Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.031755
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

I sponsor two girls here in the USA and have for several years. I appreciate the work that Save the Children is doing. Especially that I was able to select girls in the USA to sponsor, in order to support children here in the States that need just as much assistance as those in other countries. While the donations are not allotted for your specific child, I am hopeful that the money I am donating actually goes to the children here in the USA, rather than abroad. I have questioned my membership several times, but feel that this organization is still beneficial, so I continue to make monthly contributions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I find the process rather impersonal. I think that Children International has a much more donor-friendly approach to the work they do. I would make the donation at least seem to be more personal, rather than giving you a child to sponsor that is not directly affected by your personal contributions. I would update the website to include more information about the children you are sponsoring, such as personal favorites, like activities, books, colors, animals, school subjects, etc.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

My review is not reflective of the work of STC but from the perspective of a long term donor. Every month for 30 years STC has debited my bank account with me increasing the gift periodically as funds were available. That is until this summer when I notice the amount coming out increased by 12%. I contacted donor services and was told that they had sent me a letter "inviting" me to increase my gift and since I didn't contact them to say not to, they went ahead and did. I had to prevent them from increasing not agree to it. In the tone of the response, the increase was my fault. I was incredulous.

The anonymous donor services rep offered to reverse the increase if I had been offended. I responded to end the donation since I felt I could no longer trust them not to try to slip something by again. The response to this was not what I would have expected to a 30 year donor. I was no longer sponsoring anyone specific and obviously my gift was not sufficient and the "opt out" method got them more increases than drops. Even still, when they ended the draw they ended just the base gift and I am having difficultly getting the "increase" stopped.

Donors should not have to work hard at giving and through me sharing my experience with colleagues and friends they have lost many more donors than just me. I will direct my gift to a organization that hasn't so many donors that it can blatantly risk offending and still come out ahead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Save the Children is a fantastic organization that invests an immense amount of resources, manpower, and money into improving the lives of children in the US and all around the world. Not only does Save the Children repond to humanitarian disasters around the globe that effect children and their families, but the organization is heavily involved in developiment programs and opportunities in education and other areas that benefit children as well. Save is one of the only organizations of its kind that is truly the positive voice of children in crisis for both developed and underdeveloped regions of the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make their programs more readily available for children in the United States.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recommend Save the Children, both as a donor and as an employee, for the following reasons:
1) the organization focuses its services and programs for children both in the U.S. and around the world;
2) the talented staff are dedicated and results-oriented;
3) investing in children is
the smartest, most effective way to create a lasting impact.

Save the Children is a leader in the industry - driving best practices through collaboration, research, and evaluation. It's a priviledge to be a part of such profound work - work that saves lives, protects children from harm, and gives children the opportunity to learn and thrive.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Save the Children does amazing work. It's nice to know that they focus on children. While some of the kinks are still being worked out, as they have grown substantially over the last 10 years, they have managed to respond to disasters when children needed them. It was surprising to learn that they setup safe spaces for children after the Sandy Hook shootings and they were on the ground in Oklahoma helping everyone get back to "normal". People don't realize when there are tornadoes that means day cares are shut down and parents are faced with finding emergency child care so they can go to work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a clearer message that is easier for everyone to understand the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Today I received a "Cold-Call" masquerading as a local cellphone origination. I was greeted with a Boiler Room voice pleading with me to increase my very long-standing donation. I listened to the pitch and then asked for a supervisor. The supervisor told me that they were "representing Save The Children." I explained to her that their company's business model was deeply flawed and that I would hold Save The Children responsible for perpetrating a phone scam in pursuit of additional revenue. As a result of becoming a victim to this tactic I will have to very seriously reconsider the continuation of my 15+ years of support for Save The Children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop cold call campaigns entirely

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a resident of Fairfield County, I am honored and thrilled to have such an outstanding organization in our community. Their tireless effort to raise awareness for children is inspiring. What I have come to appreciate most about Save the Children is their ability to respond immediately to emergencies here in the United States and overseas. During Hurricane Sandy this past year, Save the Children responded almost immediately, setting up child friendly spaces for the children displaced by the storm. Even almost a year after Hurricane Sandy, Save the Children is still helping victims of the storm rebuild their lives. Their work in Newtown is also something that should be recognized. Save the Children was a present figure after the Newtown tragedy, setting up spaces where kids could learn to cope with the tragedy they witnessed.

I am proud to be a Save the Children supporter. They are a fantastic organization and deserve tremendous credit for all the work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Save the Children is an invaluable partner in carrying out lifesaving interventions through their health care programming and utilization of front line health workers. Their newborn and child survival efforts are absolutely essential. Their recent innovations and awareness efforts include kangaroo mother care, "steroid injections for women in preterm labor to reduce deaths due to premature babies’ breathing problems; • resuscitation devices to save babies who do not breathe at birth; chlorhexidine cord cleansing to prevent umbilical cord infections; and injectable antibiotics to treat newborn sepsis and pneumonia."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for STC for well over a decade. I've had some things happen in the past that I wasn't too happy about...for instance, when the little girl I chose to sponsor moved out of the area, I was just randomly assigned a new child without being told, given the choice to cancel my donations, or pick another child myself. All in all, it was a minor thing, so I let it slide. Then, my credit card expired. I kept meaning to call, and kept forgetting (I was pregnant with my daughter and had an extremely rough time, being on bed rest for 3 months at home, one in the hospital, so forgive me for it slipping my mind.) I had forgotten about updating my card, but no need to worry, STC somehow did it for me...that's right, they somehow found my new card info and started billing me again...WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. The final straw, I went through a pile of mail last night and found yet another mailing from them. I get mailings at LEAST once a week (most of them, like this one, have something about important account info on them.) I was about to throw it out, when a little voice in my head said to open it. I opened it and read the letter inside. THANK GOD I did. They are now sending out letters telling people that they are going to automatically raise my DONATIONS by $3 a month! I have to send in a slip of paper in order for them NOT to do this. Needless to say, I am so over this charity, and I will be cancelling all donations to them from here on out

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The amount of mailings they send out, their dishonesty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My Goddaughter sponsors a little girl through Save the Children and it's been wonderful for both girls. They correspond like pen pals. It's great way to teach young people the importance of charity, compassion, multicultural sensitivity and the positive power of getting a letter in the mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers