Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
123.1333345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

The major problems are the administrators, specifically the awkwardly cocky Head of Schools and his unqualified and inappropriate assistant head of schools. I must say, there are some GREAT teachers there, but they are at the mercy of poor administration. In some classes the number of special education students is overwhelming (and most of the teachers are not certified to teach special education!) Many of the children should be in self-contained classrooms in the public school and switched to SA so that they wouldn't have to be. Consequently it is very difficult for teachers to teach, and for other students to concentrate and learn because of the severity of special needs including shouting, violent tantrums, throwing things. A LOT of the students here are here because they could not fit in in the public school. There are no entrance exams or screening criteria so what you get (and I quote the head of school here…) is "the isle of misfit toys". The music program is awful and the students only went to the library twice all year. It is touted as a project-based learning program, but that is totally false. If your child is is bright, willing and able to sit in desks and do worksheets, motivated to succeed on their own, and is not distracted by majorly disruptive students, then they would probably do fine here. If you as a parent do not mind a cocky, condescending, poor communicator as head of schools, then you should be all set. Otherwise, my advice would be to steer clear.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get rid of the head of schools and assistant head of schools, hire certified special education teachers, enroll teachers in extensive project-based learning workshops, give an entrance exam and implement certain behavioral/academic criteria for students to be able to remain or be dismissed

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have to say that 518Mom is totally off! The teachers are all qualified....the state checks...it is law. The playground is secondary! Their education is primary! They do have assessments weekly! Spelling, phonics and math! The administration is great! The activity fee goes toward their field trips! Which, Kindergarten has taken four this year! Not too mention, had the 4 H come to show them how to plant. You can't please everyone, but this school is certainly better than Shen. My son goes to Shen because he is disabled...he is nothing but a number. The only reason he goes there is because of the services! Larger and over testing your child is not always better! My daughter, who turned 4 in February, can add, subtract, tell time, write complete sentences and read! She is at a first grade level! At Shen in Kindergarten, she'd be lucky to know her ABC's! Saratoga Academy is amazing and their staff is fantastic!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a poorly run school! I think the administration only cares about increasing enrollment rather than actually educating the children. The principal likes to throw hard work at the children to say they "do" it" but the children are lost and it is impossible to gauge whether they are learning anything as there are barely any assessments or graded work. You pay an activity fee but it is a mystery as to what it is used for. They barely go on field trips or the library or the "gym". There is barely any technology. Many of the teachers are not qualified. Just ask. I am sure you will get a roundabout answer. Children are barely supervised. They are left to play in a parking lot and an extremely small playground. The musical programs are so bad. There is no music. Just a one guitar playing off key music instructor. Academy of the Arts and Sciences? That is a lofty claim and it is untrue. Frankly you are better off putting your child in public school and spending a few hundred dollars a month on enrichment. Please just ask parents! Don't believe the positive reviews. I am unaware of that many happy parents! Everyone is dissapointed because we were sold a bill of goods and were given the exact opposite. The bathrooms are gross and they smell like a farm. Doesn't seem like the school is ever cleaned. The assistant head of schools behaves like a Houligan thug. She will get nasty and try to tell you she knows what she is talking about and she doesn't. She is unprofessional. The head of schools/ principal is a swindler. He will tell you anything to get you to go there. Afterwards he will smile in your face but very rarely address your concerns. He will bash other schools to you and even bash other parents. Please do your research. There are better options out there!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Disappointed and concerned.
Communication between school and home was inadequate and unclear.
Administration talks a good talk, but doesn't walk the walk.
Regretting sending my child.
Big mistake.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

REmove all administrative staff and replace with competent people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

It saddens me to see all the negativity on this site. My son has been at Saratoga Academy for 3 years now and loves it. He is excelling at every level.... He can not wait to go to school and he gets mad when I pick him up to early. We thought we would transition to public school this year and after touring our elementary school we were extremely unimpressed. We discussed the possibility with our son who has made it clear he wants to stay there. He cried when we said maybe we should give it a try. Does that sound like a child getting bullied. I have been very involve with SAAS since we started and would be happy to talk to anyone thinking about going here. I know the negative nellies that are writing the bad comments and am happy to share the full stories with you. This school is wonderful and I will do anything I can to help them succeed and grow. Tracy Zayac 857-1341

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I wanted to take a moment to speak about my child’s 3 years at Saratoga Academy. We have been there for Pre-K, K, and 1st grade up to this point and the experience has been nothing short of fantastic. Let me be clear when I say the education is top notch because of the teachers and administration. Our son is 5 years old and is learning Spanish, Music, and has been taught common core since we arrived. He reads at a second grade level and is tested weekly on spelling and comprehension. None of this would be possible without the staff at SAAS. We knew this was the place for us, when he told us he is bored when he is not there. All parent’s will be stunned at the progress there child makes, academically and socially at this school. Do not be left out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more private funding so they could get bigger and achieve more of their dreams

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I were given many referrals to Saratoga Academy from a variety of people including teachers from public schools. This is what ultimately helped us make our decision in sending our son here. What I love most about Saratoga Academy is the values and love of learning that my son gets in his preschool class. I also appreciate the effort put forth by the administration and teachers in hosting events which help create a sense of community. Our son loves his teacher and is truly happy there. (Even though everyday he asks me why he has to go to school.) :)
Everyone at the school seems to work very well together with a common goal of building confidence and independence in each child. All of the teachers and administration seem to have this genuine love for kids and a passion to help them flourish and grow. Although this is only our first year at Saratoga Academy, we are thrilled with our decision.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We have two children at Saratoga Academy. Our 9 year old has been there since the school opened it's doors and our 4 year old has been there for 1 1/2 years. It has been wonderful watching our oldest grow and thrive in the structured and loving environment the teachers and administration offer. Our youngest was very hesitant about going to school, but the teachers were wonderful in helping him adapt and instill in him a love for school. Communication between parents and the administration has improved dramatically over the past couple of years, and the senior administrators and easy to talk to and have always been able to assist in meeting our children's needs. I would, and have, recommend this school to anyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When our son faced a life threatening illness, Saratoga Academy provided amazing emotional and academic support. They went above and beyond to ensure he did not fall behind and provided the encouragement he needed to fight his illness. As our son became healthy and the academic years passed, the administration and teachers at Saratoga Academy worked with our family to get our son caught up and on track with his peers. I can't imagine what would have happened if our son had not gone to Saratoga Academy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I am a proud parent of two children at Saratoga Academy. I can speak only to the Pre-k and K areas and so far my (and most importantly) my children's experience has been very positive. At first my Kindergartner was apprehensive in going to school. It only took two weeks for his attitude to completely change. The teachers come very educated and most serve as assistants for a year or more before getting their own classroom. I find the teachers very engaging on the student level. My K's teacher sends me a daily class progress report on what they have done so I can ask about specifics and work/reinforce what I need to at home. Although not every teacher does this, it works for me since my kid is less than descriptive when it comes to a recap. My other child's teacher sends a weekly recap.

The premise of the school is a "tailored" approach to each student based on where they are on an educational level. Kindergarten is full day, and since I live in the Shen district, that is important to me. I can't imagine kids trying to learn at the K level for only a half of day. I choose this school because of the full day K; because of the results, I am choosing to continue my child's learning into the 1st grade. The lessons have been very good for the most part.

My other child came at 3 and was not "potty trained fully." Teachers and teacher aids were very attentive in my kid's needs and always changed him and helped reinforce training at school.

I saw the negativity on this site and others when I was going to recommend a friend to the school. I am floored by the content on there which is NOT TRUE AS FAR AS I CAN SEE. I am not sure what fuels this type of anger, but I don't see any validity??? Can the school do things better, sure, but I love our experience at Saratoga Academy so far, and I would recommend this school to anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a security system in the future. They lock the doors during the school day, but I would love to have an access code system or some other solution.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers