Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.137935
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

At first, I just thought that STC had a skeptical record keeping system. Now, I feel after reading reviews written by others that there may be intentional maneuvering involved. I first became a sponsor in 2008. Over the last six years, all of my original children have left the program and have been replaced by other children not of my choosing. The first mismanagement of funds occurred when my Visa was doubled charged for sponsored children. I was able to get this stopped. Then, a few years later, my Discover Card was doubled billed by STC sending the card over the credit limit. After I called STC, the Discover card company was concerned because rather than refunding the amount, STC arranged to make all of my sponsorships be $18 per child per month. I paid the over the limit amount from my bank account. Since then, I've paid by check. In 2014, when I used my MasterCard to start a new sponsorship, I found that STC had charged two additional payments even though I was paying by check. Then when STC moved, two of my May checks were lost and though they have been found they have yet to be deducted from my account making it necessary for me to mentally do this every time I do my online banking. Family, friends, and church members have urged me to stop giving to STC. I still have four children in sponsorship after reluctantly giving up four others I feel that STC has me over a barrel due to the relationships I have developed with these four children. Giving to an organization should not be a stressful heartache. I urge people to find other worthy sponsorship and global assistance charities to donate to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

come up with a viable record keeping system.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My mom has been sponsoring children at Save the Children for over 40 years. It was nice to grow up in a home where we learned about needy kids and hwo to help them. I help Save the Children now. It's a nice family tradition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We do get an awful lot of solicitations, but I guess they need the money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I had a great time volunteering with Save the Children. I mostly did administrative work, but I did do some fun, challenging project and attended very informative briefing from their staff experts. I came to know how committed they are to being super efficient and totally respecting the donor's wishes. Nothing goes to waste here - you'd think they were an environmental group with all the recycling and everything.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to go into the field and see the programs, but as a volunteer, those opportunities are quite limited.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 21, 2014

This organization has been taking money from my bank acct after I have tried numerous times to cancel my donations. I would urge you to never engage in any donation with this group. I was finally driven to close my bank acct to get rid of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

I sponsor two girls here in the USA and have for several years. I appreciate the work that Save the Children is doing. Especially that I was able to select girls in the USA to sponsor, in order to support children here in the States that need just as much assistance as those in other countries. While the donations are not allotted for your specific child, I am hopeful that the money I am donating actually goes to the children here in the USA, rather than abroad. I have questioned my membership several times, but feel that this organization is still beneficial, so I continue to make monthly contributions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I find the process rather impersonal. I think that Children International has a much more donor-friendly approach to the work they do. I would make the donation at least seem to be more personal, rather than giving you a child to sponsor that is not directly affected by your personal contributions. I would update the website to include more information about the children you are sponsoring, such as personal favorites, like activities, books, colors, animals, school subjects, etc.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

My review is not reflective of the work of STC but from the perspective of a long term donor. Every month for 30 years STC has debited my bank account with me increasing the gift periodically as funds were available. That is until this summer when I notice the amount coming out increased by 12%. I contacted donor services and was told that they had sent me a letter "inviting" me to increase my gift and since I didn't contact them to say not to, they went ahead and did. I had to prevent them from increasing not agree to it. In the tone of the response, the increase was my fault. I was incredulous.

The anonymous donor services rep offered to reverse the increase if I had been offended. I responded to end the donation since I felt I could no longer trust them not to try to slip something by again. The response to this was not what I would have expected to a 30 year donor. I was no longer sponsoring anyone specific and obviously my gift was not sufficient and the "opt out" method got them more increases than drops. Even still, when they ended the draw they ended just the base gift and I am having difficultly getting the "increase" stopped.

Donors should not have to work hard at giving and through me sharing my experience with colleagues and friends they have lost many more donors than just me. I will direct my gift to a organization that hasn't so many donors that it can blatantly risk offending and still come out ahead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Save the Children is a fantastic organization that invests an immense amount of resources, manpower, and money into improving the lives of children in the US and all around the world. Not only does Save the Children repond to humanitarian disasters around the globe that effect children and their families, but the organization is heavily involved in developiment programs and opportunities in education and other areas that benefit children as well. Save is one of the only organizations of its kind that is truly the positive voice of children in crisis for both developed and underdeveloped regions of the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their programs more readily available for children in the United States.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recommend Save the Children, both as a donor and as an employee, for the following reasons:
1) the organization focuses its services and programs for children both in the U.S. and around the world;
2) the talented staff are dedicated and results-oriented;
3) investing in children is
the smartest, most effective way to create a lasting impact.

Save the Children is a leader in the industry - driving best practices through collaboration, research, and evaluation. It's a priviledge to be a part of such profound work - work that saves lives, protects children from harm, and gives children the opportunity to learn and thrive.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Save the Children does amazing work. It's nice to know that they focus on children. While some of the kinks are still being worked out, as they have grown substantially over the last 10 years, they have managed to respond to disasters when children needed them. It was surprising to learn that they setup safe spaces for children after the Sandy Hook shootings and they were on the ground in Oklahoma helping everyone get back to "normal". People don't realize when there are tornadoes that means day cares are shut down and parents are faced with finding emergency child care so they can go to work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a clearer message that is easier for everyone to understand the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Today I received a "Cold-Call" masquerading as a local cellphone origination. I was greeted with a Boiler Room voice pleading with me to increase my very long-standing donation. I listened to the pitch and then asked for a supervisor. The supervisor told me that they were "representing Save The Children." I explained to her that their company's business model was deeply flawed and that I would hold Save The Children responsible for perpetrating a phone scam in pursuit of additional revenue. As a result of becoming a victim to this tactic I will have to very seriously reconsider the continuation of my 15+ years of support for Save The Children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop cold call campaigns entirely

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers