stories you exploit for gain. Consider yourselves paid in full.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

To those who are surprised or offended by the salaries of the leaders of this organization, I would ask you to consider the enormity of their work. This is a charity that is managing over half a billion dollars annually. This charity has a global reach. The level of sophistication required here, demands the best and the brightest talent available. I can assure that these salaries are far less than these leaders could garner in private enterprise. Perhaps this is the reason that Save The Children has such a high rating from Charity Navigator and the donors themselves.

God bless you all,
-Ken

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work in the industry and I deeply admire Save the Children's work. Having seen their work in Ethiopia during the hunger crisis last year, I can tell you first hand how effective and efficient they are. To see them teaching oppressed Somali girls to read and reviving children who were nearly starved to death was nothing short of miraculous. The best thing, though, was to see how much the children loved and trusted the staff. Their workers are among the brightest, nicest, most generous people I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I also like that they are independent and have a strong governing board and impeccable ethics. All around fantastic charity for a great cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

From all I read about Save the Children they do excellent work. I would not under any circumstances donate to an organization where the CEO receives a salary of almost $400,000. I can only imagine the organization's justification for this. Shameful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Did lots of research trying to find an organization to donate to at year's end. After some extensive vetting I'm very satisfied with this one. Not only do they get very high marks for financial efficiency, they have a lot of awards and commendations for the quality of the programs. (So they aren't just fiscally prudent, the money actually does good.) I was also happy to see that they have programs that range from disaster response to education and that sort of thing. Certainly in the top tier of charities that help kids!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012

I have been looking for a charity that helps the improvished children of the world. Save the Children stands out from all the others. But I was amazed of the salary of the CEO. It is so contradictory of the work that this charity does. Do you really need almost $400K a year to live comfortably? I have always wondered where the funds are spent having managed a non-profit organization in Massachusetts. Even there it was questionable with management and paying for their families health care out of donations. I am reconsidering my donation to this organization. My money would be better spent traveling to these areas and giving the money directly to the families in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers