Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This amazing organization is very unique as it is 100% volunteer with no salaries to be paid out of donations. All money raised is used to create awareness of the law and to help carry out it's life-saving mission of helping new mothers choose a responsible alternative to unsafe abandonment.

It saves the lives of the most vulnerable among us....an innocent newborn infant and places it in a loving arms of a couple who were eagerly awaiting the babies arrival.

Please help us save more lives. Talk about it, tell a friend.....you just might save a life!
Bob Geras

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Develop an effective way of getting the mission perpetually self funded with regular generous donations to spead awareness of the law so there won't ever be another dead baby found in a dumpster.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 8, 2013

This organization advocated for the Ililnois Safe Haven Act. Now, they have been responsible for saving 84 lives! more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been privileged to be allowed to volunteer with Save Abandoned Babies Foundation (SAB) for several years now. I continue to be amazed by the dedication and pure motives of this group. Responsible for passing the Illinois Baby Safe Haven Law (an unharmed infant, 30 days old or less, may be left safely with personnel at hospitals, fire fighters, police officers and emergency medical professionals, the group's sole mission is stated by its name.

Today's work is to educate all individuals in Illinois about the Law and to prevent the illegal abandonment of infants whose parents don't want or can't keep them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be very surprised! It's tremendous!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

This organization advocated for the Ililnois Safe Haven Act. Now, they have been responsible for saving 84 lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to grow a board of directors with a solid commitment to raising funds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

All volunteer and all public education, SAB strives to ensure people know that Illinois offers a safe option for a desperate parent in crisis. By handing your unharmed baby, 30 days old or younger, to staff at any hospital, emergency medical facility, staffed fire station, police station, or college, university police departments. You can walk away with no questions asked. The baby will be cared for and placed in a loving home for adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As parents of a Safe Haven baby, my husband and I are incredibly grateful for the tireless work the Save Abandoned Babies Foundation does on behalf of those who do not have a voice. Without the Safe Haven law, which SAB, was instrumental in enacting we might not have our precious son. In addition to the wonderful folks at SAB we are thankful beyond measure of our son's birth parents. They could have chosen to leave their son in an unsafe place when they could no longer care for him. Instead they had the courage to take the little one to a safe place knowing that he would be well cared for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The mission of SAB is clear - to increase awareness about the Illinois Safe Haven Law so that lives are saved - lives of the innocent babies and the future of the parent. Volunteers of SAB are committed to this mission and work hard to spread the work through all avenues - through schools, through the media, through community health fairs, but largely by word of mouth. The efforts of this organization are effective and there is still much to be done until everyone knows that this law works to protect babies and their parents. The organization taps into the talents of each member so each person feels they are making a meaningful contribution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I recently met one of our saved babies. To see the beautiful smile of a baby that might have not survived had our law not been in effect is truly gratifying! At SAB, you know that you are making a difference, and saving lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be great to be able to afford full time project/admin staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

As one of the founding members of Save Abandoned Babies Foundation back in 2000, The Safe Haven Law (which SAB wrote and lobbied to get passed in August of 2001) has allowed 84 newborns to be safely relinquished under the law and placed in adoptive homes with loving parents. This law allows a parent to safely relinquish an unharmed newborn up to 30 days old to a STAFFED police station, fire station, hospital emergency room or medical emergency facility without fear of prosecution. SAB is dedicated to publicizing the existence of the Safe Haven Law, passing legislation to make the law better and trying to eliminate newborns being thrown in the trash and killed. 100% of the donations are used for this purpose, we are an all volunteer organization committed to saving newborn lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

The Save Abandoned Babies Foundation is on the forefront of important legislation and awareness programs in an effort to save babies lives. Whenever we hear news of a newborn who has been abandoned and left to die, we all feel sadness, but we also know there is work to be done to ensure everyone is aware of Illinois' Safe Haven Law. The foundation is run and supported by incredibly dedicated individuals, all of whom volunteer their time and talents without pay. It is a labor of love. We became involved when our daughter was safely handed over through the Safe Haven Law and eventually made her way to us through adoption. We have come to know many families who have also adopted Safe Haven babies and all these children are so precious. It is through the diligent efforts of the Save Abandoned Babies Foundation that the birthmothers of these children had an alternative to them that may well have prevented a terrible tragedy. Thanks go out to all the staff and volunteers of this very important charity that does so much good. They create loving families, save the lives of babies, provide peace of mind to birthmothers, and so much more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

SAB is a wonderful organization. I can only hope it gets the recognition and publicity it deserves to do good for future babies. Word of mouth helps, but the press would be better. I believe it would be utlized more if the general public if it was communicated more broadly. Can't thank SAB enough for one of the most precious gifts in my life!
Margie7

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Not only a legitimate cause, but a legitimate organization. Monies given to this charity are not utilized to pay staffers or board members. Every person involved, from the founder to the board to the volunteers donates their time and energy without compensation. The Save Abandoned Babies Foundation is responsible for rescuing the lives of over 50 infants, and placing them anonymously with families throughout Illinois. Unlike many charities or non-profits who have asked for time, SAB was unique in it's passion, commitment and dedication to the creation of Safe Haven laws, all done purely out of selflessness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

SAB is a cause that is extremely important to me and SAB is 100% about educating people with knowledge that is not only life changing but life saving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pass out brochures Volunteer