Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I wanted to "get to know a horse".

I tried other rescues but they were involved with human therapy and I was unable to get close to a horse.

SAFE allows you to make a difference in the life of a horse. I have met many, become friends with several, fallen in love with a number;
none of whom I will forget! ! !

I have been able to make a difference in a horse's life and they have certainly made a difference in mine.

All thanks to SAFE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm one of those horse lovers who can't afford their own horse, but wants to get "barn time" under their belt. And I can't afford donating money or tack, but I have a lot of time and elbow grease.

I volunteer a couple of hours each week to two equine related non-profits in my area. At
S.A.F.E., I do basic barn chores (mucking, feeding, watering, little odds and ends as requested) and find my time there to be rewarding, and informative. Due to the varying age, health and training backgrounds of rescued horses, I'm learning much more about all things equine that relate to horse behavior and healthcare, than I could ever learn just taking lessons at a conventional lesson barn, even though I'm not actively involved with the vetting and training of the rescues at S.A.F.E. Everyone is always really friendly, and happy to answer my sometimes dumb questions, which is much appreciated.

For prospective volunteers... Volunteers don't generally get to ride horses at rescues, and S.A.F.E. is not an exception. This has never been a problem for me, as that isn't what I do my volunteering for, but it's good to keep in mind, if you're considering volunteering in exchange for lessons.

The orientation was a little shallow and quick compared to what I'm used to at other places, be they work or volunteer orientations. People with any kind of "I rode horses as a kid"-type of experience will get the hang of it in no time, but if you don't have a lot of horse experience, just make sure to ask questions as you go along. Nobody will force you out of your comfort zone, but just make sure to ask for information, or help if you're unsure. Everyone is happy to help, which to me, is the draw and keeps me waking up early on my volunteer days, to go there again. :)

My favorite part in volunteering for a horse rescue is to find out a horse has been adopted. Sure, I'd love to bring them all home with me, but I know better, so whenever I hear or the happy endings and new homes, I get a sense of collective accomplishment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I might require that staff and volunteers to wear name tags when on site. I have a really hard time keeping names in my head, and attaching them to faces. Especially since not every volunteer and staff member knows each other due to different schedules, sometimes there is a moment of "Who are you, and what are you doing here?" going on until introductions are done. Some kind of 2-page orientation hand-out would be nice for people getting used to a new place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been volunteering at SAFE for about four months, it is a magical place. To see a skinny little horse with limited people skills grow into a round horse with good ground manners is really something to see. All of the volunteers are people who really love horses and it shows through the daily chores and feeding. Whenever there is a call out for help there is always people there to give a helping hand. This is a great origination that has really touched my life and I hope in the future that I can do more to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering at SAFE after I visited one of their open houses and wanted to get involved helping abused/neglected horses. What I have discovered through volunteering at SAFE is these folks are are totally committed to the welfare of these horses. All the decisions are made based on what is BEST for each individual horse. They are also very inclusive and friendly and really make you feel appreciated. I really can't say enough good things about this organization. I just wish I could do more to help them. I would recommend them as a place to volunteer or a place to adopt your next horse. One thing you can count on is that they are the "real deal" every day taking care of their horses!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how the horses health improves and the horses lives are changed for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need a barn and they have plans for one but can't afford it now.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met some very nice people there.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel energized and better after a day of work at SAFE; even when the work requires a bit of labor.

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

As a volunteer at SAFE I have witnessed first hand the remarkable recovery of many neglected horses. This organization is run by a group of smart, dedicated horse lovers who tirelessly work to improve the lives of those they rescue. They have the connections and knowledge to do this efficiently and offer full disclosure of their finances and fund raising efforts. It has been a very inspiring learning experience helping out the herd.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

What a great organization! My 10 year old daughter raised money for her birthday to donate to help a horse rescue. She emailed 6 of them, and this is the only one which responded. They were very kind and told my daughter that she was amazing to choose to donate instead of getting gifts. We ended up driving 3 hours to bring a horse blanket to one of the horses personally. The people at SAFE were really great and do great work for the horses..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a veterinarian and deal with a lot of animal "rescue" groups through my work. Often times I am appalled at the efforts of the "rescue organization" and don't feel they are doing the animals much of a service and sometimes questionable neglect. So when I encountered S.A.F.E; another rescue group, my expectations were not high. But the organization had the perfect horse that I so desired, so I pursued my interest. I drove up to Monroe, WA to visit "Willow" and was extremely impressed with the provisions for the horses, their condition, their cleanliness, and the love that was shown to the horses. Many of the horses were out in green pastures and not standing in mud, all had clean stalls at night to sleep in, and many had adjoining runs. The horses were clean, had blankets, and good quality feed. The fences were secure and safe for horses. The facility had a beautiful arena and was clean in general. Jamie who runs the Monroe site was extremely friendly, knowledgeable on each of the horses, and showed enormous amounts of love and compassion for the horses. I adopted Willow and in doing so acquired an amazing horse. Willow had a harrowing tale of abuse and neglect and through it all became an amazing and beautiful horse thanks to the rescue efforts of S.A.F.E. Willow's tale was open for all to see and one could follow her story and her physical appearances as she slowly turned from a walking skeleton who lost her foal, back into the gorgeous mare she was intended to be. I have since followed the S.A.F.E. organization on their website, and than on Facebook and am always impressed with the amount of care they put into each horse, the stories they share, the energy and inspiration they exude. I could not recommend this organization enough. Their horses are well taken care of when in their hands and they are looked after once they leave this facility and enter into their "forever" home because S.A.F.E. follows up annually with each of the horses to assure they stay safe in the years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

How did you find this group?

online searches

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I have been a volunteer with SAFE (Save a Forgotten Equine) since April 2011. I very much enjoy my work (farm chores) and am impressed by a number of their "success stories". To see the transformations that take place in some of the worst neglect/abuse cases is truly remarkable. I am impressed with their placement procedures for rescued horses and the efforts they make to match the prospective horse with the adoptive family's needs to best insure that the new partnership is a success for both horse and human alike. Their continued involvement (i.le. site visits) to monitor the welfare of placed horses is also impressive. No horse ever seems to be forgotten once he/she leaves the rescue facility.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I started working with SAFE back in March 2011. I grew up with horses and missed being around them. I found SAFE and felt drawn to help this organization that gave these beautiful animals a second chance at life. Many of the horses there have come from rough backgrounds, and you can tell they are so happy when someone comes up to greet them and take interest in them. It's so rewarding to see all the horses personalities come out when they are happy and secure because they know that they have guardian angels at SAFE looking out for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I think that SAFE is an outstanding nonprophet orgonization that deserves more recognition and awareness. I have been with SAFE for a year and a half and they have done many amazing things since I have been there. I first heard about safe when a news paper article talked about how SAFE had gone to a slaughter house and found Buckey-B-Luckey, the grandson of Seattle Slew. They have gone far above the expectations that I had for them. Since I have been there they have rescued lots of forgotten equine, built stables so they can rescue more, and found homes for quite a few of the rescued horses. I enjoy going to SAFE because everyony there is friendly and helpful. When I go to SAFE I muck the stalls, groom and feed the horses, cleen the water troughs, and fall in love with the horses. I feal that the horses we rescueed lives have been changed for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers