Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
123.1333345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter attends Saratoga Academy in their pre-school program. We found Saratoga Academy through my sister in law, as my nephew has attended since its inception in the Clifton Park area. My daughter attended an in home daycare, then was home while I attended school to become a teacher myself. When entering Saratoga Academy, my daughter knew the basics for a three year old; her numbers up to 20, her abc's, her name, etc. She has been at Saratoga Academy since September of 2013 and is reading at a level b in Fontas and Pinnell, she knows her numbers to 100, she knows most of her primer sight words, and she is excelling beyond my wildest imagination. While everyone has their opinion, Saratoga Academy, to me is an amazing school filled with caring staff and administration. My son attends Shen because he is in Special Education. He goes to Saratoga Academy after school and has bloomed socially. He loves it there, and the staff have welcomed him with open arms. When exploring options for schools, one private school in Clifton Park told me that they may not allow my son to attend because of his disability.....What?! Not Saratoga Academy! Their administration and staff have been wonderful to my son! They care for him like he is their own!
With that being said, I am deeply saddened to see all of the negative reviews! I understand that private school isn't for everyone, but these negative reviews seem a bit unreal and harsh! I recommend this school to everyone! Their staff and administration is amazing, and who else offers a full day ACADEMIC 3 year old preschool for $6,000 a year?! That is cheaper than daycare folks and they are taught by CERTIFIED TEACHERS! Even most of their assistants at this school are certified! Wonderful place and am so glad that my child attends!


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

In my opinion, Saratoga Academy is the best placement for MY children! I have seen the negative comments left here and they are just someone's OPINION. As a mom of 2 children who attend this school I have nothing but POSITIVE THINGS TO SAY! Both of my children excel in different ways, and the fact that one is an entire year ahead of where he should be and is allowed to excel at his own pace speaks volumes about the school's academics! My other child is right where she should be, and has had many issues maintaining her love for learning in public school where she is expected to fit a certain public school "mold". Here at Saratoga Academy she isn't put into a particular mold - she is her own academic person, AND she is happier for it!!

My son has attended since the beginning and loves Saratoga Academy. He is even saddened at the end of the school year that he will be out for the summer! He doesn't know the trials and tribulations of public schools the way my daughter does. He has never been bullied by students, and has never been pressured by the state tests. That being said, if he had to take the state tests he would pass with flying colors because of the way he has been taught. How do I know this? I am not only a mother, but I am also a teacher in the the public school system who has given and corrected the state tests for years. The growing issues with constant testing and the sudden implementation of the Common Core is not good for any child. At Saratoga Academy students are allowed to be children, and they are all known by a name and not a number/score. Being a student here means you are part of a family. The kids all know each other, from Pre-school to 7th grade.

My daughter is a product of several school environments, from public inner-city schools to the ever popular suburban school districts. She has never fit in anywhere and she is not your typical student. Here she is happy and is getting all the help to learn to best of her ability.

No school is perfect for everyone, but this one suits our needs. No complaints here. Don't let the opinions expressed on this site sway your decision. Visit the school and see for yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes. It is a growing school and with growth comes change and progress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We just moved here a few years ago. We started to look for options for us in preparation to going to public school which in Clifton Park has only half day K programs. When we found Saratoga Academy, we decided to enroll our child before she was in kindergarten. So far, this was the best decision. We decided to keep our child in past K level since she was doing so well.

I would recommend sending your child here wholeheartedly. The teachers we have had so far are caring and inform us when there is stumbling points. Value vs cost of private school, this is the best option in my opinion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I could think of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 28, 2013

I totally agree with everyone that has said that this school's teachers and education are great but the administration is a whole other story. Our kids were here for the past 2 years and due to a lot ... more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is definitely not just One parent posting reviews here, there are many of us.

For the most recent commenter, we are being honest. I wrote a previous review and restate some of that here. The teachers were great. The administration sucked. All of the negative things written here are
totally true. We had planned to keep our kids at this school but after last year's kindergarten field trip fiasco and my child being punished for not attending because we didn't feel that it was appropriate for him, we had a quick change of heart and pulled them out. We had even paid part of the registration for this school year and weren't upset about losing the money because we weren't going to tolerate the behavior of the administration any longer. In the beginning, this school was great but it isn't any longer. I constantly am hearing rumors about their financial difficulties and I know that the admissions is way down, mostly from those of us that chose to pull our kids out of this school.

Unless you want to experience some of the crap many of us former SA parents have dealt with these past years, don't put your kids in this school. Case in point, last year there were 4 Pre-K classes with about 22 kids each last year = 88 kids, this year there are only 3 Pre-K classes with about 14 kids each = 42 kids, about half of what it was last year. Doesn't that say a lot! Not only did many of us who originally planned to send our kids there this year changed and are sending them somewhere else but the public is hearing the stories about what really goes on and are looking elsewhere. Even someone I know of who's kids never went to this school has heard that Mr C is a "tyrant". Word gets around and those of us that have experienced the worst of what this school is wants to make sure that other parents and kids don't have to go through what we went through.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the head master and the assistant head master.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I totally agree with everyone that has said that this school's teachers and education are great but the administration is a whole other story. Our kids were here for the past 2 years and due to a lot of recent problems we've pulled both of them out and will never recommend SA to anyone ever again. Even the board members have quit and removed their kids from the school. that says a lot. The headmaster is a dictator and bully. 1/3 of the entire kindergarten class didn't go on a field trip to Mystic Aquarium because their parents felt it was too long of a day and too far to go and he punished them by giving them an extra homework packet (something they couldn't do without help) that "must be completed". The rumor was spread the day after they were pulled out of class and given this additional homework that anyone that didn't do it wouldn't be able to attend graduation. Those that didn't do it anyway were forced to do it the week before the ceremony by having to stay in at recess to complete it. We are sure he didn't want it getting out that kids were denied being able to attend the graduation ceremony but he had to win and have his way and made sure the kids did the extra homework. The kids that did attend the field trip got home at 10pm on a school night.

There are serious safety issues that have been brought to their attention and were ignored. The playground is an accident just waiting to happen. Mr C and Mrs Z talk a good talk but they just tell parent what they want to hear and don't really care other than to grow and grow and being able to brag about their growth. They are more concerned about being the biggest independent school, not being a true family and child oriented school. The PTO is a joke, no one is allowed to complain about anything or make suggestions on how to improve things. Parents concerns are totally ignored. They have no business opening a middle school when they aren't taking care of the school/grades they already have

Yes my kids teachers were great but the 2 people running this school were more than we are willing to put up with any longer. There are other options available in Clifton Park, including the new Sara Marie School, which is what SA was in the beginning, a truly great little school. A great deal of us parents that had originally enrolled our kids for the next school year have since removed our kids from SA. I hope that their classes are so empty that they finally get the message.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the headmaster and assistant headmaster immediately!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

Think twice before sending you child here. I knew I should have trusted my gut when I first visited the school and the headmaster bashed the other private schools in the area. He spoke highly about the small class sizes and advanced education but did not deliver on either one. My child's class was packed and I don't feel the academics were much better than what is offered in public schools. Where's the bang for my buck?!

What a disappointment this school has been, from the administration to the teachers. The administration or lack there of, for the school shows no professionalism and will not respond to any concerns or questions in a timely fashion (weeks!). The headmaster is a bully and has a ego the size of the school. My child feared him as well and didn't want to be around him because he said he was loud and mean. The assistant headmaster who is also a teacher there at the school was hardly there to run her class and left it in the hands of others to run this past year. You see a lot favoritism to the parents that volunteer and have time to devote to his fundraising efforts which seem endless and the only priority of the school. They have a lower tuition then most private schools in the area but then try to nickle and dime you to death by asking for donations, help with fundraising and additional supply request.

They are growing rapidly and don't have the skills or manpower to handle it, and it clearly shows.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new headmaster that knows how to run a school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I can see totally the other review about how unprofessional are the administration. The headmaster's 2 kids are there and you can see how they are treated differently.
The teacher in my opinion, are lazy and have all kind attitude. 1st grade teacher has a lot attitude especially when you have
different opinion about the curriculum., 3/4 teacher has minimum communication, No test results back, ok.. Maybe 3. No graded homework, no spelling.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I think the prior review is unfair. Saratoga Academy has been wonderful for my son, and yes, he is far ahead of his same-age peers in both math and reading. In our experience at Saratoga Academy, the school is very child-centered and the children achieve but have fun while learning. It is very different different from a public school (I know, I am an elementary public school teacher!) but in a good way. As in any situation, there are trade offs, but for our child attending this school has been wonderful! The elementary class sizes are extremely small (his first grade had 15 students) and kids are given the individual attention they require to thrive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Beware of sending your child to this school. If you go to an information session, you will find that the administration will harp on how far ahead of their peers your child will be. "Your child will read at 3 and 4 years of age" "Your child will be at least 2 grades ahead of other children their age" What you wont be told is at what expense. Go and visit the school. You will find overcrowded classrooms, stressed teachers who do not get support from administration, and a disorganized (to put it nicely) administration team (consisting of the principal, the asst. principal - who also teaches 5/6 grade and a part time adm assistant - who happens to be the parent of children who attend there). The teachers truly do the best that they can given the situation, however the administration team is sneaky, untrustworthy, and not supportive. Also, speak with parents who have had their children attend and then taken them out to put them into the public school system. You will find that the administration acts very unprofessional, and starts to give the family the cold shoulder and treats the child unfavorably until they leave the school. After leaving the school, the administration will talk negatively about your child and family to others in the community. You truly get what you pay for with Saratoga Academy of Arts and Sciences. There is a reason the prices of this school are FAR below what you will find at a QUALITY private school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers