Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I can see Mt. Diablo from my front yard and want to continue to see the pristine mountain w/ as few houses climbing up the foothills as possible. Thanks to Save Mt. Diablo, this will be possible. I have been a member and a volunteer for years and am grateful that they exist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

I have lived in the Mount Diablo area for several years, and it took me a while to learn that Save Mount Diablo even existed, let alone was needed. As it turns out, about half of the mountain ecosystem is still unprotected. I'd hate to see a massive development next to the park, or find a trail that ends at a private fence. Worse still would witness the side of a mountain scraped off for mining, or a pristine meadow used for inappropriate purposes like a landfill (this almost happened! search for round valley near marsh creek). I don't have time to volunteer, but I do enjoy the views of the mountain and occasional hike on Diablo and or drive to the Summit. I want to keep it that way, so I donate every year to this non profit. I have the utmost confidence that they make the best use of my money. They publish an annual report, so I can see that over 90 cents of each dollar goes to buying land. I learn which land was acquired, how it is being restored, and why it is important. There are special invite only hikes to explore new park land. Also, Save Mount Diablo doesn't waste paper, my time, or their time, by sending me a bunch of unnecessary mailings, begging for more money. They keep me connected without being inundated. I feel good knowing my money is helping save something that we can all enjoy. I hope you consider donating as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

great views of the mountain unblemished by development, hiking the many long trails, breathing cleaner air and drinking cleaner water from the protected ecosystem/watershed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

They do incredible work and I think they're the best land conservation group in the bay area. They accomplish a lot for having a small staff and meager operating budget. They are clearly dedicated to what they do!

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I had the chance to join SMD on its 4-Day Diablo spring trek last year. It was among the most enjoyable 4 days of our lives--seeing so many corners of the diverse and beautiful land they have worked so hard to preserve. Staffmembers, volunteers and Board Members are hard working and knowledgeable. Their tremendous sense of mission and fun is truly inspiring; they have an espirit de corp that has to be experienced to be believed. I don't know when I have seen so much talent woven together into a cohesive whole. Count us in as life-long members! Nancy Dakin Woltering

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

My family came here in 1965 and since then Mount Diablo has been the landmark to which we are awed my God's creation and majesty as He created it. Even now as I look out my window I am so blessed to see this purple mountain's majesty of of our town in our beautiful nation. Growing up I enjoyed hiking and biking all over, picnics with family, friends, school and my son's Boy Scout's group. I pray that we save this amazing landscape and preserve it as it was origianlly intended and for all the families who treasure it here now and to come in future generations. Your perserverance in this organization is very much appreciated! Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

I live just feet away from a piece of land where I can take a stroll under beautiful heritage oak trees and see red tailed hawks, bobcats and deer. I have Save Mt. Diablo to thank for this slice of heaven that brings so much beauty to our neighborhood.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

i would like to be honest..i'am not a volunteer because i'am not from USA, i live in Tunisia ,however, i want to write...i have the pleasure of being fan of save mount diablo, it's a great organisation and i would like to thank all the staff and volunteers especialy my best friend Beryl Anderson who told me about SMD and she explained to me many concepts :))

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

Love Save Mount Diablo! They keep us up to date on all the important information regarding Mount Diablo and the surrounding hills. They always are quick to jump on a deal that saves land for future generations and the animals that live there. I appreciate their work so much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

I thought … What could be better than donating to a local non-profit organization? Especially Save Mount Diablo, which in its short life (41 years) has accomplished more than any other group in its mission to “preserve, defend, and restore” land on Mount Diablo and its foothills.

Now I
know. What’s even better is attending SMD events such as bird watching, exploring archaeological sites, discovering native plants, and studying geological formations. There are camping, hiking, cycling, running, and horseback riding events too. Also work parties for trail maintenance and habitat restoration.

Get involved. Supporting natural and wild habitats for people, animals, and plants is a BIG job. There’s plenty of opportunities to help, in the office and on the mountain.

Dedicated folks, worthy goals, and significant local impact. What could be better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had been a member of and donor to Save Mount Diablo for years, when in December 2009 having been retired for a few years, I decided to join a work party one Saturday. That day volunteers were planting native plants at a site along Marsh Creek in order to restore the creekside and native habitat with the aim of creating a safe wildlife corridor. After spending that day out in the country, away from congestion and noise, in the fresh air, with the sun at my back, in the company of congenial people, digging in the dirt, I was hooked. I am now a member of the Save Mount Diablo volunteer crew known as DiRT (Diablo Restoration Team), planting native plants, trees and grasses at three different sites, weeding and watering them as needed. DiRT is only one of many volunteer opportunities Save Mount Diablo offers. This particular activity allows me to make a contribution to the community I live in while indulging my love of the out of doors. I've learned so much working with SMD staff and volunteers about local wildlife and their habitat, about educating the public about the importance of preserving green space and about organizing to protect important natural and wildlife assets. I enjoy being able to combine my love of the out of doors with this important volunteer activity and have made some great new friends in the process. I can highly recommend this organization for its effective use of volunteers, for its successful and ongoing educational, preservation and advocacy activities, and for the sheer fun of working with SMD staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I learned of Save Mount Diablo through the Trail Challenge and later as a volunteer. To me their efforts to preserve the mountain for the critters that live there and the folks who enjoy communicating with them are monumental. They obviously are passionate about the mountain. Walk hike, run on the mountain to see what I mean.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help plan and host fundraisers such as trail races, a silent auction, and bike race; replant native species along protected watershed; do outreach at community events like health fairs and farmers markets; or lead an educational hike. Volunteer