Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I can see Mt. Diablo from my front yard and want to continue to see the pristine mountain w/ as few houses climbing up the foothills as possible. Thanks to Save Mt. Diablo, this will be possible. I have been a member and a volunteer for years and am grateful that they exist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

i would like to be honest..i'am not a volunteer because i'am not from USA, i live in Tunisia ,however, i want to write...i have the pleasure of being fan of save mount diablo, it's a great organisation and i would like to thank all the staff and volunteers especialy my best friend Beryl Anderson who told me about SMD and she explained to me many concepts :))

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

I thought … What could be better than donating to a local non-profit organization? Especially Save Mount Diablo, which in its short life (41 years) has accomplished more than any other group in its mission to “preserve, defend, and restore” land on Mount Diablo and its foothills.

Now I
know. What’s even better is attending SMD events such as bird watching, exploring archaeological sites, discovering native plants, and studying geological formations. There are camping, hiking, cycling, running, and horseback riding events too. Also work parties for trail maintenance and habitat restoration.

Get involved. Supporting natural and wild habitats for people, animals, and plants is a BIG job. There’s plenty of opportunities to help, in the office and on the mountain.

Dedicated folks, worthy goals, and significant local impact. What could be better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had been a member of and donor to Save Mount Diablo for years, when in December 2009 having been retired for a few years, I decided to join a work party one Saturday. That day volunteers were planting native plants at a site along Marsh Creek in order to restore the creekside and native habitat with the aim of creating a safe wildlife corridor. After spending that day out in the country, away from congestion and noise, in the fresh air, with the sun at my back, in the company of congenial people, digging in the dirt, I was hooked. I am now a member of the Save Mount Diablo volunteer crew known as DiRT (Diablo Restoration Team), planting native plants, trees and grasses at three different sites, weeding and watering them as needed. DiRT is only one of many volunteer opportunities Save Mount Diablo offers. This particular activity allows me to make a contribution to the community I live in while indulging my love of the out of doors. I've learned so much working with SMD staff and volunteers about local wildlife and their habitat, about educating the public about the importance of preserving green space and about organizing to protect important natural and wildlife assets. I enjoy being able to combine my love of the out of doors with this important volunteer activity and have made some great new friends in the process. I can highly recommend this organization for its effective use of volunteers, for its successful and ongoing educational, preservation and advocacy activities, and for the sheer fun of working with SMD staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I learned of Save Mount Diablo through the Trail Challenge and later as a volunteer. To me their efforts to preserve the mountain for the critters that live there and the folks who enjoy communicating with them are monumental. They obviously are passionate about the mountain. Walk hike, run on the mountain to see what I mean.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Save Mount Diablo's passion for the land was obvious to me when I picked up a copy of their newsletter, Diablo Watch, about 15 years ago. I became involved as a volunteer at that time and have continued ever since. The group has created and nurtured a large pool of volunteers from the community--always a telling barometer of community support. Their fund raising is legendary, and their support from the local business community equally impressive. They have been involved in preserving literally thousands of acres of precious land on and around Mount Diablo. Their staff is dedicated and engaged in their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I always wondered what the Bay Area looked like before cattle and development arrived. Through Save Mt. Diablo I have gained a fascinating insight into the natural history of this area: In my case by removing non-native plants and restoring native species particularly along Marsh Creek. Birds, bugs, reptiles, amphibians and mammals all benefit from the restored habitats. The work is satisfying and enlightening even when it's just weeding. Meeting similarly interested people in some of the more pristine habitats of our area and hearing their knowledge and experience makes for a great day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I wanted to find a nonprofit that was close to home, would have a direct impact on our area, and was a worthy cause. I found Save Mount Diablo through this site and was so impressed with the immense amount of work they accomplish every year: land acquisition, educational hikes, land restoration, fundraising events (hike, bike and horse races, a silent auction, etc) and more. The vast number of programs made it easy for me to find a place as a volunteer. I chose to work with promoting the Diablo Trails Challenge 50k, and administering donations for the Moonlight on the Mountain gala. The staff here is extremely welcoming. They all knew my name after my first day. I have comfortable office space to work at, or I can choose to work from home on certain tasks. I can choose when I work, weekday or weekend, and if I work alone or with a partner or committee. Finally, I really feel like I am making a difference. I didn't realize that 40 years ago there were only 7,000 acres protected. Now there are 100,000 spread throughout 38 parks, but there are still 80,000 more unprotected acres.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my enjoyment of the numerous parks in the area that Save Mount Diablo has helped to protect over the last 40 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue growing it to create an even greater presence in the region, which would help raise more funds and inspire more advocates to protect the remaining 80,000 acres.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I was introduced to many new people who care about the environment as much as I do. I have sharpened my FileMaker Pro skills.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like the staff here really cares about the Mount Diablo area, and that the volunteers are much appreciated AND crucial to protecting the land.

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

Save Mount Diablo acquires, protects and restores land on Mount Diablo. I learned about them through Diablo Trails Challenge which one of their events promoting recreation and the value of Mount Diablo. At the event I learned that half of the mountain is at risk of being lost to development (not yet part of the State Park or regional parks). They had an event on one of their properties to help restore the habitat around Marsh Creek. It was beautiful and I had a great time. Its really amazing how much getting your hands dirty can connect you to nature and help you feel the value of what you're doing! I know they have a lot of opportunities for volunteers so if planting and weeding isn't your thing there are still plenty of ways you can help. They are fun and genuine people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help plan and host fundraisers such as trail races, a silent auction, and bike race; replant native species along protected watershed; do outreach at community events like health fairs and farmers markets; or lead an educational hike. Volunteer