Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
October 3, 2011

more

October 3, 2011

As a oncology nurse, I meet with patients on the day of their follow up visit with their surgical oncologist. If they are meeting with me, it is because they have been told they need to start chemotherapy. Patients were hoping to never have sit across the desk of an oncology nurse and learn all about chemotherapy. The satchels of caring provide a warm human touch to the binders filled with pages of information that can seem so daunting on this day. The women I have distributed the hand-made satchels like them very much, it truly can bring a smile to their face when they remember all those volunteers that are out there and care about them. I believe that when we incorporate the satchels to their first visit, they begin to understand there are groups and services out in the community and they are reaching out to them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2011

more

October 3, 2011

Our patients sincerely appreciate these lovely, one-of-a-kind bags. It's a little bright spot on an otherwise bleak horizon. They really enjoy being able to pick out there own bag and always comment on how pretty all of them are. The fact that they are lovingly made by such talented volunteers makes them even more special. The nurses are happy to have something so nice to offer to new patients. You help make us look 'good', too. Thanks for all you do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My position as an oncology nurse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Each item is unique and carries a personal touch from a caring individual.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2011

more

October 3, 2011

Our Oncology office acts as a conduit to provide these wonderful bags to women affected by Gynecologic Maligancy. At a time when their world is faling apart, a little ray of sunshine in the form of a beautiful handcrafted tote is given to them and in a small way gives them hope. The bags are fileld with comforting and inspirational items. It is uplifting for the patients to know that someone, a strnger, is reaching out with kindness and healing wishes through these Satchels of Caring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

Four years ago my niece, Angie, was diagnosed with acute leukemia. A friend volunteered at an organization called Satchels of Caring. They provided a satchel to Angie. It was filled with therapeutic and inspirational items for women with cancer, including a soft turban, headscarf, journal, bookmark, inspiration message, relaxation music CD, hand/body creams, lip balm and other items. Angie not only used many of the items, but also wrote in the journal daily. Angie’s son Aaron was only 7 when she died and his grandparents are now raising him. They used to read to him from the journal and Aaron now reads it himself. In it Angie told Aaron her dream and hopes for him, when she realized that she would not be there to tell him herself.

Since then I have been volunteering at Satchels of Caring. On 3 occasions I have been honored to lead groups of BNY Mellon employees to provide services helping the Satchels of Caring Foundation. I was amazed the first time I signed up to lead a group in December 2010. Within a few hours of the email being sent, there were over 40 employees who contacted me that wanted to volunteer. The foundation has room for about 30. But Satchels of Caring set-up a second day in order to accommodate all the volunteers. Everyone at the foundation is a volunteer also, so they had to make arrangements to get off at their work to be there to guide the volunteers. In the end there were 60 volunteers that attended one of the 2 volunteer days in December 2010. Activities completed ranged from selecting the fabrics and trim for the kit to make the satchels, cutting fabrics, filling the finished satchels with the items mentioned above, selecting and sewing buttons on satchels, making tags, decorating the journal covers and other activities to help in completing the satchels. I arranged for another day in May 2011 and again Satchels of Caring foundation had to set-up a second day in order to accommodate all the BNY Mellon volunteers. I like decorating the journals because I know how much Angie used hers.

So many that have volunteered are cancer survivors. Many volunteers told me that they wanted to make going through this difficult time, just a little easier for others. Volunteering not only gives cancer survivors the opportunity to give back to someone who is going through the same experience, but also gave those of us that know someone with cancer, the same opportunity. When the director thanked the group at the end of the day, there were tears in her eyes and in many of the volunteers as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I watched how Angie appreciated receiving her satchel. Since then I have also given satchels to friends who are struggling with cancer. At a time when things look bleak in their lives, it is so nice to give a beautiful tote with wonderful items in it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that more would know about this wonderful organization and how it is positively affecting womens' lives.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers