Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am very proud to say that I am a volunteer and a financial supporter of Save a Forgotten Equine or SAFE. This organization is very devoted to and passionate about its mission, which is to rescue, rehabilitate, and re-home horses in need. The group of people that manages this organization are professional, energetic, talented, and genuine. They work tirelessly to ensure the organization is successful, healthy, and viable. I admire their devotion to this important cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a few key upgrades to the current SAFE facility, like plumbing the property with hot water.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

SAFE takes the placement of their horses extremely seriously. They know that the proper match, not just a home is critical.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Safe is a wonderful non-profit to be a part of! They keep their volunteers, sponsors and anyone who wanders across their website connected to everything. I felt like I already knew the horses so well before even stepping into the stable. They are open with their thoughts and goals and make sure they let everyone who supports them know just how much they are a part of the organization. It is very obvious that they always keep what is best for the horses in the front of their minds. I regularly point people toward them and will continue to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

SAFE is a great place to volunteer with horse time and friendly folks to work with. They take excellent care of the horses. The horses get plenty of food, clean water, grazing time, training, vet care, and love from everyone. Safe practices are in place to keep horses and volunteers from getting hurt. Lines of communication are open with emails, signs on stalls, and information on a white board. Only wish I had more to to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I started at SAFE this summer and was welcomed with open arms right from the start. I was immediately impressed with their grapevine of communication and the way they are structured...leaving no room for confusion. They are really great at trying to help you find your own nitch-comfort zone. They are well organized and very clearly have the best interest of every single horse they take in...no matter what the story is...each horse is treated equally and respectfully. I appreciate how quickly they move to get the proper care for the new horses and how they seem to have things pretty well streamlined to get them back into a normal life as soon as possible. What is most surprising to me is the way they never give up on a horse no matter how bad things get...and even if a horse is in their last days they do everything possible to make sure their last days are dignified and as comfortable as possible...that means more to me than words can ever say. I hope to be involved and support SAFE for many years to come. What I like most is that even though I don't have the financial support available for them at this time, that I am still allowed to help in other ways... There seems to be a place for everyone, whether you donate money, supplies, time, love or muscle... it's all welcome and appreciated...and I swear it sometimes seems like the horses actually know we are all there just for them!! LOVE..LOVE..LOVE you guys!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

SAFE is a committed, engaged and thoughtful group that is very devoted to the well-being of abused and neglected horses. They are practical in approach, not overly sentimental and at the same time, loving and compassionate. I appreciate the regular updates on horses, neglect cases and adoptions on the website and Facebook. I began volunteering this summer with little experience around horses and limited availability and was welcome all the same. As a donor, my monthly gift was immediately acknowledged graciously and gratefully.

Although I've since learned more horse handling and care skills, I feel like any effort I contribute at the barn is meaningful. I've had the opportunity to meet and connect with some great horses in a small setting and love working with them. SAFE is a great community of people and horses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I feel honored to support S.A.F.E. both financially and personally. What impressed me most about this organization initially is its commitment to rescue only as many horses as it has resources to help. It's clearly not a one-size-fits-all operation - it's responsibly run by an amazingly dedicated and energetic core of horse loving volunteers. Having been around horses most of my life and away from the barn for about 25 years, I'm especially pleased to be able to be back amid the wonderful smells and sounds of horses and responsible for their feeding one evening a week. Every encounter with the organization has been positive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a wonderful piece of acreage reasonably priced where SAFE could enlarge its operation and permanence in the northwest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

SAFE is a stand-out horse rescue and I'm so glad I found it after moving to the area. I was welcomed and put to work immediately doing whatever needed to be done--exactly what I was looking for. The barn is well-run, the leadership is pragmatic and involved, the volunteers dedicated to keeping the horses healthy and happy, and all funds go towards the care of the horses and the upkeep of the facility. Thanks for everything you do, SAFE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I moved from Michigan to Washington and was looking for an organization to volunteer with. The landscape of Northern Washington is very different from Metro Detroit! I knew this area could offer me new opportunity's . I decided to volunteer at a horse rescue but which one? I didn't know my way around very well, ok I didn't know my way around AT ALL. I honestly choose SAFE because it was in one of the few cities I knew. It was the BEST random decision. I'm coming up on 2 years of being a part of SAFE. I love the horses, the facility, the other volunteers. You can give as little or as much of your time, money, or heart; and they are grateful for it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I only started volunteering at SAFE a couple weeks ago, but I already feel as if the barn is my home away from home. Every volunteer I have met has been so friendly and wonderfully helpful! Being at the barn is always the best part of every day I am there, and on the days I can't I am wishing I could be! Even the smallest volunteer tasks can make a huge impact in the lives of these horses and you can see the appreciation in their sweet faces. When I turn the horses out in the afternoon, it is so much fun to watch them frolic and run around in their paddock. Its like they really understand they've been given a second chance at life because of SAFE.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make each day longer than 24 hours so I can spend more time at the barn! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers